/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q29E Question: Gilbert’s Steel Part... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Question: Gilbert’s Steel Parts produces parts for the automobile industry. Thecompany has monthly fixed costs of \(640,220 and a contribution margin of85% of revenues.

Requirements

1. Compute Gilbert’s monthly breakeven sales in dollars. Use the contributionmargin ratio approach.

2. Use contribution margin income statements to compute Gilbert’s monthlyoperating income or operating loss if revenues are \)500,000 and if they are$1,050,000.

3. Do the results in Requirement 2 make sense given the breakeven sales youcomputed in Requirement 1? Explain.

Short Answer

Expert verified

Answer

1. Breakeven sales is $753,200

2. The operating income/(Loss) at $500,000 sales level is ($215,220) and$252,280 at $1,050,000 sales.

3. Yes, it is relatable.

Step by step solution

01

Calculation of breakeven sales in dollars

Breakevensalesindollars=fixedcosttContributionmarginratio=$640,22085%=$753,200

02

Contribution margin income statement


When sales is
When sales is

$500,000
$1,050,000
Sales
$500,000
$1,050,000
(-) Variable cost (15% of sales)
($75,000)
$1,050,000
Contribution Margin (85% of Sales)
$425,000
$892,500
(-) Fixed cost
($640,220)
($640,220)
Operating income/ (Loss)
($215,220)
$252,280
03

Analysis

Yes, the results in requirement 2 does make sense given the breakeven sales of $753,200 in requirement 1 as it indicates sales below breakeven level is not profitable.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

England Productions performs London shows. The average show sells 1,300 tickets at\(60 per ticket. There are 175 shows per year. No additional shows can be held as thetheater is also used by other production companies. The average show has a cast of65, each earning a net average of \)340 per show. The cast is paid after each show. Theother variable cost is a program-printing cost of \(8 per guest. Annual fixed costs total\)728,000.

Requirements

1. Compute revenue and variable costs for each show.

2. Use the equation approach to compute the number of shows England Productionsmust perform each year to break even.

3. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to compute the number of showsneeded each year to earn a profit of $5,687,500. Is this profit goal realistic? Giveyour reasoning.

4. Prepare England Productions’s contribution margin income statement for175 shows performed in 2018. Report only two categories of costs: variableand fixed.

You have just begun your summer internship at Omni Instruments. The company supplies sterilized surgical instruments for physicians. To expand sales, Omni is considering paying a commission to its sales force. The controller, Matthew Barnhill, asks you to compute: (1) the new breakeven sales figure, and (2) the operating profit if sales increase 15% under the new sales commission plan. He thinks you can handle this task because you learned CVP analysis in your accounting class.

You spend the next day collecting information from the accounting records, performing the analysis, and writing a memo to explain the results. The company president is pleased with your memo. You report that the new sales commission plan will lead to a significant increase in operating income and only a small increase in breakeven sales.

The following week, you realize that you made an error in the CVP analysis. You overlooked the sales personnel’s $2,800 monthly salaries, and you did not include this fixed selling cost in your computations. You are not sure what to do. If you tell Matthew Barnhill of your mistake, he will have to tell the president. In this case, you are afraid Omni might not offer you permanent employment after your internship.

Requirements

1. How would your error affect breakeven sales and operating income under the proposed sales commission plan? Could this cause the president to reject the sales commission proposal?

2. Consider your ethical responsibilities. Is there a difference between (a) initially making an error and (b) subsequently failing to inform the controller?

3. Suppose you tell Matthew Barnhill of the error in your analysis. Why might the consequences not be as bad as you fear? Should Barnhill take any responsibility for your error? What could Barnhill have done differently?

4. After considering all the factors, should you inform Barnhill or simply keep quiet?

Use the following information to complete Short Exercises S20-16 and S20-17.

Wild Waters Swim Park sells individual and family tickets. With a ticket, each person receives a meal, three beverages, and unlimited use of the swimming pools. Wild Waters has the following ticket prices and variable costs for 2018:

Individual Family Sales price per ticket \( 50 \) 150 Variable cost per ticket 35 140

Wild Waters expects to sell one individual ticket for every four family tickets. Wild Waters’s total fixed costs are $27,500.

S20-16 Calculating breakeven point for two products

Using the Wild Waters Swim Park information presented, do the following tasks.

Requirements

1. Compute the weighted-average contribution margin per ticket.

2. Calculate the total number of tickets Wild Waters must sell to break even.

3. Calculate the number of individual tickets and the number of family tickets the company must sell to break even.

What is the breakeven point?

Question: This problem continues the Piedmont Computer Company situation from Chapter 19. Piedmont Computer Company manufactures personal computers and tablets. Based on the latest information from the cost accountant, using the current sales mix, the weighted-average sales price per unit is \(750 and the weighed-average variable cost per unit is \)450. The company does not expect the sales mix to vary for the next year. Average fixed costs per month are \(156,000.

Requirements

1. What is the number of units that must be sold each month to reach the breakeven point?

2. If the company currently sells 945 units per month, what is the margin of safety in units and dollars?

3. If Piedmont Computer Company desires to make a profit of \)15,000 per month, how many units must be sold?

4. Piedmont Computer Company thinks it can restructure some costs so that fixed costs will be reduced to \(90,000 per month, but the weighted-average variable cost per unit will increase to \)525 per unit. What is the new breakeven point in units? Does this increase or decrease the margin of safety? Why or why not?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.