/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q-23RQ What is the margin of safety? Wh... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

What is the margin of safety? What are the three ways it can be expressed?

Short Answer

Expert verified

Answer

Margin of safety is a cushion between profit and loss.

Step by step solution

01

Meaning of margin of safety

The expected sales beyond breakeven sales is known as margin of safety. As a result, the margin of safety is the amount sales can drop before the company suffers an operating loss. It is like a cushion between profit and loss.

02

What are the three ways it can be expressed?

  1. Margin of safety in units
  2. Margin of safety in dollars
  3. Margin of safety ratio

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Diversified Investor Group is opening an office in Boise, Idaho. Fixed monthly costs are office rent (\(8,000), depreciation on office furniture (\)1,700), utilities (\(2,400), special telephone lines (\)1,500), a connection with an online brokerage service (\(2,500), and the salary of a financial planner (\)11,900). Variable costs include payments to the financial planner (9% of revenue), advertising (11% of revenue), supplies and postage (4% of revenue), and usage fees for the telephone lines and computerized brokerage service (6% of revenue).

Requirements

  1. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to compute Diversified’s breakeven revenue in dollars. If the average trade leads to \(800 in revenue for Diversified, how many trades must be made to break even?
  2. Use the equation approach to compute the dollar revenues needed to earn a monthly target profit of \)11,200.
  3. Graph Diversified’s CVP relationships. Assume that an average trade leads to \(800 in revenue for Diversified. Show the breakeven point, the sales revenue line, the fixed cost line, the total cost line, the operating loss area, the operating income area, and the sales in units (trades) and dollars when monthly operating income of \)11,200 is earned.
  4. Suppose that the average revenue Diversified earns increases to $2,000 per trade. Compute the new breakeven point in trades. How does this affect the breakeven point?

Question: Use the following information to complete Short Exercises S20-10 through S20-15.

Funday Park competes with Cool World by providing a variety of rides. Funday Park sells tickets at \(70 per person as a one-day entrance fee. Variable costs are \)42 per person, and fixed costs are \(170,800 per month.

Using the Funday Park information presented, do the following tasks.

Requirements

1. Suppose Funday Park cuts its ticket price from \)70 to \(56 to increase the number of tickets sold. Compute the new breakeven point in tickets and in sales dollars.

2. Ignore the information in Requirement 1. Instead, assume that Funday Park increases the variable cost from \)42 to $56 per ticket. Compute the new breakeven point in tickets and in sales dollars.

What is a fixed cost? Give an example.

What is the purpose of using the high-low method?

Question: Use the following information to complete Short Exercises S20-10 through S20-15.

Funday Park competes with Cool World by providing a variety of rides. Funday Park sells tickets at \(70 per person as a one-day entrance fee. Variable costs are \)42 per person, and fixed costs are $170,800 per month.

Compute Funday Park’s contribution margin ratio. Carry your computation to two decimal places. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to determine the sales revenue Funday Park needs to break even

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.