/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q45PGB Diversified Investor Group is op... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Diversified Investor Group is opening an office in Boise, Idaho. Fixed monthly costs are office rent (\(8,000), depreciation on office furniture (\)1,700), utilities (\(2,400), special telephone lines (\)1,500), a connection with an online brokerage service (\(2,500), and the salary of a financial planner (\)11,900). Variable costs include payments to the financial planner (9% of revenue), advertising (11% of revenue), supplies and postage (4% of revenue), and usage fees for the telephone lines and computerized brokerage service (6% of revenue).

Requirements

  1. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to compute Diversified’s breakeven revenue in dollars. If the average trade leads to \(800 in revenue for Diversified, how many trades must be made to break even?
  2. Use the equation approach to compute the dollar revenues needed to earn a monthly target profit of \)11,200.
  3. Graph Diversified’s CVP relationships. Assume that an average trade leads to \(800 in revenue for Diversified. Show the breakeven point, the sales revenue line, the fixed cost line, the total cost line, the operating loss area, the operating income area, and the sales in units (trades) and dollars when monthly operating income of \)11,200 is earned.
  4. Suppose that the average revenue Diversified earns increases to $2,000 per trade. Compute the new breakeven point in trades. How does this affect the breakeven point?

Short Answer

Expert verified
  1. Diversified’s breakeven revenue in dollars is $40,000
  2. Number of trades is 70 trades
  3. Breakeven point at $40,000 50 trades.
  4. New break-even trade is 20 trades.

Step by step solution

01

Meaning of Contribution Margin

The contribution margin is the sum of sales revenue left over after covering the business entity's fixed costs. The inconsistency between sales income and variable costs is what determines it.

02

(1) Computing Diversified’s breakeven revenue in dollars.

Calculate the required sales in the unit at break-even when the sales price per trade is $800

Calculating the total % of variable costs and contribution margin

Financial planner % of revenue

9%

Advertising % of revenue

11%

Supplies and postage % of revenue

4%

Usage fees % of revenue

6%

Total % of variable costs and contribution margin

30%

Calculating the total fixed cost

Office rent

$8,000

Depreciation

$1,700

Utilities

$2,400

Telephone lines

$1,500

Brokerage services

$2,500

Salary of a financial planner

$11,900

Total fixed cost

$28,000



Calculating the required sales in dollar

¸é±ð±ç³Ü¾±°ù±ð»å s²¹±ô±ð²õ i²Ô d´Ç±ô±ô²¹°ù²õ=Fixedcosts+°Õ²¹°ù²µ±ð³Ù p°ù´Ç´Ú¾±³Ù°ä´Ç²Ô³Ù°ù¾±²ú³Ü³Ù¾±´Ç²Ô″¾²¹°ù²µ¾±²Ô r²¹³Ù¾±´Ç=$28,000+$070%=$40,000

Calculate the required sales in units at break-even when the sales price per trade is $800

¸é±ð±ç³Ü¾±°ù±ð»å s²¹±ô±ð²õ i²Ô u²Ô¾±³Ù=¸é±ð±ç³Ü¾±°ù±ð»å s²¹±ô±ð²õ i²Ô d´Ç±ô±ô²¹°ù³§²¹±ô±ð²õ p°ù¾±³¦±ð p±ð°ù t°ù²¹»å±ð=$40,000$800=50 t°ù²¹»å±ð°ù²õ



Therefore, the required sales in the unit at break-even when the sales price per trade is $800 are 50 traders.

03

(2) Computing the dollar revenues

°Õ²¹°ù²µ±ð³Ù p°ù´Ç´Ú¾±³Ù=[±·±ð³Ù s²¹±ô±ð²õ r±ð±¹±ð²Ô³Ü±ð−³Õ²¹°ù¾±²¹²ú±ô±ð â¶Ä‰c´Ç²õ³Ù²õ]−¹ó¾±³æ±ð»å c´Ç²õ³Ù$11,200=[($800×±·³Ü³¾²ú±ð°ù o´Ú t°ù²¹»å±ð)−($800×30%×±·³Ü³¾²ú±ð°ù o´Ú t°ù²¹»å±ðs)]−$28,000$39,200=[($800×$240)×±·³Ü³¾²ú±ð°ù o´Ú t°ù²¹»å±ðs]$39,200=$560×±·³Ü³¾²ú±ð°ù o´Ú t°ù²¹»å±ðs

±·³Ü³¾²ú±ð°ù o´Ú t°ù²¹»å±ðs=$39,200$560=70 t°ù²¹»å±ð²õ

04

(3) Graph Diversified’s CVP relationships

05

Effect of breakeven point

Calculate the new break-even point in the unit if sales per trade increase to $2,000.

±·±ð·É b°ù±ð²¹°ì-±ð±¹±ð²Ô t°ù²¹»å±ð=¸é±ð±ç³Ü¾±°ù±ð»å s²¹±ô±ð²õ i²Ô d´Ç±ô±ô²¹°ù²õ³§²¹±ô±ð²õ p°ù¾±³¦±ð p±ð°ù t°ù²¹»å±ð=$40,000$2,000=20 t°ù²¹»å±ð²õ

The Break-even point is decreased to 30 trades (50 trades – 20 trades) when the average revenue is increased to $2,000.

Hence, the break-even point is reduced by 60% as follows: 50 t°ù²¹»å±ð²õ−20 t°ù²¹»å±ð²õ50 t°ù²¹»å±ð²õ

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

On the CVP graph, where is the breakeven point shown? Why?

Use the following information to complete Short Exercises S20-16 and S20-17.

Wild Waters Swim Park sells individual and family tickets. With a ticket, each person receives a meal, three beverages, and unlimited use of the swimming pools. Wild Waters has the following ticket prices and variable costs for 2018:

Individual Family Sales price per ticket \( 50 \) 150 Variable cost per ticket 35 140

Wild Waters expects to sell one individual ticket for every four family tickets. Wild Waters’s total fixed costs are $27,500.

S20-16 Calculating breakeven point for two products

Using the Wild Waters Swim Park information presented, do the following tasks.

Requirements

1. Compute the weighted-average contribution margin per ticket.

2. Calculate the total number of tickets Wild Waters must sell to break even.

3. Calculate the number of individual tickets and the number of family tickets the company must sell to break even.

Analyzing a cost-volume-profit graph

Nolan Rouse is considering starting a Web-based educational business, e-Prep MBA. He plans to offer a short-course review of accounting for students entering MBA programs. The materials would be available on a password-protected Web site; students would complete the course through self-study. Rouse would have to grade the course assignments, but most of the work would be in developing the course materials, setting up the site, and marketing. Unfortunately, Rouse’s hard drive crashed before he finished his financial analysis. However, he did recover the following partial CVP chart:

Requirements

1. Label each axis, the sales revenue line, the total costs line, the fixed costs line, the operating income area, and the breakeven point.

2. If Rouse attracts 300 students to take the course, will the venture be profitable? Explain your answer.

3. What are the breakeven sales in students and dollars?

What are the three approaches to calculating the sales required to achieve the breakeven point? Give the formula for each one.

Scotty’s Scooters plans to sell a standard scooter for \(55 and a chrome scooter for \)70. Scotty’s purchases the standard scooter for \(30 and the chrome scooter for \)40. Scotty’s expects to sell one standard scooter for every three chrome scooters. Scotty’s monthly fixed costs are \(23,000.

Requirements

1. How many of each type of scooter must Scotty’s Scooters sell each month to break even?

2. How many of each type of scooter must Scotty’s Scooters sell each month to earn \)25,300?

3. Suppose Scotty’s expectation to sell one standard scooter for every three chrome scooters was incorrect and for every four scooters sold two are standard scooters and two are chrome scooters. Will the breakeven point of total scooters increase or decrease? Why? (Calculation not required.)

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.