/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q28E Owner Shan Mu is considering fra... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Owner Shan Mu is considering franchising her Noodles by Murestaurant concept. She believes people will pay \(10.00 for a large bowl ofnoodles. Variable costs are \)5.00 per bowl. Mu estimates monthly fixed costsfor a franchise at \(9,000.

Requirements

1. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to find a franchise’s breakevensales in dollars.

2. Mu believes most locations could generate \)61,500 in monthly sales. Isfranchising a good idea for Mu if franchisees want a minimum monthlyoperating income of $21,000? Explain your answer.

Short Answer

Expert verified

Answer

1. Breakeven sales is $18,000

2. Franchising is a good idea, as sales are higher than breakeven sales.

Step by step solution

01

Calculation of contribution margin and contribution margin ratio


$
Sales price per bowl
10
Variable cost per bowl
(5)
Contribution margin per bowl
5

Contribution margin ratio (contribution margin per bowl/ sales price per unit x100)

50%
02

Calculation of breakeven sales in dollars

Breakevensalesindollars=FixedcostContributionmarginratio=$9,00050%=$18,000

03

Profitability analysis

Requiredsalesindollars=fixedcost+targetprofitContributionmarginratio=$9,000+$21,00050%=$60,000

Yes, franchising is a good idea because Mu is expecting a monthly sales of $61,500 and company’s breakeven point is $60,000.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Determining mixed costs—the high-low method

The manager of Trusty Car Inspection reviewed the monthly operating costs for the past year. The costs ranged from \(4,300 for 1,300 inspections to \)3,900 for 900 inspections.

Requirements

1. Use the high-low method to calculate the variable cost per inspection.

2. Calculate the total fixed costs.

3. Write the equation and calculate the operating costs for 1,000 inspections.

4. Draw a graph illustrating the total cost under this plan. Label the axes, and show the costs at 900, 1,000, and 1,300 inspections.

What are the three ways contribution margin can be ex

S20-9 Computing contribution margin, units and required sales to break even, units to achieve target profit

Compute the missing amounts for the following table:

Following is the income statement for Marrow Mufflers for the month of June 2018:

MARROW MUFFLERS

Contribution Margin Income Statement

Month Ended June 30, 2018

Net Sales Revenue (140 units _ \(250) \) 35,000

Variable Costs (140 units _ \(50) 7,000

Contribution Margin 28,000

Fixed Costs 11,500

Operating Income \) 16,500

Requirements

1. Calculate the degree of operating leverage. (Round to four decimal places.)

2. Use the degree of operating leverage calculated in Requirement 1 to estimate the change in operating income if total sales increase by 40% (assuming no change in sales price per unit). (Round interim calculations to four decimal places and final answer to the nearest dollar.)

3. Verify your answer in Requirement 2 by preparing a contribution margin income statement with the total sales increase of 40%.

Diversified Investor Group is opening an office in Boise, Idaho. Fixed monthly costs are office rent (\(8,000), depreciation on office furniture (\)1,700), utilities (\(2,400), special telephone lines (\)1,500), a connection with an online brokerage service (\(2,500), and the salary of a financial planner (\)11,900). Variable costs include payments to the financial planner (9% of revenue), advertising (11% of revenue), supplies and postage (4% of revenue), and usage fees for the telephone lines and computerized brokerage service (6% of revenue).

Requirements

  1. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to compute Diversified’s breakeven revenue in dollars. If the average trade leads to \(800 in revenue for Diversified, how many trades must be made to break even?
  2. Use the equation approach to compute the dollar revenues needed to earn a monthly target profit of \)11,200.
  3. Graph Diversified’s CVP relationships. Assume that an average trade leads to \(800 in revenue for Diversified. Show the breakeven point, the sales revenue line, the fixed cost line, the total cost line, the operating loss area, the operating income area, and the sales in units (trades) and dollars when monthly operating income of \)11,200 is earned.
  4. Suppose that the average revenue Diversified earns increases to $2,000 per trade. Compute the new breakeven point in trades. How does this affect the breakeven point?
See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.