/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 46PGB Calculating breakeven point for ... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Calculating breakeven point for two products, margin of safety, andoperating leverage

The contribution margin income statement of Delectable Donuts for May 2018follows:

DELECTABLE DONUTS

Contribution Margin Income Statement

Month Ended May 31, 2018

Net Sales Revenue

\(125,000

Variable cost

Cost of goods sold

\)32,100

Selling cost

17,400

Administrative cost

500

\(50,000

Contribution Margin

\)75,000

Fixed cost

Selling cost

\(37,800

Administrative cost

12,600

\)50,400

Operating income

\(24,600

Delectable sells five dozen plain donuts for every dozen custard-filled donuts. A dozenplain donuts sells for \)4.00, with a variable cost of \(1.60 per dozen. A dozen custardfilled donuts sells for \)8.00, with a variable cost of $3.20 per dozen.

Requirements

1. Calculate the weighted-average contribution margin.

2. Determine Delectable’s monthly breakeven point in dozens of plain donuts and custard-filled donuts. Prove your answer by preparing a summary contribution nmargin income statement at the breakeven level of sales. Show only two categories of costs: variable and fixed.

3. Compute Delectable’s margin of safety in dollars for May 2018.

4. Compute the degree of operating leverage for Delectable Donuts. Estimate thenew operating income if total sales increase by 20%. (Round the degree of operating leverage to four decimal places and the final answer to the nearest dollar.Assume the sales mix remains unchanged.)

5. Prove your answer to Requirement 4 by preparing a contribution marginincome statement with a 20% increase in total sales. (The sales mix remainsunchanged.)

Short Answer

Expert verified
  1. Weighted average contribution margin is $2.8.
  2. Break-even point in units: 18,000 units.
  3. Operating income is $0.
  4. Margin of safety in dollars: $41,000.
  5. Degree of operating leverage is 3.05.

Step by step solution

01

Step 1:1. Computation of the weighted-average contribution margin-

Weighted average contribution margin

Plain donuts

Custardfilled donuts

Total

Selling price

$4

$8

Less: Variable cost

($1.6)

($3.2)

Contribution margin per unit

$2.4

$4.8

Sales mix (a)

5

1

6

Contribution margin (b)

$12

$4.8

$16.8

Weighted average contribution margin (b/a)

$2.8

02

2. Computation of break even point-

Breakevenpoint=FixedcostsWeightedaveragecontributionmargin=$50,4002.8=$18,000

Units(a)

Selling Price Per unit(b)

Total sales

(a x b)

Variable cost per unit

(c)

Total Variable cost

(axc)

Plain donuts

18,000×56

15,000

$4

$60,000

$1.6

$24,000

Custardfilled donuts

18,000×16

3,000

$8

$24,000

$3.2

$9,600

03

Contribution margin income statement-

Contribution margin income statement

Plain donuts

Custardfilled donuts

Total

Revenue

$60,000

$24,000

$84,000

Less: Variable cost

($24,000)

($9,600)

($33,600)

Contribution margin per unit

$36,000

$14,400

$50,400

Less: Fixed cost

($50,400)

Operating income

$0

04

3. Computation of margin of safety-

Marginofsafety=Sales-Breakevensales=$125,000-$84,000=$41,000

05

Step 5:Computation of Degree of Operating Leverage-

Degreeofoperatinglevearge=ContributionmarginOperatingIncome=75,00024,600=3.048780

06

Step 6:4. Computation of increase in operating income-

Increaseinoperatingincome=Increaseinsales×Degreeofoperatingleverage=20×3.048780=60.9756

07

Step 7:5. Contribution margin income statement-

Contribution margin income statement

Sales Revenue

$150,000

Less: Variable cost

$60,000

Contribution margin per unit

$90,000

Less: fixed cost

$50,400

Operating income

$39,600

Less: Old operating income

$24,600

Incease

$15,000

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Question: Determining total mixed cost

John Street Barber Shop pays \(25 per month for water for the first 8,000 gallons and \)3.50 per thousand gallons above 8,000 gallons. Calculate the total water cost when the barber shop uses 7,000 gallons, 10,000 gallons, and 13,000 gallons.

You have just begun your summer internship at Omni Instruments. The company supplies sterilized surgical instruments for physicians. To expand sales, Omni is considering paying a commission to its sales force. The controller, Matthew Barnhill, asks you to compute: (1) the new breakeven sales figure, and (2) the operating profit if sales increase 15% under the new sales commission plan. He thinks you can handle this task because you learned CVP analysis in your accounting class.

You spend the next day collecting information from the accounting records, performing the analysis, and writing a memo to explain the results. The company president is pleased with your memo. You report that the new sales commission plan will lead to a significant increase in operating income and only a small increase in breakeven sales.

The following week, you realize that you made an error in the CVP analysis. You overlooked the sales personnel’s $2,800 monthly salaries, and you did not include this fixed selling cost in your computations. You are not sure what to do. If you tell Matthew Barnhill of your mistake, he will have to tell the president. In this case, you are afraid Omni might not offer you permanent employment after your internship.

Requirements

1. How would your error affect breakeven sales and operating income under the proposed sales commission plan? Could this cause the president to reject the sales commission proposal?

2. Consider your ethical responsibilities. Is there a difference between (a) initially making an error and (b) subsequently failing to inform the controller?

3. Suppose you tell Matthew Barnhill of the error in your analysis. Why might the consequences not be as bad as you fear? Should Barnhill take any responsibility for your error? What could Barnhill have done differently?

4. After considering all the factors, should you inform Barnhill or simply keep quiet?

Question: Why is the calculation to determine the target profit considered a variation of the breakeven calculation?

Calculating contribution margin ratio, preparing contribution margin income statements For its top managers, Worldwide Travel formats its income statement as follows:

Worldwide’s relevant range is between sales of \(253,000 and \)368,000. Requirements

1. Calculate the contribution margin ratio.

2. Prepare two contribution margin income statements: one at the \(253,000 sales level and one at the \)368,000 sales level. (Hint: The proportion of each sales dollar that goes toward variable costs is constant within the relevant range.)

Question: This problem continues the Piedmont Computer Company situation from Chapter 19. Piedmont Computer Company manufactures personal computers and tablets. Based on the latest information from the cost accountant, using the current sales mix, the weighted-average sales price per unit is \(750 and the weighed-average variable cost per unit is \)450. The company does not expect the sales mix to vary for the next year. Average fixed costs per month are \(156,000.

Requirements

1. What is the number of units that must be sold each month to reach the breakeven point?

2. If the company currently sells 945 units per month, what is the margin of safety in units and dollars?

3. If Piedmont Computer Company desires to make a profit of \)15,000 per month, how many units must be sold?

4. Piedmont Computer Company thinks it can restructure some costs so that fixed costs will be reduced to \(90,000 per month, but the weighted-average variable cost per unit will increase to \)525 per unit. What is the new breakeven point in units? Does this increase or decrease the margin of safety? Why or why not?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.