/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 17SE Use the following information to... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Use the following information to complete Short Exercises S20-16 and S20-17.

Wild Waters Swim Park sells individual and family tickets. With a ticket, each person receives a meal, three beverages, and unlimited use of the swimming pools. Wild Waters has the following ticket prices and variable costs for 2018:

Individual Family Sales price per ticket \( 50 \) 150 Variable cost per ticket 35 140

Wild Waters expects to sell one individual ticket for every four family tickets. Wild Waters’s total fixed costs are $27,500.

S20-17 Calculating breakeven point for two products

For 2019, Wild Waters expects a sales mix of four individual tickets for every one family ticket.

Requirements

1. Compute the new weighted-average contribution margin per ticket.

2. Calculate the total number of tickets Wild Waters must sell to break even.

3. Calculate the number of individual tickets and the number of family tickets the company must sell to break even.

Short Answer

Expert verified
  1. The weighted average contribution margin per unit is$ 14
  2. The breakeven number of tickets are 1,965
  3. The company must sell 1,572 individual tickets and 393 family tickets.

Step by step solution

01

Computation of the weighted-average contribution margin per ticket

Individual

Family

Total

Sales price per unit

$50

$150

Variable cost per unit

$35

$140

Contribution margin per unit

$15

$10

Sales mix in units

x 4 tickets

x 1 ticket

5 tickets

Contribution margin

$60

$10

$70

Weighted-average contribution margin per unit ($55/5 tickets)

$14

02

Calculation of total number of tickets Wild Waters must sell to break even

Breakeventickets=FixedcostWeightedaveragecontributionmarginperunit=$27,500$14=1,965tickets

03

Calculation of breakeven sales of individual tickets and family tickets

Particulars

Amount

Breakeven sales of individual tickets

1,965ticketsx4/5=1,572tickets

Breakeven sales of family tickets

1,965ticketsx1/5=393tickets

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Question: This problem continues the Piedmont Computer Company situation from Chapter 19. Piedmont Computer Company manufactures personal computers and tablets. Based on the latest information from the cost accountant, using the current sales mix, the weighted-average sales price per unit is \(750 and the weighed-average variable cost per unit is \)450. The company does not expect the sales mix to vary for the next year. Average fixed costs per month are \(156,000.

Requirements

1. What is the number of units that must be sold each month to reach the breakeven point?

2. If the company currently sells 945 units per month, what is the margin of safety in units and dollars?

3. If Piedmont Computer Company desires to make a profit of \)15,000 per month, how many units must be sold?

4. Piedmont Computer Company thinks it can restructure some costs so that fixed costs will be reduced to \(90,000 per month, but the weighted-average variable cost per unit will increase to \)525 per unit. What is the new breakeven point in units? Does this increase or decrease the margin of safety? Why or why not?

White Company sells flags with team logos. White has fixed costs of \(639,600 per year plus variable costs of \)4.20 per flag. Each flag sells for \(12.00.

Requirements

1. Use the equation approach to compute the number of flags White must sell each year to break even.

2. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to compute the dollar sales White needs to earn \)32,500 in operating income for 2018. (Round the contribution margin to two decimal places.)

3. Prepare White’s contribution margin income statement for the year ended December 31, 2018, for sales of 73,000 flags. (Round your final answers up to the next whole number.)

4. The company is considering an expansion that will increase fixed costs by 23% and variable costs by $0.60 per flag. Compute the new breakeven point in units and in dollars. Should White undertake the expansion? Give your reasoning. (Round your final answers up to the next whole number.)

How does a contribution margin income statement differ from a traditional income statement?

Use the following information to complete Short Exercises S20-10 through S20-15.

Funday Park competes with Cool World by providing a variety of rides. Funday Park sells tickets at \(70 per person as a one-day entrance fee. Variable costs are \)42 per person, and fixed costs are \(170,800 per month.

Refer to the original information (ignoring the changes considered in Short Exercise S20-12). Suppose Funday Park increases fixed costs from \)170,800 per month to $231,000 per month. Compute the new breakeven point in tickets and in sales dollars.

What is a fixed cost? Give an example.

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.