/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q42PGB The budgets of four companies yi... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

The budgets of four companies yield the following information:

Company

Blue Red Green Yellow

Net Sales Revenue \( 1,900,000 \) (d) \( 1,500,000 \) (j) Variable Costs (a) 47,250 1,050,000 256,200 Fixed Costs (b) 168,000 159,000 (k) Operating Income (Loss) 298,500 (e) (g) 97,800

Units Sold 190,000 9,000 (h) (l) Contribution Margin per Unit \( 3.00 \) (f) \( 75.00 \) 18.00

Contribution Margin Ratio (c) 80% (i) 30%

Requirements

1. Fill in the blanks for each missing value. (Round the contribution margin per unit to the nearest cent.)

2. Which company has the lowest breakeven point in sales dollars?

3. What causes the low breakeven point?

Short Answer

Expert verified

(1) (a) $1,330,000

(b) 271,500

(c) 30%

(d) $236,250

(e) $21,000

(f) $21

(g) $291,000

(h) 6,000

(i) 30%

(j) $366,000

(k) $12,000

(l) 6,100

(2)Yellow has the lowest breakeven point that is $40,000.

(3) Low contribution margin ratio and sales.

Step by step solution

01

Calculation of (a), (b), (c) 

Net sales revenue

$1,900,000

Variable costs ($1,900,000 / 190,000)-$3 ) x 190,000

(a)$1,330,000

Fixed costs ($1,900,000 - $1,330,000-$298,500)

(b)$271,500

Operating income (Loss)

$298,500

Units sold

190,000

Contribution margin per unit

$3

Contribution margin ratio ($3 / ($1,900,000 / 190,000)

(c)30%

02

Calculation of (d), (e), (f)

Net sales revenue ($47,250 / (1-80%))

(d)$236,250

Variable costs

$47,250

Fixed costs

$168,000

Operating income (Loss) ($236,250 -$47,250-$168,000)

(e) $21,000

Units sold

9,000

Contribution margin per unit ($236,250/9,000) x 80%

(f)$21

Contribution margin ratio

80%

03

Calculation of (g), (h), (i) 

Net sales revenue

$1,500,000

Variable costs

$1,050,000

Fixed costs

$159,000

Operating income (Loss) ($1,500,000-$1,050,000-$159,000)

(g) $291,000

Units sold ($1,500,000-$1,050,000) / 75

(h) 6,000

Contribution margin per unit

$75

Contribution margin ratio

(i)30%

04

Calculation of (j), (k), (l) 

Net sales revenue ($256,200 / (1-30%)

(j)$366,000

Variable costs

$256,200

Fixed costs ($366,000 - $256,200 - $97,800)

(k)$12,000

Operating income (Loss)

$97,800

Units sold ($366,000 - $256,200) / $18

(l)6,100

Contribution margin per unit

$18

Contribution margin ratio

30%

05

Calculation of breakeven sales in dollars

Breakevensales(Blue)=FixedcostsContributionmarginratio=$271,50030%=$905,000

Breakevensales(Red)=FixedcostsContributionmarginratio=$168,00080%=$210,000

Breakevensales(Green)=FixedcostsContributionmarginratio=$159,00030%=$530,000

Breakevensales(Yellow)=FixedcostsContributionmarginratio=$12,00030%=$40,000

06

Cause of low breakeven point 

Low contribution margin causes the low breakeven point. Yellow has the lowest contribution margin ratio that is why it has the lowest breakeven point.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Use the following information to complete Short Exercises S20-10 through S20-15.

Funday Park competes with Cool World by providing a variety of rides. Funday Park sells tickets at \(70 per person as a one-day entrance fee. Variable costs are \)42 per person, and fixed costs are $170,800 per month.

S20-14 Computing margin of safety

Refer to the original information (ignoring the changes considered in Short Exercises S20-12 and S20-13). If Funday Park expects to sell 8,100 tickets, compute the margin of safety in tickets and in sales dollars.

Scotty’s Scooters plans to sell a standard scooter for \(55 and a chrome scooter for \)70. Scotty’s purchases the standard scooter for \(30 and the chrome scooter for \)40. Scotty’s expects to sell one standard scooter for every three chrome scooters. Scotty’s monthly fixed costs are \(23,000.

Requirements

1. How many of each type of scooter must Scotty’s Scooters sell each month to break even?

2. How many of each type of scooter must Scotty’s Scooters sell each month to earn \)25,300?

3. Suppose Scotty’s expectation to sell one standard scooter for every three chrome scooters was incorrect and for every four scooters sold two are standard scooters and two are chrome scooters. Will the breakeven point of total scooters increase or decrease? Why? (Calculation not required.)

Calculating breakeven sales and sales to earn a target profit;preparing a contribution margin income statement

Famous Productions performs London shows. The average show sells 1,000 ticketsat \(60 per ticket. There are 175 shows a year. No additional shows can be held as thetheater is also used by other production companies. The average show has a cast of60, each earning a net average of \)320 per show. The cast is paid after each show. Theother variable cost is a program-printing cost of \(8 per guest. Annual fixed costs total\)459,200.

Requirements

1. Compute revenue and variable costs for each show.

2. Use the equation approach to compute the number of shows Famous Productionsmust perform each year to break even.

3. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to compute the number of showsneeded each year to earn a profit of $4,264,000. Is this profit goal realistic? Giveyour reasoning.

4. Prepare Famous Productions’s contribution margin income statement for 175shows performed in 2018. Report only two categories of costs: variable andfixed.

On the CVP graph, where is the breakeven point shown? Why?

Preparing a contribution margin income statement

Gabelman Company sells a product for \(95 per unit. Variable costs are \)40 per unit, and fixed costs are $2,200 per month. The company expects to sell 570 units in September. Prepare an income statement for September using the contribution margin format

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.