/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q-21-6RQ When units produced are less tha... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

When units produced are less than units sold, how does operating income differ between variable costing and absorption costing? Why

Short Answer

Expert verified

Answer

When units produced are less than units sold the operating income from the absorption method is lower than the operating income from the variable costing method.

Step by step solution

01

When units produced are less than units sold

When units produced are less than units sold, it means there is some opening balance in inventory.

02

Difference in operating income

When units produced are less than units sold the operating income from the absorption method is lower than the operating income from the variable costing method because under variable costing only current period fixed manufacturing overheads were expensed, whereas absorption costing fixed manufacturing overheads of beginning inventory also expensed.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Using Excel for variable costing

Download an Excel template for this problem online in MyAccountingLab or athttp://www.pearsonhighered.com/Horngren. Tiger Mountain Gelato incurs thefollowing costs for its premium ice cream in May 2018:

Direct materials cost per pint $ 2.50 perpint

Direct labor cost per pint 0.75 per pint

Variable manufacturing overhead cost per pint 0.25 per pint

Fixed manufacturing overhead costs 6,000 per month

Total fixed selling and administrative costs 5,000 per month

Sales price per pint 8.00 per pint

Pints of gelato produced 12,000 pints

Pints of gelato sold 11,500 pints

There were no beginning inventories, so Tiger Mountain Gelato has 500 pintsin ending Finished Goods Inventory (12,000 pints produced less 11,500 pintssold).

Requirements

1. Calculate Tiger Mountain Gelato’s product cost per pint under absorptioncosting and variable costing.

2. Calculate the balance in Finished Goods Inventory on May 31, 2018, usingabsorption costing and variable costing.

3. Prepare income statements in good form for Tiger Mountain Gelato for May2018 using absorption costing and variable costing.

4. Reconcile the differences between operating incomes and Finished GoodsInventory balances between the two-costing method

Question: Preparing variable and absorption costing income statements

Game Store manufactures video games that it sells for \(38 each. The company uses a fixed manufacturing overhead allocation rate of \)3 per game. Assume all costs and production levels are exactly as planned. The following data are from Game Store’s first two months in business during 2018:

October November

Sales 1,500 units 2,900 units

Production 2,800 units 2,800 units

Variable manufacturing cost per game \( 16 \) 16

Sales commission cost per game 8 8

Total fixed manufacturing overhead 8,400 8,400

Total fixed selling and administrative costs 8,000 8,000 Requirements

1. Compute the product cost per game produced under absorption costing and under variable costing.

2. Prepare monthly income statements for October and November, including columns for each month and a total column, using these costing methods:

a. absorption costing.

b. variable costing.

3. Is operating income higher under absorption costing or variable costing in October? In November? Explain the pattern of differences in operating income based on absorption costing versus variable costing.

4. Determine the balance in Finished Goods Inventory on October 31 and November 30 under absorption costing and variable costing. Compare the differences in inventory balances and the differences in operating income. Explain the differences in inventory balances based on absorption costing versus variable costing.

Preparing variable and absorption costing income statements

Game Source manufactures video games that it sells for \(43 each. The company uses a fixed manufacturing overhead allocation rate of \)5 per game. Assume all costs and production levels are exactly as planned. The following data are from Game Store’s first two months in business during 2018:

October November Sales 1,500 units 2,900 units Production 2,500 units 2,500 units Variable manufacturing cost per game \( 17 \) 17Sales commission cost per game 7 7Total fixed manufacturing overhead12,500 12,500

Total fixed selling and administrative costs 11,500 11,500 Requirements

1. Compute the product cost per game produced under absorption costing and under variable costing.

2. Prepare monthly income statements for October and November, including columns for each month and a total column, using these costing methods:

a. absorption costing.

b. variable costing.

3. Is operating income higher under absorption costing or variable costing in October? In November? Explain the pattern of differences in operating income based on absorption costing versus variable costing.

4. Determine the balance in Finished Goods Inventory on October 31 and November 30 under absorption costing and variable costing. Compare the differences in inventory balances and the differences in operating income. Explain the differences in inventory balances based on absorption costing versus variable costing.

Question: Preparing variable costing income statements, production less than sales

Refer to your answers to Exercise E21-16. In May 2018, ReVitalAde produced 22,000 cases of powdered drink mix and sold 23,000 cases, of which 1,000 were produced in April. The sales price was \(29, variable costs were \)12 per case (\(9 manufacturing and \)3 selling and administrative), and total fixed costs were \(100,000 (\)91,000 manufacturing and $9,000 selling and administrative).

Requirements

  1. Prepare the May income statement using variable costing.
  2. Determine the balance in the Finished Goods Inventory as of May 31.

Question: The Hurley Hat Company manufactures baseball hats. Hurley’s primary customers are sporting goods stores that supply uniforms to youth baseball teams. Following is Hurley’s income statement for 2018:

In 2018, Hurley produced and sold 200,000 baseball hats. Of the Cost of Goods Sold, \(150,000 is fixed; 80% of the Selling and Administrative Expenses are fixed. There were no beginning inventories on January 1, 2018. The company is considering two options to increase sales.

Option 1: The company is operating at 100,000 hats below full production capacity and is considering increasing advertising to increase sales to the production capacity level in 2019. The marketing director predicts that an additional \)100,000 expenditure for advertising would increase sales to 300,000 hats per year.

Option 2: The sales manager has been negotiating with buyers for several national sporting goods retailers and recommends the company expand production capacity to 400,000 hats in order to secure long-term contracts beginning in 2019. The expansion is expected to increase fixed manufacturing costs by \(200,000 per year. Additionally, the retailers are requesting a higher-quality hat, and the changes to the hat materials and manufacturing process would increase variable manufacturing costs by \)1 per hat for the additional 200,000 hats. (The original 200,000 hats manufactured and sold would not be affected by this change.)

Requirements

1. Use the data from the 2018 income statement to prepare an income statement using variable costing. Assume no beginning or ending inventories. Calculate the contribution margin ratio. Round to two decimal places.

2. Prepare an absorption costing income statement assuming the company pursues Option 1 and increases advertising and production and sales increase to 300,000 hats.

3. Refer to the original data. Prepare an absorption costing income statement assuming the company pursues Option 2 and increases capacity and sales and production increases to 400,000 total hats.

4. Which option should the company pursue? Explain your reasoning.

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.