/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q12SE Question: Use the following info... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Question: Use the following information to complete Short Exercises S20-10 through S20-15.

Funday Park competes with Cool World by providing a variety of rides. Funday Park sells tickets at \(70 per person as a one-day entrance fee. Variable costs are \)42 per person, and fixed costs are \(170,800 per month.

Using the Funday Park information presented, do the following tasks.

Requirements

1. Suppose Funday Park cuts its ticket price from \)70 to \(56 to increase the number of tickets sold. Compute the new breakeven point in tickets and in sales dollars.

2. Ignore the information in Requirement 1. Instead, assume that Funday Park increases the variable cost from \)42 to $56 per ticket. Compute the new breakeven point in tickets and in sales dollars.

Short Answer

Expert verified

Answer

The breakeven sales in dollars is $683,200.

The breakeven sales in dollars is $854,000

Step by step solution

01

Calculation of Contribution margin ratio, breakeven point in sales dollars, breakeven point tickets sold if ticket price decrease from $70 to $56

Contributionmargin=Salesprice--Variablecost=$56-$42=$14Contributionmarginratio=ContributionmarginperunitSalesrevenue=$14$56=25%Salesrequiredindollars=Fixedcost+TargetprofitContributionmarginratio=$170,800+$025%=$683,200Salesrequiredintickets=Fixedcost+TargetprofitContributionmarginperunit=$170,800+$0$14=12,200

02

Calculation of Contribution margin ratio, breakeven point in sales dollars, breakeven point tickets sold if variable cost increase from $42 to $56

Contributionmargin=Salesprice--Variablecost=$70-$56=$14Contributionmarginratio=ContributionmarginperunitSalesrevenue=$14$70=20%Salesrequiredindollars=Fixedcost+TargetprofitContributionmarginratio=$170,800+$020%=$854,000Salesrequiredintickets=Fixedcost+TargetprofitContributionmarginperunit=$170,800+$0$14=12,200

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Determine how each change effects the elements of the cost-volume-profit graph by placing an X in the appropriate column(s).


EFFECT

Sales Line
Fixed Cost Line
Total cost line
Breakeven point

Change

Slope Increases

Slope decreases

Shifts up

Shifts Down

Slope Increases

Slope Decreases

Increases

Decreases

Sales price per unit Increases

Sales price per unit Decreases

Variable cost per unit Increases

Variable cost per unit decreases

Total fixed cost increases

Total fixed cost decreases

What is sensitivity analysis? How do managers use this tool?

Question: Determining total variable cost

For each variable cost per unit listed below, determine the total variable cost when units produced and sold are 25, 50, and 100 units.

Direct materials $ 40

Direct labor 80

Variable overhead 9

Sales commission 12

What is a mixed cost? Give an example.

Scotty’s Scooters plans to sell a standard scooter for \(55 and a chrome scooter for \)70. Scotty’s purchases the standard scooter for \(30 and the chrome scooter for \)40. Scotty’s expects to sell one standard scooter for every three chrome scooters. Scotty’s monthly fixed costs are \(23,000.

Requirements

1. How many of each type of scooter must Scotty’s Scooters sell each month to break even?

2. How many of each type of scooter must Scotty’s Scooters sell each month to earn \)25,300?

3. Suppose Scotty’s expectation to sell one standard scooter for every three chrome scooters was incorrect and for every four scooters sold two are standard scooters and two are chrome scooters. Will the breakeven point of total scooters increase or decrease? Why? (Calculation not required.)

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.