/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q-21-5RQ When units produced exceed unit... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

When units produced exceed units sold, how does operating income differ between variable costing and absorption costing? Why?

Short Answer

Expert verified

Answer

Operating income under absorption costing is higher compared to variable costing because some fixed costs remain in ending inventory unexpended.

Step by step solution

01

When units produced exceed units sold

When units produced are not equal to units sold, it means there is some balance in ending inventory.

02

Difference in operating income

When units produced exceed units sold the operating income from the absorption method is higher than the operating income from the variable costing method because under absorption costing some fixed manufacturing overhead remains unexpended and reflected in the balance sheet.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Preparing variable and absorption costing income statements

Game Source manufactures video games that it sells for \(43 each. The company uses a fixed manufacturing overhead allocation rate of \)5 per game. Assume all costs and production levels are exactly as planned. The following data are from Game Store’s first two months in business during 2018:

October November Sales 1,500 units 2,900 units Production 2,500 units 2,500 units Variable manufacturing cost per game \( 17 \) 17Sales commission cost per game 7 7Total fixed manufacturing overhead12,500 12,500

Total fixed selling and administrative costs 11,500 11,500 Requirements

1. Compute the product cost per game produced under absorption costing and under variable costing.

2. Prepare monthly income statements for October and November, including columns for each month and a total column, using these costing methods:

a. absorption costing.

b. variable costing.

3. Is operating income higher under absorption costing or variable costing in October? In November? Explain the pattern of differences in operating income based on absorption costing versus variable costing.

4. Determine the balance in Finished Goods Inventory on October 31 and November 30 under absorption costing and variable costing. Compare the differences in inventory balances and the differences in operating income. Explain the differences in inventory balances based on absorption costing versus variable costing.

Using variable and absorption costing, making decisions

The 2018 data that follow pertain to Mike’s Magnificent Eyewear, a manufacturer of swimming goggles. (Mike’s Magnificent Eyewear had no beginning Finished Goods Inventory in January 2018.)

Number of goggles produced 245,000

Number of goggles sold 230,000

Sales price per unit \( 28

Variable manufacturing cost per unit 10

Sales commission cost per unit 2

Fixed manufacturing overhead 1,960,000

Fixed selling and administrative costs 260,000

Requirements:

  1. Prepare both conventional (absorption costing) and contribution margin (variable costing) income statements for Mike’s Magnificent Eyewear for the year ended December 31, 2018.
  2. Which statement shows the higher operating income? Why?
  3. Mike’s Magnificent Eyewear’s marketing vice president believes a new sales promotion that costs \)40,000 would increase sales to 235,000 goggles. Should the company go ahead with the promotion? Give your reasoning.

Question: The Hurley Hat Company manufactures baseball hats. Hurley’s primary customers are sporting goods stores that supply uniforms to youth baseball teams. Following is Hurley’s income statement for 2018:

In 2018, Hurley produced and sold 200,000 baseball hats. Of the Cost of Goods Sold, \(150,000 is fixed; 80% of the Selling and Administrative Expenses are fixed. There were no beginning inventories on January 1, 2018. The company is considering two options to increase sales.

Option 1: The company is operating at 100,000 hats below full production capacity and is considering increasing advertising to increase sales to the production capacity level in 2019. The marketing director predicts that an additional \)100,000 expenditure for advertising would increase sales to 300,000 hats per year.

Option 2: The sales manager has been negotiating with buyers for several national sporting goods retailers and recommends the company expand production capacity to 400,000 hats in order to secure long-term contracts beginning in 2019. The expansion is expected to increase fixed manufacturing costs by \(200,000 per year. Additionally, the retailers are requesting a higher-quality hat, and the changes to the hat materials and manufacturing process would increase variable manufacturing costs by \)1 per hat for the additional 200,000 hats. (The original 200,000 hats manufactured and sold would not be affected by this change.)

Requirements

1. Use the data from the 2018 income statement to prepare an income statement using variable costing. Assume no beginning or ending inventories. Calculate the contribution margin ratio. Round to two decimal places.

2. Prepare an absorption costing income statement assuming the company pursues Option 1 and increases advertising and production and sales increase to 300,000 hats.

3. Refer to the original data. Prepare an absorption costing income statement assuming the company pursues Option 2 and increases capacity and sales and production increases to 400,000 total hats.

4. Which option should the company pursue? Explain your reasoning.

Using variable costing, service company Henry’s Helpers provides locksmith services. One type of service call is to evaluate private residences for security concerns and make recommendations for a safety plan. Use the data below to determine the company’s total contribution margin, contribution margin per service call, and contribution margin ratio when 220 service calls are made in the month of June.

Service Revenue $ 170 per service call

Variable Costs 68 per service call

Fixed Costs 21,040 per month

Question: Using variable costing, service company

Divine Pool Cleaning Service provides pool cleaning services to residential customers. The company has three employees, each assigned to specific customers. The company considers each employee’s territory as a business segment. The company incurs variable costs that include the employees’ wages, pool chemicals, and gas for the service vans. Fixed costs include depreciation on the service vans. Following is the income statement for the month of August:

Requirements

1. Calculate the contribution margin ratio for each business segment.

2. The business segments had the following number of customers: Byson, 80; Moore, 50; and Freeman, 110. Compute the service revenue per customer, variable cost per customer, and contribution margin per customer for each business segment.

3. Which business segment was most profitable? List some possible reasons why this segment was most profitable. How might the various reasons affect the company in the long term?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.