/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 15SE Use the following information to... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Use the following information to complete Short Exercises S20-10 through S20-15.

Funday Park competes with Cool World by providing a variety of rides. Funday Park sells tickets at \(70 per person as a one-day entrance fee. Variable costs are \)42 per person, and fixed costs are $170,800 per month.

S20-15 Computing degree of operating leverage

Refer to the original information (ignoring the changes considered in Short Exercises S20-12 and S20-13). If Funday Park expects to sell 8,100 tickets, compute the degree of operating leverage (round to two decimal places). Estimate the operating income if sales increase by 15%.

Short Answer

Expert verified

The degree of operating leverage is 4.05.

Step by step solution

01

Calculation of Contribution margin

Contributionmargin=Salesprice–Variablecost=$70-$42=$28

02

Calculation of degree of Operating leverage

Degreeofoperatingleverage=ContributionmarginOperatingincome=$28×8,100$28×8,100-$170,800=$226,800$56,000=4.05

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Analyzing a cost-volume-profit graph

Nolan Rouse is considering starting a Web-based educational business, e-Prep MBA. He plans to offer a short-course review of accounting for students entering MBA programs. The materials would be available on a password-protected Web site; students would complete the course through self-study. Rouse would have to grade the course assignments, but most of the work would be in developing the course materials, setting up the site, and marketing. Unfortunately, Rouse’s hard drive crashed before he finished his financial analysis. However, he did recover the following partial CVP chart:

Requirements

1. Label each axis, the sales revenue line, the total costs line, the fixed costs line, the operating income area, and the breakeven point.

2. If Rouse attracts 300 students to take the course, will the venture be profitable? Explain your answer.

3. What are the breakeven sales in students and dollars?

Preparing a contribution margin income statement

Gabelman Company sells a product for \(95 per unit. Variable costs are \)40 per unit, and fixed costs are $2,200 per month. The company expects to sell 570 units in September. Prepare an income statement for September using the contribution margin format

A furniture manufacturer specializes in wood tables. The tables sell for \(100 per unit and incur \)40 per unit in variable costs. The company has $6,000 in fixed costs per month.

6. Prepare a contribution margin income statement for one month if the company sells 200 tables.

7. What is the total contribution margin for the month when the company sells 200 tables?

8. What is the unit contribution margin?

9. What is the contribution margin ratio?

Question: What is target profit?

What is a variable cost? Give an example.

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.