/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q48CP Question: This problem continues... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Question: This problem continues the Piedmont Computer Company situation from Chapter 19. Piedmont Computer Company manufactures personal computers and tablets. Based on the latest information from the cost accountant, using the current sales mix, the weighted-average sales price per unit is \(750 and the weighed-average variable cost per unit is \)450. The company does not expect the sales mix to vary for the next year. Average fixed costs per month are \(156,000.

Requirements

1. What is the number of units that must be sold each month to reach the breakeven point?

2. If the company currently sells 945 units per month, what is the margin of safety in units and dollars?

3. If Piedmont Computer Company desires to make a profit of \)15,000 per month, how many units must be sold?

4. Piedmont Computer Company thinks it can restructure some costs so that fixed costs will be reduced to \(90,000 per month, but the weighted-average variable cost per unit will increase to \)525 per unit. What is the new breakeven point in units? Does this increase or decrease the margin of safety? Why or why not?

Short Answer

Expert verified

Answer

  1. The Break-even point is520 units
  2. The margin of safety is425 units and$318,750
  3. 570 must sell to earn a profit of$15,000
  4. The new break-even point is400 units, and the margin of safety is545 units.

Step by step solution

01

Meaning of Break-even Point

The break-even point is when the total revenue earned by the business entity equals the total expenditure incurred, indicating that the firm has no loss or gain.

02

Calculation of break-even point in units 

Required sales in units = Fixed cost+Target profit Contribution margin per unit= $156000+$0 $750-$450=$156000$300= 520 Units

The company must sell 520 units each month to reach the breakeven point.

03

Calculation of margin of safety

CalculationofmarginofsafetyinunitsMargin of safety in units = currently sells units per month-Break even sales units= 945-520=425 UnitsCalculationofmarginofsafetyindollarsMargin of safety in dollars = Total sales-Breakeven sales= 945× $750 - 520×$750=$708,750×$390,000= $318,750

04

Calculation of the desired number of units sold to earn a profit of $15,000

Required units = Fixed cost + Target profitContribution margin per unit= $156,000 + $15,000$750-$450=$171,000$300= 570 Units

To make a profit of $15,000 per month, the company must sell 570 units.

05

Calculation of new break-even point

Breakeven units = Fixed cost+Target profitContribution margin per unit= $90,000+$0$750-$525= $90,000$225=400 Units

Calculation of new margin of safety

Margin of safety = Unit sells-Breakeven units= 945-400= 545 Units

When the breakeven unit decreases,the margin of safety unit increases because the earning or net profit increases.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Question: Computing contribution margin in total, per unit, and as a ratio

Complete the table below for contribution margin per unit, total contribution margin, and contribution margin ratio:

A B C Number of units 1,720 units 14,920 units 4,620 units

Sales price per unit \( 1,800 \) 4,500 $ 5,550

Variable costs per unit 720 3,600 1,665

Calculate:                  

Contribution margin per unit                      

Total contribution margin                        

Contribution margin ratio

Mi Tierra Driving School charges \(680 per student to prepare and administer written and driving tests. Variable costs of \)408 per student include trainers’ wages, study materials, and gasoline. Annual fixed costs of \(63,920 include the training facility and fleet of cars.

Requirements

1. For each of the following independent situations, calculate the contribution margin per unit and the breakeven point in units by first referring to the original data provided:

a. Breakeven point with no change in information.

b. Decrease sales price to \)544 per student.

c. Decrease variable costs to \(340 per student.

d. Decrease fixed costs to \)53,040.

2. Compare the impact of changes in the sales price, variable costs, and fixed costs on the contribution margin per unit and the breakeven point in units.

England Productions performs London shows. The average show sells 1,300 tickets at\(60 per ticket. There are 175 shows per year. No additional shows can be held as thetheater is also used by other production companies. The average show has a cast of65, each earning a net average of \)340 per show. The cast is paid after each show. Theother variable cost is a program-printing cost of \(8 per guest. Annual fixed costs total\)728,000.

Requirements

1. Compute revenue and variable costs for each show.

2. Use the equation approach to compute the number of shows England Productionsmust perform each year to break even.

3. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to compute the number of showsneeded each year to earn a profit of $5,687,500. Is this profit goal realistic? Giveyour reasoning.

4. Prepare England Productions’s contribution margin income statement for175 shows performed in 2018. Report only two categories of costs: variableand fixed.

What is a mixed cost? Give an example.

Determine how each change effects the elements of the cost-volume-profit graph by placing an X in the appropriate column(s).


EFFECT

Sales Line
Fixed Cost Line
Total cost line
Breakeven point

Change

Slope Increases

Slope decreases

Shifts up

Shifts Down

Slope Increases

Slope Decreases

Increases

Decreases

Sales price per unit Increases

Sales price per unit Decreases

Variable cost per unit Increases

Variable cost per unit decreases

Total fixed cost increases

Total fixed cost decreases

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.