/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q6SE Calculating breakeven point in u... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Calculating breakeven point in units, contribution margin given Mackler, Inc. sells a product with a contribution margin of \(50 per unit. Fixed costs are \)8000 per month. How many units must Mackler sell to break even?

Short Answer

Expert verified

Mackler, Inc. has to sell 1600 units to achieve a breakeven point.

Step by step solution

01

Definition of breakeven point

A breakeven point is a no-profit and no loss point. It consists of all the variable costs and fixed costs. Total revenue is equal to the total cost. Three methods to calculatethe breakeven point.

The formula for the breakeven point for the above question is Fixed cost /Contribution

02

Calculation of breakeven point

The contribution margin is $50 and the fixed cost is $80,000.

Breakevenpoint=fixedcostcontribution=80,00050=1,600Units

Mackler, Inc. has to sell 1600 units to achieve a breakeven point.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Using terminology Match the following terms with the correct definitions:

1. Costs that do not change in total over wide ranges of volume.

2. Technique that estimates profit or loss results when conditions change.

3. The sales level at which operating income is zero.

4. Drop in sales a company can absorb without incurring an operating loss.

5. Combination of products that make up total sales.

6. Net sales revenue minus variable costs.

7. Describes how a cost changes as volume changes.

8. Costs that change in total in direct proportion to changes in volume.

9. The band of volume where total fixed costs and variable cost per unit remain constant.

a. Breakeven point

b. Contribution margin

c. Cost behavior

d. Margin of safety

e. Relevant range

f. Sales mix

g. Fixed costs

h. Variable costs

i. Sensitivity analysis

Use the following information to complete Short Exercises S20-16 and S20-17.

Wild Waters Swim Park sells individual and family tickets. With a ticket, each person receives a meal, three beverages, and unlimited use of the swimming pools. Wild Waters has the following ticket prices and variable costs for 2018:

Individual Family Sales price per ticket \( 50 \) 150 Variable cost per ticket 35 140

Wild Waters expects to sell one individual ticket for every four family tickets. Wild Waters’s total fixed costs are $27,500.

S20-16 Calculating breakeven point for two products

Using the Wild Waters Swim Park information presented, do the following tasks.

Requirements

1. Compute the weighted-average contribution margin per ticket.

2. Calculate the total number of tickets Wild Waters must sell to break even.

3. Calculate the number of individual tickets and the number of family tickets the company must sell to break even.

Use the following information to complete Short Exercises S20-10 through S20-15.

Funday Park competes with Cool World by providing a variety of rides. Funday Park sells tickets at \(70 per person as a one-day entrance fee. Variable costs are \)42 per person, and fixed costs are $170,800 per month.

S20-15 Computing degree of operating leverage

Refer to the original information (ignoring the changes considered in Short Exercises S20-12 and S20-13). If Funday Park expects to sell 8,100 tickets, compute the degree of operating leverage (round to two decimal places). Estimate the operating income if sales increase by 15%.

What effect does an increase in sales price have on contribution margin? An increase in fixed costs? An increase in variable costs?

The contribution margin income statement of Sugar Lips Donuts for August 2018 follows:

Sugar Lips sells three dozen plain donuts for every dozen custard-filled donuts. A dozen plain donuts sells for \(4.00, with total variable cost of \)1.80 per dozen. A dozen custard-filled donuts sells for \(8.00, with total variable cost of \)3.60 per dozen.

Requirements

1. Calculate the weighted-average contribution margin.

2. Determine Sugar Lips’s monthly breakeven point in dozens of plain donuts and custard-filled donuts. Prove your answer by preparing a summary contribution margin income statement at the breakeven level of sales. Show only two categories of costs: variable and fixed.

3. Compute Sugar Lips’s margin of safety in dollars for August 2018.

4. Compute the degree of operating leverage for Sugar Lips Donuts. Estimate the new operating income if total sales increase by 30%. (Round the degree of operating leverage to four decimal places and the final answer to the nearest dollar. Assume the sales mix remains unchanged.)

5. Prove your answer to Requirement 4 by preparing a contribution margin income statement with a 30% increase in total sales. (The sales mix remains unchanged.)

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.