/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q32E Mi Tierra Driving School charges... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Mi Tierra Driving School charges \(680 per student to prepare and administer written and driving tests. Variable costs of \)408 per student include trainers’ wages, study materials, and gasoline. Annual fixed costs of \(63,920 include the training facility and fleet of cars.

Requirements

1. For each of the following independent situations, calculate the contribution margin per unit and the breakeven point in units by first referring to the original data provided:

a. Breakeven point with no change in information.

b. Decrease sales price to \)544 per student.

c. Decrease variable costs to \(340 per student.

d. Decrease fixed costs to \)53,040.

2. Compare the impact of changes in the sales price, variable costs, and fixed costs on the contribution margin per unit and the breakeven point in units.

Short Answer

Expert verified

(1)

  1. Contribution margin per unit =$272, Breakeven point in units =235
  2. Contribution margin per unit =$136, Breakeven point in units =470
  3. Contribution margin per unit =$340, Breakeven point in units =188
  4. Contribution margin per unit =$272, Breakeven point in units =195

(2) Impact of changes are explained in Step 2

Step by step solution

01

Calculation of breakeven sales in units and contribution margin per unit

a.

Contributionmarginperunit=Salespriceperunit-Variablecostperunit=$680-$408=$272Breakevenpointinunits=fixedcostContributionmarginperunit=$63,920+$0$272=235

b.

Contributionmarginperunit=Salespriceperunit-Variablecostperunit=$544-$408=$136Breakevenpointinunits=FixedcostContributionmarginperunit=$63,920+$0$136=470

Contributionmarginperunit=Salespriceperunit-Variablecostperunit=$544-$408=$136Breakevenpointinunits=FixedcostContributionmarginperunit=$63,920+$0$136=470

c.

Contributionmarginperunit=Salespriceperunit-Variablecostperunit=$680-$340=$340Breakevenpointinunits=FixedcostContributionmarginperunit=$63,920$340=188

d.

Contributionmarginperunit=Salespriceperunit-Variablecostperunit=$680-$408=$272Breakevenpointinunits=fixedcostContributionmarginperunit=$53,040$272=195

02

Comparative analysis 

Contribution margin per unit

Breakeven points in units

Analysis

A

$272

235

This is the breakeven level with original data

B

$136

470

If sales price decreases. then the contribution margin per unit will also decrease and breakeven level will increase

C

$340

188

If variable cost decreases then the contribution margin will increase and breakeven level will decrease.

D

$272

195

If fixed cost decreases, the contribution margin will remain unchanged but the breakeven sales will decrease.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Using the high-low method

Mark owns a machine shop. In reviewing the shop’s utility bills for the past 12 months, he found that the highest bill of \(2,600 occurred in August when the machines worked 1,200 machine hours. The lowest utility bill of \)2,300 occurred in December when the machines worked 600 machine hours.

Requirements

1. Use the high-low method to calculate the variable cost per machine hour and the total fixed utility cost.

2. Show the equation for determining the total utility cost for the machine shop.

3. If Mark anticipates using 800 machine hours in January, predict the shop’s total utility bill using the equation from Requirement 2.

What are the three ways contribution margin can be ex

No Slip Co. produces sports socks. The company has fixed costs of\(91,080 and variable costs of \)0.81 per package. Each package sells for $1.80.

Requirements

1. Compute the contribution margin per package and the contribution marginratio. (Round your answers to two decimal places.)

2. Find the breakeven point in units and in dollars using the contributionmargin approach.

What is the purpose of using the high-low method?

Determining cost behavior

Identify each cost below as variable (V), fixed (F), or mixed (M), relative to units sold. Explain your reason.

Units Sold 25 50 75 100

a. Total phone cost \( 150 \) 200 \( 250 \) 300

b. Materials cost per unit 35 35 35 35

c. Manager’s salary 3,000 3,000 3,000 3,000

d. Depreciation cost per unit 60 30 20 15

e. Total utility cost 400 650 900 1,150

f. Total cost of goods sold 3,125 6,250 9,375 12,500

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.