Chapter 20: Q-23RQ (page 1120)
What is the margin of safety? What are the three ways it can be expressed?
Short Answer
Answer
Margin of safety is a cushion between profit and loss.
/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none}
Learning Materials
Features
Discover
Chapter 20: Q-23RQ (page 1120)
What is the margin of safety? What are the three ways it can be expressed?
Answer
Margin of safety is a cushion between profit and loss.
All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.
Get started for free
Diversified Investor Group is opening an office in Boise, Idaho. Fixed monthly costs are office rent (\(8,000), depreciation on office furniture (\)1,700), utilities (\(2,400), special telephone lines (\)1,500), a connection with an online brokerage service (\(2,500), and the salary of a financial planner (\)11,900). Variable costs include payments to the financial planner (9% of revenue), advertising (11% of revenue), supplies and postage (4% of revenue), and usage fees for the telephone lines and computerized brokerage service (6% of revenue).
Requirements
Question: Use the following information to complete Short Exercises S20-10 through S20-15.
Funday Park competes with Cool World by providing a variety of rides. Funday Park sells tickets at \(70 per person as a one-day entrance fee. Variable costs are \)42 per person, and fixed costs are \(170,800 per month.
Using the Funday Park information presented, do the following tasks.
Requirements
1. Suppose Funday Park cuts its ticket price from \)70 to \(56 to increase the number of tickets sold. Compute the new breakeven point in tickets and in sales dollars.
2. Ignore the information in Requirement 1. Instead, assume that Funday Park increases the variable cost from \)42 to $56 per ticket. Compute the new breakeven point in tickets and in sales dollars.
What is a fixed cost? Give an example.
What is the purpose of using the high-low method?
Question: Use the following information to complete Short Exercises S20-10 through S20-15.
Funday Park competes with Cool World by providing a variety of rides. Funday Park sells tickets at \(70 per person as a one-day entrance fee. Variable costs are \)42 per person, and fixed costs are $170,800 per month.
Compute Funday Park’s contribution margin ratio. Carry your computation to two decimal places. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to determine the sales revenue Funday Park needs to break even
What do you think about this solution?
We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.