/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q32PGB Preparing variable and absorptio... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Preparing variable and absorption costing income statements

Claudia’s Foods produces frozen meals that it sells for \(11 each. The company computes a new monthly fixed manufacturing overhead allocation rate based on the planned number of meals to be produced that month. Assume all costs and production levels are exactly as planned. The following data are from Linda’s Foods’s first month in business:

January 2018 Units produced and sold: Sales 850 meals Production 1,050 meals Variable manufacturing cost per meal \) 5Sales commission cost per meal 1 Total fixed manufacturing overhead 315Total fixed selling and administrative costs 450 Requirements

1. Compute the product cost per meal produced under absorption costing and under variable costing.

2. Prepare income statements for January 2018 using: a. absorption costing. b. variable costing.

3. Is operating income higher under absorption costing or variable costing in January?

Short Answer

Expert verified
  1. Total unit product cost is $5.30 and $5under absorption and variable costing respectively.
  2. Contribution margin is $3,545 and gross profit is $3,485.
  3. In January operating income is higher under absorption costing.

Step by step solution

01

Calculation of unit product cost using variable and absorption costing

Particulars

Absorption costing

Variable Costing

Variable manufacturing overhead

$5

$5

Fixed manufacturing overhead ($315/1,050)

$0.30

-

Total unit product cost

$5.30

$5

02

Income statement absorption costing format 

Particulars

Absorption Costing

Net sales revenue ($11x850)

$9,350

Less: Cost of goods sold ($5.30x850)

$4,505

Gross profit

$4,845

Variable selling and administrative cost ($1x850)

$850

Fixed selling and administrative cost

$450

Operating Income

$3,545

03

Income statement variable costing format

Particulars

Variable Costing

Net sales revenue ($11x850)

$9,350

Less: Cost of goods sold

Variable cost of goods sold ($5x850)

$4,250

Variable selling and administrative cost ($1x850)

$850

Contribution margin

$4,250

Less: Fixed costs

Fixed costs of goods sold

$315

Fixed selling and administrative cost

$450

Operating Income

$3,485

04

Profitability Analysis

Operating income is higher under absorption costing.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Using variable costing, service company Sherman Company provides carpet cleaning services to commercial and residential customers. Using the data below, determine the contribution margin ratio for each business segment, rounded to two decimal places:

Calculating gross profit and operating income, absorption costing Calculate the gross profit and operating income for June using absorption costing

Use the following information for Short Exercises S21-4 and S21-5.

Dracut Company reports the following information for June:

Net Sales Revenue $ 755,000 Variable Cost of Goods Sold 240,000 Fixed Cost of Goods Sold 198,000 Variable Selling and Administrative Costs 168,000 Fixed Selling and Administrative Costs 79,000

Using absorption and variable costing

Meyer Company reports the following information for March:

Net Sales Revenue $ 45,300

Variable Cost of Goods Sold 12,500

Fixed Cost of Goods Sold 11,800

Variable Selling and Administrative Costs 14,000

Fixed Selling and Administrative Costs 5,400

Requirements:

  1. Calculate the gross profit and operating income for March using absorption costing.
  2. Calculate the contribution margin and operating income for March using variable costing.

Question: Using variable costing, service company

Divine Pool Cleaning Service provides pool cleaning services to residential customers. The company has three employees, each assigned to specific customers. The company considers each employee’s territory as a business segment. The company incurs variable costs that include the employees’ wages, pool chemicals, and gas for the service vans. Fixed costs include depreciation on the service vans. Following is the income statement for the month of August:

Requirements

1. Calculate the contribution margin ratio for each business segment.

2. The business segments had the following number of customers: Byson, 80; Moore, 50; and Freeman, 110. Compute the service revenue per customer, variable cost per customer, and contribution margin per customer for each business segment.

3. Which business segment was most profitable? List some possible reasons why this segment was most profitable. How might the various reasons affect the company in the long term?

Question: The Hurley Hat Company manufactures baseball hats. Hurley’s primary customers are sporting goods stores that supply uniforms to youth baseball teams. Following is Hurley’s income statement for 2018:

In 2018, Hurley produced and sold 200,000 baseball hats. Of the Cost of Goods Sold, \(150,000 is fixed; 80% of the Selling and Administrative Expenses are fixed. There were no beginning inventories on January 1, 2018. The company is considering two options to increase sales.

Option 1: The company is operating at 100,000 hats below full production capacity and is considering increasing advertising to increase sales to the production capacity level in 2019. The marketing director predicts that an additional \)100,000 expenditure for advertising would increase sales to 300,000 hats per year.

Option 2: The sales manager has been negotiating with buyers for several national sporting goods retailers and recommends the company expand production capacity to 400,000 hats in order to secure long-term contracts beginning in 2019. The expansion is expected to increase fixed manufacturing costs by \(200,000 per year. Additionally, the retailers are requesting a higher-quality hat, and the changes to the hat materials and manufacturing process would increase variable manufacturing costs by \)1 per hat for the additional 200,000 hats. (The original 200,000 hats manufactured and sold would not be affected by this change.)

Requirements

1. Use the data from the 2018 income statement to prepare an income statement using variable costing. Assume no beginning or ending inventories. Calculate the contribution margin ratio. Round to two decimal places.

2. Prepare an absorption costing income statement assuming the company pursues Option 1 and increases advertising and production and sales increase to 300,000 hats.

3. Refer to the original data. Prepare an absorption costing income statement assuming the company pursues Option 2 and increases capacity and sales and production increases to 400,000 total hats.

4. Which option should the company pursue? Explain your reasoning.

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.