/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q35E Following is the income statemen... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Following is the income statement for Marrow Mufflers for the month of June 2018:

MARROW MUFFLERS

Contribution Margin Income Statement

Month Ended June 30, 2018

Net Sales Revenue (140 units _ \(250) \) 35,000

Variable Costs (140 units _ \(50) 7,000

Contribution Margin 28,000

Fixed Costs 11,500

Operating Income \) 16,500

Requirements

1. Calculate the degree of operating leverage. (Round to four decimal places.)

2. Use the degree of operating leverage calculated in Requirement 1 to estimate the change in operating income if total sales increase by 40% (assuming no change in sales price per unit). (Round interim calculations to four decimal places and final answer to the nearest dollar.)

3. Verify your answer in Requirement 2 by preparing a contribution margin income statement with the total sales increase of 40%.

Short Answer

Expert verified
  1. Degree of operating leverage equals 1.6970
  2. Percentage change in operating income equals 68%.
  3. Operating income equals $27,700, which represents increase of 68% in operating income.

Step by step solution

01

Calculation of operating leverage 

Degreeofoperatingleverage=ContributionmarginOperatingincome=$28,000$16,500=1.6970

02

Calculation of estimated change in operating income

Operatingincome=Degreeofoperatingleverage×Percentage change in sales=1.6970×40%=67.88%or68%

03

Contribution margin income statement

Revised unit sold (140 x (1+40%)

196 units

Estimated sales (196 x $250)

$49,000

Variable cost ($196 x $50)

$9,800

Contribution margin

$39,200

Fixed costs

$11,500

Operating income

$27,700

Change in operating income percentage

($27,700-$16,500) / $16,500)

67.88% or 68%

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Question: Steve and Linda Hom live in Bartlesville, Oklahoma. Two years ago, they visited Thailand. Linda, a professional chef, was impressed with the cooking methods and the spices used in Thai food. Bartlesville does not have a Thai restaurant, and the Homs are contemplating opening one. Linda would supervise the cooking, and Steve would leave his current job to be the maître d’. The restaurant would serve dinner Tuesday through Saturday. Steve has noticed a restaurant for lease. The restaurant has seven tables, each of which can seat four. Tables can be moved together for a large party. Linda is planning on using each table twice each evening, and the restaurant will be open 50 weeks per year. The Homs have drawn up the following estimates:

Average revenue, including beverages and desserts \( 45 per meal Average cost of food 15 per meal Chef’s and dishwasher’s salaries 5,100 per month Rent (premises, equipment) 4,000 per month Cleaning (linen, premises) 800 per month Replacement of dishes, cutlery, glasses 300 per month Utilities, advertising, telephone 2,300 per month

Requirements

1. Compute the annual breakeven number of meals and sales revenue for the restaurant.

2. Compute the number of meals and the amount of sales revenue needed to earn operating income of \)75,600 for the year.

3. How many meals must the Homs serve each night to earn their target profit of $75,600?

4. What factors should the Homs consider before they make their decision as to whether to open the restaurant?

Question: Gilbert’s Steel Parts produces parts for the automobile industry. Thecompany has monthly fixed costs of \(640,220 and a contribution margin of85% of revenues.

Requirements

1. Compute Gilbert’s monthly breakeven sales in dollars. Use the contributionmargin ratio approach.

2. Use contribution margin income statements to compute Gilbert’s monthlyoperating income or operating loss if revenues are \)500,000 and if they are$1,050,000.

3. Do the results in Requirement 2 make sense given the breakeven sales youcomputed in Requirement 1? Explain.

What is sensitivity analysis? How do managers use this tool

Owner Shan Mu is considering franchising her Noodles by Murestaurant concept. She believes people will pay \(10.00 for a large bowl ofnoodles. Variable costs are \)5.00 per bowl. Mu estimates monthly fixed costsfor a franchise at \(9,000.

Requirements

1. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to find a franchise’s breakevensales in dollars.

2. Mu believes most locations could generate \)61,500 in monthly sales. Isfranchising a good idea for Mu if franchisees want a minimum monthlyoperating income of $21,000? Explain your answer.

Calculating breakeven point in units, contribution margin given Mackler, Inc. sells a product with a contribution margin of \(50 per unit. Fixed costs are \)8000 per month. How many units must Mackler sell to break even?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.