/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q44PGB White Company sells flags with t... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

White Company sells flags with team logos. White has fixed costs of \(639,600 per year plus variable costs of \)4.20 per flag. Each flag sells for \(12.00.

Requirements

1. Use the equation approach to compute the number of flags White must sell each year to break even.

2. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to compute the dollar sales White needs to earn \)32,500 in operating income for 2018. (Round the contribution margin to two decimal places.)

3. Prepare White’s contribution margin income statement for the year ended December 31, 2018, for sales of 73,000 flags. (Round your final answers up to the next whole number.)

4. The company is considering an expansion that will increase fixed costs by 23% and variable costs by $0.60 per flag. Compute the new breakeven point in units and in dollars. Should White undertake the expansion? Give your reasoning. (Round your final answers up to the next whole number.)

Short Answer

Expert verified
  1. Breakeven units equals 82,000 Units
  2. Desired sales level to earn $32,500 operating income equals $1,034,000
  3. Operating loss equals ($70,200)
  4. New breakeven in units equals 109,265 units and in dollars equals $1,311,180. Expansion can be undertaken if expected sales increases beyond breakeven level.

Step by step solution

01

Computation of number of flags for breakeven 

Netsalesrevenue-Variablecosts-Fixedcosts=Targetprofit$12×Unitssold-$4.20×Unitssold-$639,600=$0$7.8×Unitssold=$639,600Unitssold=82,000

02

Contribution margin approach

Contributionmarginratio=ContributionmarginSalesperunit=$12-$4.20$12=65%

Desired sales level for target profit=Fixedcost+TargetprofitContributionmarginratio=$639,600+$32,50065%=$1,034,000

03

 Step 3: Contribution margin income statement

Net sales revenue (73,000 x $12)

$876,000

Variable costs (73,000 x $4.20)

$306,600

Contribution margin

$569,400

Fixed cost

$639,600

Operating income/(Loss)

($70,200)

04

Calculation of new breakeven in units and sales

Breakevensalesin units=FixedcostContributionmarginperunit=$639,600×1+23%$12-$4.20+$0.60=109,265Units

Contributionmarginratio=ContributionmarginSalesperunit=$12-$4.20+$0.60$12=60%

Breakevensales=FixedcostContributionmarginratio=$639,600×1+23%60%=$1,311,180

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

What is a variable cost? Give an example.

England Productions performs London shows. The average show sells 1,300 tickets at\(60 per ticket. There are 175 shows per year. No additional shows can be held as thetheater is also used by other production companies. The average show has a cast of65, each earning a net average of \)340 per show. The cast is paid after each show. Theother variable cost is a program-printing cost of \(8 per guest. Annual fixed costs total\)728,000.

Requirements

1. Compute revenue and variable costs for each show.

2. Use the equation approach to compute the number of shows England Productionsmust perform each year to break even.

3. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to compute the number of showsneeded each year to earn a profit of $5,687,500. Is this profit goal realistic? Giveyour reasoning.

4. Prepare England Productions’s contribution margin income statement for175 shows performed in 2018. Report only two categories of costs: variableand fixed.

Question: Of the three approaches to calculate sales required to achieve the breakeven point, which one(s) calculate the required sales in units and which one(s) calculate the required sales in dollars?

Calculating breakeven point for two products, margin of safety, andoperating leverage

The contribution margin income statement of Delectable Donuts for May 2018follows:

DELECTABLE DONUTS

Contribution Margin Income Statement

Month Ended May 31, 2018

Net Sales Revenue

\(125,000

Variable cost

Cost of goods sold

\)32,100

Selling cost

17,400

Administrative cost

500

\(50,000

Contribution Margin

\)75,000

Fixed cost

Selling cost

\(37,800

Administrative cost

12,600

\)50,400

Operating income

\(24,600

Delectable sells five dozen plain donuts for every dozen custard-filled donuts. A dozenplain donuts sells for \)4.00, with a variable cost of \(1.60 per dozen. A dozen custardfilled donuts sells for \)8.00, with a variable cost of $3.20 per dozen.

Requirements

1. Calculate the weighted-average contribution margin.

2. Determine Delectable’s monthly breakeven point in dozens of plain donuts and custard-filled donuts. Prove your answer by preparing a summary contribution nmargin income statement at the breakeven level of sales. Show only two categories of costs: variable and fixed.

3. Compute Delectable’s margin of safety in dollars for May 2018.

4. Compute the degree of operating leverage for Delectable Donuts. Estimate thenew operating income if total sales increase by 20%. (Round the degree of operating leverage to four decimal places and the final answer to the nearest dollar.Assume the sales mix remains unchanged.)

5. Prove your answer to Requirement 4 by preparing a contribution marginincome statement with a 20% increase in total sales. (The sales mix remainsunchanged.)

What is cost-volume-profit analysis?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.