/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q22E Question: Determining total mixe... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Question: Determining total mixed cost

John Street Barber Shop pays \(25 per month for water for the first 8,000 gallons and \)3.50 per thousand gallons above 8,000 gallons. Calculate the total water cost when the barber shop uses 7,000 gallons, 10,000 gallons, and 13,000 gallons.

Short Answer

Expert verified

Answer

The total mixed cost for 7,000 gallons is $25 , for 10,000 gallons is $32 , 13,000 gallons is $42.5 .

Step by step solution

01

Calculation of total mixed cost for 7,000 gallons

Amount

Payment for water for first 8,000

$25

Payment for water @$3,50 per thousand gallons above 8,000 gallons.

$0

Total mixed cost

$25

02

Calculation of total mixed cost for 10,000 gallons 

Amount

Payment for water for first 8,000

$25

Payment for water @$3,50 per thousand gallons above 8,000 gallons.

$3.50x2=$7

Total mixed cost

$32

03

Calculation of total mixed cost for 13,000 gallons   

Amount

Payment for water for first 8,000

$25

Payment for water @$3,50 per thousand gallons above 8,000 gallons.

$3.50x5=$17.5

Total mixed cost

$42.5

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

What is the margin of safety? What are the three ways it can be expressed?

Before you begin this assignment, review the Tying It All Together feature in the chapter.

Best Buy Co., Inc. is a leading provider of technology products. Customers can shop at more than 1,700 stores or online. The company is also known for its Geek Squad for technology services. Suppose Best Buy is considering a particular HDTV for a major sales item for Black Friday, the day after Thanksgiving, known as one of the busiest shopping days of the year. Assume the HDTV has a regular sales price of \(900, a cost of \)500, and a Black Friday proposed discounted sales price of \(650. Best Buy’s 2015 Annual Report states that failure to manage costs could have a material adverse effect on its profitability and that certain elements in its cost structure are largely fixed in nature. Best Buy, like most companies, wishes to maintain price competitiveness while achieving acceptable levels of profitability. (Item 1A. Risk Factors.)

Requirements

1. Calculate the gross profit of the HDTV at the regular sales price and at the discounted sales price.

2. Assume that during the November/December holiday season last year, Best Buy sold an average of 150 of this particular HDTV per store. If the HDTVs are marked down to \)650, how many would each store have to sell this year to make the same total gross profit as last year?

3. Relative to Sales Revenue, what type of costs would Best Buy have that are fixed? What type of costs would be variable?

4. Because Best Buy stated that its cost structure is largely fixed in nature, what might be the impact on operating income if sales decreased? Does having a cost structure that is largely fixed in nature increase the financial risk to a company? Why or why not?

5. In the Tying It All Together feature in the chapter, we looked at the cost of advertising. Is advertising a fixed or variable cost? If the company has a small margin of safety, how would increasing advertising costs affect Best Buy’s operating income? What would be the effect of decreasing advertising costs?

A furniture manufacturer specializes in wood tables. The tables sell for \(100 per unit and incur \)40 per unit in variable costs. The company has \(6,000 in fixed costs per month. The company desires to earn an operating profit of \)12,000 per month.

10. Calculate the required sales in units to earn the target profit using the equation method.

11. Calculate the required sales in units to earn the target profit using the contribution margin method.

12. Calculate the required sales in dollars to earn the target profit using the contribution margin ratio method.

13. Calculate the required sales in units to break even using the contribution margin method.

National Investor Group is opening an office in Portland, Oregon. Fixed monthly costs are office rent (\(8,100), depreciation on office furniture (\)1,700), utilities (\(2,000), special telephone lines (\)1,500), a connection with an online brokerage service (\(2,500), and the salary of a financial planner (\)5,200). Variable costs include payments to the financial planner (9% of revenue), advertising (11% of revenue), supplies and postage (4% of revenue), and usage fees for the telephone lines and computerized brokerage service (6% of revenue).

Requirements

  1. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to compute National’s breakeven revenue in dollars. If the average trade leads to \(1,000 in revenue for National, how many trades must be made to break even?
  2. Use the equation approach to compute the dollar revenues needed to earn a monthly target profit of \)12,600.
  3. Graph National’s CVP relationships. Assume that an average trade leads to \(1,000 in revenue for National. Show the breakeven point, the sales revenue line, the fixed cost line, the total cost line, the operating loss area, the operating income area, and the sales in units (trades) and dollars when monthly operating income of \)12,600 is earned.
  4. Suppose that the average revenue National earns increases to $1,500 per trade. Compute the new breakeven point in trades. How does this affect the breakeven point?

What is cost stickiness? Why do managers need to be aware of cost stickiness?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.