/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q24E Using variable costing, service ... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Using variable costing, service company Henry’s Helpers provides locksmith services. One type of service call is to evaluate private residences for security concerns and make recommendations for a safety plan. Use the data below to determine the company’s total contribution margin, contribution margin per service call, and contribution margin ratio when 220 service calls are made in the month of June.

Service Revenue $ 170 per service call

Variable Costs 68 per service call

Fixed Costs 21,040 per month

Short Answer

Expert verified

The contribution margin ratio of the companyis $60%

Step by step solution

01

Calculation of total contribution margin and contribution margin per service call

Particulars

Total

Service revenue (220x170)

$37,400

Less: Variable cost (220x68)

$14,960

Contribution Margin

$22,440

02

Calculation of total contribution margin ratio for the company

Contribution Margin Ratio = Contribution Margin / Service Revenue

=$22,440/$37,400

=60%

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

The Stark Company manufactures a product that is expected to incur \(20 per unit in variable production costs and sell for \)40 per unit. The sales commission is 10% of the sales price. Due to intense competition, Stark actually sold 200 units for \(38 per unit. The actual variable production costs incurred were \)23.75 per unit. Calculate the total contribution margin and contribution margin ratio at the expected price/costs and the actual price/costs. How might management use this information?

Comparing variable and absorption costing Refer to Exercises E21-16 and E21-17.

Requirements:

  1. Which costing method produces the highest operating income? Explain why.
  2. Which costing method produces the highest April 30 balance in Finished Goods Inventory? Explain why

Explain why the fixed manufacturing overhead cost per unit changes when there is a change in the number of units produced.

Preparing variable and absorption costing income statements

This problem continues the Piedmont Computer Problem situation from Chapter 20. Piedmont Computer Company manufactures personal computers and tablets. Based on the latest information from the cost accountant, using the current sales mix, the weighted-average sales price per unit is \(750 and the weighed-average variable cost per unit is \)450. The company does not expect the sales mix to vary for the next year. Assume the beginning balance in Finished Goods Inventory is \(0. Additional data for the first month of 2020:

January 2020

Unitsproduced and sold: Sales 945 units Production 1,000 units Variable manufacturing cost per unit \) 450 Sales commission cost per unit 25 Total fixed manufacturing overhead 93,600 Total fixed selling and administrative costs 62,400

Requirements

1. Compute the product cost per unit produced under absorption costing and under variable costing.

2. Prepare income statements for January 2020 using: a. absorption costing. b. variable costing.

3. Is operating income higher under absorption costing or variable costing in January? What causes the difference?

Analyzing profitability

Relative Furniture Company manufactures and sells oak tables and chairs. Price and cost data for the furniture follow:

Tables Chairs

Sales Price \( 1,400 \) 50

Variable manufacturing costs 1,148 21

Sales commission (8%) 112 4

Relative Furniture has three sales representatives: Abe, Brett, and Corrin. Abe sold 50 tables with 4 chairs each. Brett sold 110 tables with 6 chairs each. Corrin sold 90 tables with 8 chairs each.

Requirements:

  1. Calculate the total contribution margin and the contribution margin ratio for each sales representative (round to two decimal places).
  2. Which sales representative has the highest contribution margin ratio? Explain why.
See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.