/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q1DC Question: Steve and Linda Hom li... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Question: Steve and Linda Hom live in Bartlesville, Oklahoma. Two years ago, they visited Thailand. Linda, a professional chef, was impressed with the cooking methods and the spices used in Thai food. Bartlesville does not have a Thai restaurant, and the Homs are contemplating opening one. Linda would supervise the cooking, and Steve would leave his current job to be the maître d’. The restaurant would serve dinner Tuesday through Saturday. Steve has noticed a restaurant for lease. The restaurant has seven tables, each of which can seat four. Tables can be moved together for a large party. Linda is planning on using each table twice each evening, and the restaurant will be open 50 weeks per year. The Homs have drawn up the following estimates:

Average revenue, including beverages and desserts \( 45 per meal Average cost of food 15 per meal Chef’s and dishwasher’s salaries 5,100 per month Rent (premises, equipment) 4,000 per month Cleaning (linen, premises) 800 per month Replacement of dishes, cutlery, glasses 300 per month Utilities, advertising, telephone 2,300 per month

Requirements

1. Compute the annual breakeven number of meals and sales revenue for the restaurant.

2. Compute the number of meals and the amount of sales revenue needed to earn operating income of \)75,600 for the year.

3. How many meals must the Homs serve each night to earn their target profit of $75,600?

4. What factors should the Homs consider before they make their decision as to whether to open the restaurant?

Short Answer

Expert verified

Answer

  1. The annual break-even point is5000 unitsand$225,000
  2. The number of mealsis7520, and sales revenue is $338,400
  3. The number of meals serves each night is30
  4. Factors that are to be considered are an excellent location, license etc.

Step by step solution

01

Meaning of Break-even point

Break-even is a situation with no profit or loss situation of a business in which the contribution margin equals the fixed cost.

02

Computation of annual breakeven number of meals and sales revenue

CalculationofannualbreakevenpointAnnual breakeven units = Annual fixed cost+Target profitContribution margin per unit=$5100+4000+800+300+2300×12+$0$45-15=$12,500×12$30= 5000 UnitsCalculationofannualbreakevensalesrevenue

´¡²Ô²Ô³Ü²¹±ô²ú°ù²¹°ì±ð±¹±ð²Ô³§²¹±ô±ð²õ°ù±ð±¹±ð²Ô³Ü±ð=µþ°ù±ð²¹°ì±ð±¹±ð²Ô³Ü²Ô¾±³Ùױʱð°ù³Ü²Ô¾±³Ù³§±ð±ô±ô¾±²Ô²µ±è°ù¾±³¦±ð= 5,000×$ 45= $ 225,000

03

Required unit of sales unit to make profit of $756,000

Required units= Annual fixed cost + Target profitContribution margin per unit=$12,500×12 + $75,600$45-$15=$150,000 + $75,600$30= 7,520 UnitsCalculationofsalesrevenue

04

Calculation of meals to serve each night to earn profit of $75,600

°Õ´Ç³Ù²¹±ô²Ô´Ç,´Ç´Ú»å²¹²â²õ°ù±ð²õ³Ù³Ü²¹°ù±ð²Ô³Ù´Ç±è±ð²Ô=±·´Ç,´Ç´Ú»å²¹²â²õ´Ç±è±ð²Ô¾±²Ô·É±ð±ð°ì×°¿±è±ð²Ô·É±ð±ð°ì¾±²Ô²¹²â±ð²¹°ù=5×50250daysCalculationofthemealsserveseachnightMeals Must Serve Each Night =Required selling units for the yearTotal open days in the year= 7520250=30 meals

05

Factors to be considered

These factors should the Homs consider before they make their decision as to whether to open the restaurant;

a) Initial Capital investment.

b) A good location for the restaurant.

c) Purchasing capability of people.

d) License for the running restaurant.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

What is the relevant range?

S20-9 Computing contribution margin, units and required sales to break even, units to achieve target profit

Compute the missing amounts for the following table:

On the CVP graph, where is the breakeven point shown? Why?

Calculating breakeven point for two products, margin of safety, andoperating leverage

The contribution margin income statement of Delectable Donuts for May 2018follows:

DELECTABLE DONUTS

Contribution Margin Income Statement

Month Ended May 31, 2018

Net Sales Revenue

\(125,000

Variable cost

Cost of goods sold

\)32,100

Selling cost

17,400

Administrative cost

500

\(50,000

Contribution Margin

\)75,000

Fixed cost

Selling cost

\(37,800

Administrative cost

12,600

\)50,400

Operating income

\(24,600

Delectable sells five dozen plain donuts for every dozen custard-filled donuts. A dozenplain donuts sells for \)4.00, with a variable cost of \(1.60 per dozen. A dozen custardfilled donuts sells for \)8.00, with a variable cost of $3.20 per dozen.

Requirements

1. Calculate the weighted-average contribution margin.

2. Determine Delectable’s monthly breakeven point in dozens of plain donuts and custard-filled donuts. Prove your answer by preparing a summary contribution nmargin income statement at the breakeven level of sales. Show only two categories of costs: variable and fixed.

3. Compute Delectable’s margin of safety in dollars for May 2018.

4. Compute the degree of operating leverage for Delectable Donuts. Estimate thenew operating income if total sales increase by 20%. (Round the degree of operating leverage to four decimal places and the final answer to the nearest dollar.Assume the sales mix remains unchanged.)

5. Prove your answer to Requirement 4 by preparing a contribution marginincome statement with a 20% increase in total sales. (The sales mix remainsunchanged.)

Question: Use the following information to complete Short Exercises S20-10 through S20-15.

Funday Park competes with Cool World by providing a variety of rides. Funday Park sells tickets at \(70 per person as a one-day entrance fee. Variable costs are \)42 per person, and fixed costs are \(170,800 per month.

Using the Funday Park information presented, do the following tasks.

Requirements

1. Suppose Funday Park cuts its ticket price from \)70 to \(56 to increase the number of tickets sold. Compute the new breakeven point in tickets and in sales dollars.

2. Ignore the information in Requirement 1. Instead, assume that Funday Park increases the variable cost from \)42 to $56 per ticket. Compute the new breakeven point in tickets and in sales dollars.

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.