/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q1DC Question: The Hurley Hat Company... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Question: The Hurley Hat Company manufactures baseball hats. Hurley’s primary customers are sporting goods stores that supply uniforms to youth baseball teams. Following is Hurley’s income statement for 2018:

In 2018, Hurley produced and sold 200,000 baseball hats. Of the Cost of Goods Sold, \(150,000 is fixed; 80% of the Selling and Administrative Expenses are fixed. There were no beginning inventories on January 1, 2018. The company is considering two options to increase sales.

Option 1: The company is operating at 100,000 hats below full production capacity and is considering increasing advertising to increase sales to the production capacity level in 2019. The marketing director predicts that an additional \)100,000 expenditure for advertising would increase sales to 300,000 hats per year.

Option 2: The sales manager has been negotiating with buyers for several national sporting goods retailers and recommends the company expand production capacity to 400,000 hats in order to secure long-term contracts beginning in 2019. The expansion is expected to increase fixed manufacturing costs by \(200,000 per year. Additionally, the retailers are requesting a higher-quality hat, and the changes to the hat materials and manufacturing process would increase variable manufacturing costs by \)1 per hat for the additional 200,000 hats. (The original 200,000 hats manufactured and sold would not be affected by this change.)

Requirements

1. Use the data from the 2018 income statement to prepare an income statement using variable costing. Assume no beginning or ending inventories. Calculate the contribution margin ratio. Round to two decimal places.

2. Prepare an absorption costing income statement assuming the company pursues Option 1 and increases advertising and production and sales increase to 300,000 hats.

3. Refer to the original data. Prepare an absorption costing income statement assuming the company pursues Option 2 and increases capacity and sales and production increases to 400,000 total hats.

4. Which option should the company pursue? Explain your reasoning.

Short Answer

Expert verified

Answer

  1. Contribution margin ratio is 56.67%.
  2. Operating income in option 1 is $675000.
  3. Operating income in option 1 is $750000.
  4. The company should choose option 2because operating income under option 2 is higherthan that in option 1.

Step by step solution

01

Calculation of contribution margin ratio

Particulars

Year 1

Net sales revenue

$1,500,000

Less: Variable cost$700,000-$150,000

$550,000

Less: Variable selling and administrative expenses$500,000×20%

$100,000

Contribution Margin

$850,000

Contribution Margin Ratio (Contribution margin/sales revenue)

$850,000/$1,500,000*100

=56.67%

02

Income statement as per absorption costing assuming the company pursues option 1.

Unitsalesprice=SalesPriceNumberofunits=$1,500,000200,000=$7.50Variable COGS=Variable costNumberofunits=$550,000200,000=$2.75

Particulars

Year 1

Net sales revenue$7.5×300,000hats

$2,250,000

Less: Cost of goods sold$2.75×300,000+$150,000

$975,000

Gross profit

$1,275,000

Selling and administrative cost$500,000+$100,000

$600,000

Operating Income

$675,000

03

 Step 3: Income statement as per absorption costing assuming the company pursues option 2.

Particulars

Year 1

Net sales revenue$7.5×400,000hats

$3,000,000

Less: Cost of goods sold$2.75×200,000+$3.75×200,000+$150,000+$200,000

$1,650,000

Gross profit

$1,350,000

Variable selling and administrative costdata-custom-editor="chemistry" $0.50×400,000hats+$400,000

$600,000

Operating Income

$750,000

04

Decision making

The company should choose option 2 because operating income under option 2 is higher than that in option 1.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Preparing variable and absorption costing income statements Linda’s Foods produces frozen meals that it sells for \(7 each. The company computes a new monthly fixed manufacturing overhead allocation rate based on the planned number of meals to be produced that month. Assume all costs and production levels are exactly as planned. The following data are from Linda’s Foods’s first month in business:

January 2018

Units produced and sold:

Sales 1,000 meals

Production 1,200 meals

Variable manufacturing cost per meal \) 3

Sales commission cost per meal 1

Total fixed manufacturing overhead 660

Total fixed selling and administrative costs 500

Requirements:

  1. Compute the product cost per meal produced under absorption costing and under variable costing.
  2. Prepare income statements for January 2018 using: a. absorption costing. b. variable costing.
  3. Is operating income higher under absorption costing or variable costing in January?

Using variable and absorption costing, making decisions

The 2018 data that follow pertain to Mike’s Magnificent Eyewear, a manufacturer of swimming goggles. (Mike’s Magnificent Eyewear had no beginning Finished Goods Inventory in January 2018.)

Number of goggles produced 245,000

Number of goggles sold 230,000

Sales price per unit \( 28

Variable manufacturing cost per unit 10

Sales commission cost per unit 2

Fixed manufacturing overhead 1,960,000

Fixed selling and administrative costs 260,000

Requirements:

  1. Prepare both conventional (absorption costing) and contribution margin (variable costing) income statements for Mike’s Magnificent Eyewear for the year ended December 31, 2018.
  2. Which statement shows the higher operating income? Why?
  3. Mike’s Magnificent Eyewear’s marketing vice president believes a new sales promotion that costs \)40,000 would increase sales to 235,000 goggles. Should the company go ahead with the promotion? Give your reasoning.

Computing unit product cost, absorption costing Calculate the unit product cost using absorption costing. Round your answer to the nearest cent.

Use the following information for Short Exercises S21-2 and S21-3.

Martin Company had the following costs:

Units produced 320 units Direct materials $ 71 per unit Direct labor 40 per unit Variable manufacturing overhead 13 per unit Fixed manufacturing overhead 7,360 per year Variable selling and administrative costs 22 per unit

Fixed selling and administrative costs 1,920 per year

Question:What is a business segment? Give some examples.

: Before you begin this assignment, review the Tying It All Together feature in the chapter. CF Industries Holdings, Inc. is one of the largest manufacturers and distributors of nitrogen fertilizer and other nitrogen products in the world. The corporation often produces and stores large amounts of inventory during periods of low demand to ensure that there is enough product to meet the demand of peak seasons. Assume that one line of fertilizer (with no beginning Finished Goods Inventory) had the following data during a time period of low demand:

Sales price $ 20.00 per case Variable manufacturing costs 4.00 per case Fixed manufacturing costs 100,000 per quarter Variable selling and administrative costs 2.00 per case Fixed selling and administrative costs 45,000 per quarter Given that the time period has low demand, assume the company produced 1,000,000 cases but only sold 250,000 cases.

Requirement

1. Prepare the income statement for the quarter using variable costing.

2. Prepare the income statement for the quarter using absorption costing.

3. Why, if at all, is there a difference between operating income under the two methods?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.