/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q-21-4T Question: Chaney Company provide... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Question: Chaney Company provides lawn care services. Following are data for a recent week:

Service Revenue \(1,300

Variable Costs \)780

Contribution Margin $520 Chaney provided service to 25 customers during the week. Determine the average amount the company charged each customer, the variable cost per customer, and the contribution margin ratio.

Short Answer

Expert verified

Answer

The average service price is $52, the variable cost per unit is $31.20, and the contribution margin ratio is 40%.

Step by step solution

01

Calculation of the average amount the company charged each customer

Average service price = Service Revenue/No. of customers

=$1,300/25

=$52

02

Calculation of variable cost per customer

Variable cost per customer = Variable cost/No. of customers

=$780/25

=$31.20

03

Profitability analysis based on contribution margin ratio

Particulars

Amount

Net sales revenue

$1,300

Less: Variable cost

$780

Contribution Margin

$520

Contribution margin ratio (Contribution margin/net sales revenue)

40%

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Explain why the fixed manufacturing overhead cost per unit changes when there is a change in the number of units produced.

Question: Preparing variable and absorption costing income statements

Game Store manufactures video games that it sells for \(38 each. The company uses a fixed manufacturing overhead allocation rate of \)3 per game. Assume all costs and production levels are exactly as planned. The following data are from Game Store’s first two months in business during 2018:

October November

Sales 1,500 units 2,900 units

Production 2,800 units 2,800 units

Variable manufacturing cost per game \( 16 \) 16

Sales commission cost per game 8 8

Total fixed manufacturing overhead 8,400 8,400

Total fixed selling and administrative costs 8,000 8,000 Requirements

1. Compute the product cost per game produced under absorption costing and under variable costing.

2. Prepare monthly income statements for October and November, including columns for each month and a total column, using these costing methods:

a. absorption costing.

b. variable costing.

3. Is operating income higher under absorption costing or variable costing in October? In November? Explain the pattern of differences in operating income based on absorption costing versus variable costing.

4. Determine the balance in Finished Goods Inventory on October 31 and November 30 under absorption costing and variable costing. Compare the differences in inventory balances and the differences in operating income. Explain the differences in inventory balances based on absorption costing versus variable costing.

: Analyzing profitability Refer to Exercise E21-22. Assume the sales mix shifted to 50% for each product. Calculate the total amount each product contributed to the coverage of fixed costs and the total contribution margin for the company.

Question: Analyzing profitability Sampler Company sells two products, Sigma and Zeta, with a sales mix of 70% and 30%, respectively. Sigma has a contribution margin per unit of \(26, and Zeta has a contribution margin per unit of \)21. The company sold 700 total units in September. Calculate the total amount each product contributed to the coverage of fixed costs and the total contribution margin for the company.

Question: Using variable costing, service company

Divine Pool Cleaning Service provides pool cleaning services to residential customers. The company has three employees, each assigned to specific customers. The company considers each employee’s territory as a business segment. The company incurs variable costs that include the employees’ wages, pool chemicals, and gas for the service vans. Fixed costs include depreciation on the service vans. Following is the income statement for the month of August:

Requirements

1. Calculate the contribution margin ratio for each business segment.

2. The business segments had the following number of customers: Byson, 80; Moore, 50; and Freeman, 110. Compute the service revenue per customer, variable cost per customer, and contribution margin per customer for each business segment.

3. Which business segment was most profitable? List some possible reasons why this segment was most profitable. How might the various reasons affect the company in the long term?

Using variable costing, service company Refer to Exercise E21-25. The commercial business segment provided services to 200 customers. The residential business segment provided services to 400 customers. Determine the average amount Sherman Company charged each type of customer for services, the average variable cost per customer, and the average contribution margin per customer, rounded to two decimal places. What caused the difference in contribution margin in the two segments?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.