/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q3SE Using the high-low method Mark ... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Using the high-low method

Mark owns a machine shop. In reviewing the shop’s utility bills for the past 12 months, he found that the highest bill of \(2,600 occurred in August when the machines worked 1,200 machine hours. The lowest utility bill of \)2,300 occurred in December when the machines worked 600 machine hours.

Requirements

1. Use the high-low method to calculate the variable cost per machine hour and the total fixed utility cost.

2. Show the equation for determining the total utility cost for the machine shop.

3. If Mark anticipates using 800 machine hours in January, predict the shop’s total utility bill using the equation from Requirement 2.

Short Answer

Expert verified

1. Variable cost per units is $ 0.50 per machine hour

Total fixed cost is $2,000

2.Totalmixedcost=(Variablecostperunits×Numberofunits)+Totalfixedcost

3. Total mixed cost is $ 2,400


Step by step solution

01

Calculation of variable cost per machine hour and total fixed utility cost using high-low method.


Variablecostperunit=ChangeintotalcostChangeinvolumeactivity=(Costassociatedwithhigestvolume-Costassociatedwithlowestvolume)(Highestvolume-Lowestvolume)=($2,600-$2,300)(1200-600)=($300)($600)=$0.50permachinehour

Totalfixedcost=Totalmixedcost-Totalvariablecost=Totalmixedcost-(Variablecostperunit×Numberofunits)=$2,600-($0.50×1200)=$2,600-$6,00=$2,000

02

equation for determining the total utility cost for the machine shop.

Totalmixedcost=(Variablecostperunit×Numberofunits)+Totalfixedcost

03

Calculation of shop’s total utility bill using equation in step 2.

Totalmixedcost=(Variablecostperunit×Numberperunits)+Totalfixedcost=($0.50×800machinehoure)+$2,000=$400+$2,000=$2,400

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Scotty’s Scooters plans to sell a standard scooter for \(55 and a chrome scooter for \)70. Scotty’s purchases the standard scooter for \(30 and the chrome scooter for \)40. Scotty’s expects to sell one standard scooter for every three chrome scooters. Scotty’s monthly fixed costs are \(23,000.

Requirements

1. How many of each type of scooter must Scotty’s Scooters sell each month to break even?

2. How many of each type of scooter must Scotty’s Scooters sell each month to earn \)25,300?

3. Suppose Scotty’s expectation to sell one standard scooter for every three chrome scooters was incorrect and for every four scooters sold two are standard scooters and two are chrome scooters. Will the breakeven point of total scooters increase or decrease? Why? (Calculation not required.)

A furniture manufacturer specializes in wood tables. The tables sell for \(100 per unit and incur \)40 per unit in variable costs. The company has \(6,000 in fixed costs per month. The company desires to earn an operating profit of \)12,000 per month.

10. Calculate the required sales in units to earn the target profit using the equation method.

11. Calculate the required sales in units to earn the target profit using the contribution margin method.

12. Calculate the required sales in dollars to earn the target profit using the contribution margin ratio method.

13. Calculate the required sales in units to break even using the contribution margin method.

Question: Why is the calculation to determine the target profit considered a variation of the breakeven calculation?

What is cost stickiness? Why do managers need to be aware of cost stickiness?

What is cost-volume-profit analysis?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.