/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 43PGB Calculating breakeven sales and ... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Calculating breakeven sales and sales to earn a target profit;preparing a contribution margin income statement

Famous Productions performs London shows. The average show sells 1,000 ticketsat \(60 per ticket. There are 175 shows a year. No additional shows can be held as thetheater is also used by other production companies. The average show has a cast of60, each earning a net average of \)320 per show. The cast is paid after each show. Theother variable cost is a program-printing cost of \(8 per guest. Annual fixed costs total\)459,200.

Requirements

1. Compute revenue and variable costs for each show.

2. Use the equation approach to compute the number of shows Famous Productionsmust perform each year to break even.

3. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to compute the number of showsneeded each year to earn a profit of $4,264,000. Is this profit goal realistic? Giveyour reasoning.

4. Prepare Famous Productions’s contribution margin income statement for 175shows performed in 2018. Report only two categories of costs: variable andfixed.

Short Answer

Expert verified
  1. Revenue for each show is $60,000; and total variable cost is $27,200.
  2. In break even point, no of shows will be 144 shows.
  3. Yes, the profit goal is realistic as the acutal no of shows i.e., 175 shows is more than the shows required for the profit of $4,264,000i.e., 144 shows.
  4. The contribution margin Income Statement shows the net operating profit of $5,280,800

Step by step solution

01

Step 1:1. Computation of revenue for each show-

Salesrevenuepershow=Tickets×Sellingpriceperticket=1,000×$60=$60,000

02

1. Computation of variable cost for each show-

Variablecostofperformance=Cast×Netaveragepershow=$60×320=$19,200

Variablecostofticketprinting=Tickets×Programprintingcostperguest=1,000×$8=$8000

Totalvariablecost=VariableCostofPerformance+VariableCostofPrinting=$19,200+$8,000=$27,200

03

Step 3:2.Computation of number of show in Break even point-

Let number of show be ‘x’

Targetprofit=Revenue-Variablecost-Fixedcost$0=($60,000×x)-($27,200×x)-$459,200$32,800×x=$459,200x=14

04

Step 4:3 Computation of contribution margin ratio-

Contributionmarginratio=Sales-RevenueSales=$60,000-$27,200$60,000=$32,800$60,000=54.67%

05

3. Computation of Break even point-

BreakevenSales=Fixedcost+TargetprofitContributionmarginratio=$459,200+$4,264,00054.67%=$8,639,473

Breakevenpoint(inshow)=BreakevenpointRevenuepershow=$8,639,473$60,000=144shows

06

Step 6:4.Contribution margin income statement-

Contribution margin Income Statement

For the year ended 2016

Revenue

$10,500,000

Less: Variable cost

($4,760,000)

Contribution

$5,740,000

Less: Fixed Costs

($459,200)

Net Operating Profit

$5,280,800

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Determining cost behavior

Identify each cost below as variable (V), fixed (F), or mixed (M), relative to units sold. Explain your reason.

Units Sold 25 50 75 100

a. Total phone cost \( 150 \) 200 \( 250 \) 300

b. Materials cost per unit 35 35 35 35

c. Manager’s salary 3,000 3,000 3,000 3,000

d. Depreciation cost per unit 60 30 20 15

e. Total utility cost 400 650 900 1,150

f. Total cost of goods sold 3,125 6,250 9,375 12,500

Computing margin of safety

Robbie’s Repair Shop has a monthly target profit of \(31,000. Variable costs are 20%of sales, and monthly fixed costs are \)19,000.

Requirements

1. Compute the monthly margin of safety in dollars if the shop achieves its income goal.

2. Express Robbie’s margin of safety as a percentage of target sales.

3. Why would Robbie’s management want to know the shop’s margin of safety?

Calculating breakeven point for two products, margin of safety, andoperating leverage

The contribution margin income statement of Delectable Donuts for May 2018follows:

DELECTABLE DONUTS

Contribution Margin Income Statement

Month Ended May 31, 2018

Net Sales Revenue

\(125,000

Variable cost

Cost of goods sold

\)32,100

Selling cost

17,400

Administrative cost

500

\(50,000

Contribution Margin

\)75,000

Fixed cost

Selling cost

\(37,800

Administrative cost

12,600

\)50,400

Operating income

\(24,600

Delectable sells five dozen plain donuts for every dozen custard-filled donuts. A dozenplain donuts sells for \)4.00, with a variable cost of \(1.60 per dozen. A dozen custardfilled donuts sells for \)8.00, with a variable cost of $3.20 per dozen.

Requirements

1. Calculate the weighted-average contribution margin.

2. Determine Delectable’s monthly breakeven point in dozens of plain donuts and custard-filled donuts. Prove your answer by preparing a summary contribution nmargin income statement at the breakeven level of sales. Show only two categories of costs: variable and fixed.

3. Compute Delectable’s margin of safety in dollars for May 2018.

4. Compute the degree of operating leverage for Delectable Donuts. Estimate thenew operating income if total sales increase by 20%. (Round the degree of operating leverage to four decimal places and the final answer to the nearest dollar.Assume the sales mix remains unchanged.)

5. Prove your answer to Requirement 4 by preparing a contribution marginincome statement with a 20% increase in total sales. (The sales mix remainsunchanged.)

Calculating contribution margin ratio, preparing contribution margin income statements For its top managers, Worldwide Travel formats its income statement as follows:

Worldwide’s relevant range is between sales of \(253,000 and \)368,000. Requirements

1. Calculate the contribution margin ratio.

2. Prepare two contribution margin income statements: one at the \(253,000 sales level and one at the \)368,000 sales level. (Hint: The proportion of each sales dollar that goes toward variable costs is constant within the relevant range.)

What are the CVP assumptions?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.