/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 16SE Use the following information to... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Use the following information to complete Short Exercises S20-16 and S20-17.

Wild Waters Swim Park sells individual and family tickets. With a ticket, each person receives a meal, three beverages, and unlimited use of the swimming pools. Wild Waters has the following ticket prices and variable costs for 2018:

Individual Family Sales price per ticket \( 50 \) 150 Variable cost per ticket 35 140

Wild Waters expects to sell one individual ticket for every four family tickets. Wild Waters’s total fixed costs are $27,500.

S20-16 Calculating breakeven point for two products

Using the Wild Waters Swim Park information presented, do the following tasks.

Requirements

1. Compute the weighted-average contribution margin per ticket.

2. Calculate the total number of tickets Wild Waters must sell to break even.

3. Calculate the number of individual tickets and the number of family tickets the company must sell to break even.

Short Answer

Expert verified
  1. The weighted average contribution margin per unit is
  2. The breakeven number of tickets are 2,500

3. The corporate must sell 500 individual tickets and 2,000 family tickets

Step by step solution

01

Computation of the weighted-average contribution margin per ticket

Individual

Family

Total

Sales price per unit

$50

$150

Variable cost per unit

+

$35

$140

Contribution margin per unit

$15

$10

Sales mix in units

X 1 ticket

x 4 Tickets

5 tickets

Contribution margin

$15

$40

$ 55

Weighted-average contribution margin per unit ( tickets)

$11


02

Calculation of total number of tickets Wild Waters must sell to interrupt even

Breakeventickets=FixedcostWeightedaveragecontributionmarginperunit=$27,500$11=2,500tickets

03

Calculation of breakeven sales of individual tickets and family tickets

Particulars

Amount

Breakeven sales of individual tickets

2,500ticketsx1/5=500tickets

Breakeven sales of family tickets

2,500ticketsx4/5=2,000tickets

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

What are the three approaches to calculating the sales required to achieve the breakeven point? Give the formula for each one.

What is sensitivity analysis? How do managers use this tool

What are the CVP assumptions?

Question: Computing contribution margin in total, per unit, and as a ratio

Complete the table below for contribution margin per unit, total contribution margin, and contribution margin ratio:

A B C Number of units 1,720 units 14,920 units 4,620 units

Sales price per unit \( 1,800 \) 4,500 $ 5,550

Variable costs per unit 720 3,600 1,665

Calculate:                  

Contribution margin per unit                      

Total contribution margin                        

Contribution margin ratio

Owner Shan Mu is considering franchising her Noodles by Murestaurant concept. She believes people will pay \(10.00 for a large bowl ofnoodles. Variable costs are \)5.00 per bowl. Mu estimates monthly fixed costsfor a franchise at \(9,000.

Requirements

1. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to find a franchise’s breakevensales in dollars.

2. Mu believes most locations could generate \)61,500 in monthly sales. Isfranchising a good idea for Mu if franchisees want a minimum monthlyoperating income of $21,000? Explain your answer.

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.