/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q31PGA Using variable costing, service ... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Using variable costing, service company

Professional Pool Cleaning Service provides pool cleaning services to residential customers. The company has three employees, each assigned to specific customers. The company considers each employee’s territory as a business segment. The company incurs variable costs that include the employees’ wages, pool chemicals, and gas for the service vans. Fixed costs include depreciation on the service vans. Following is the income statement for the month of July:

Requirements

  1. Calculate the contribution margin ratio for each business segment.
  2. The business segments had the following numbers of customers: Birman, 60; Meech, 70; and Frond, 40. Compute the service revenue per customer, variable cost per customer, and contribution margin per customer for each business segment.
  3. Which business segment was most profitable? List some possible reasons why this segment was most profitable. How might the various reasons affect the company in the long term?

Short Answer

Expert verified
  1. The Contribution Margin ratio for Birman, Meech, and Frond is 50%, 30%, and 40%.
  2. Service revenue per customer for each business segment is $50.Variable cost per customer for Birman, Meech, and Frond is $25, $35, and $30 respectively.The contribution margin per customerfor Birman, Meech, and Frond is $25, $15, and $20.
  1. Birman's business segment is most profitable because of its lower variable cost. It may affect the organization in both positive or negative manner depending on the reason of low variable cost.

Step by step solution

01

Calculation of the contribution margin ratio for each business segment (1) 

Particulars

Birman

Meech

Frond

Service revenue

$3,000

$3,500

$2,000

Variable cost

$1,500

$2,450

$1,200

Contribution Margin

$1,500

$1,050

$800

Contribution margin ratio

50%

30%

40%

02

Calculation of average service revenue per customer, average variable cost per customer, and, average contribution margin per customer.(2) 

Particulars

Birman

Meech

Frond

Service revenue

$3,000/60 =$50

$3,500/70 =$50

$2,000/40 =$50

Variable cost

$1,500/60 =$25

$2,450/70 =$35

$1,200/40 =$30

Contribution Margin

$1,500/60 =$25

$1,050/70 =$15

$800/40

=$20

03

Profitability analysis (3)

Birman is the most profitable business segment because it has the highest contribution margin. It is the most profitable segment because it has the lowest variable cost per unit.The lowest variable cost may be because of low wages, poor quality of chemicals used for cleaning, etc. This leads to high employee turnover and dissatisfied customers which cause both financial and reputational loss. If it is because of efficient utilization of resources whether it's human resources or others it leads to high profitability.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Computing inventory balances

Zeng Company reports the following data:

Finished Goods Inventory:

Beginning balance, in units 300 Units

Produced 2,900

Units sold (1,600)

Ending balance, in units 1,600

Production Costs: Variable manufacturing costs per unit $ 57

Total fixed manufacturing costs 26,100

Calculate the product cost per unit and the total cost of the 1,600 units in ending inventory using absorption costing and variable costing.

: Analyzing profitability Refer to Exercise E21-22. Assume the sales mix shifted to 50% for each product. Calculate the total amount each product contributed to the coverage of fixed costs and the total contribution margin for the company.

Question: Analyzing profitability Sampler Company sells two products, Sigma and Zeta, with a sales mix of 70% and 30%, respectively. Sigma has a contribution margin per unit of \(26, and Zeta has a contribution margin per unit of \)21. The company sold 700 total units in September. Calculate the total amount each product contributed to the coverage of fixed costs and the total contribution margin for the company.

Analyzing profitability analysis, service company Burlington Internet Services is an Internet service provider for commercial and residential customers. The company provided the following data for its two types of customers for the month of August:

For each type of customer, determine both the contribution margin per customer and the contribution margin ratio. Round to two decimal places.

Which type of service is more profitable?

Explain how increasing production can increase gross profit when using absorption costing.

How do service companies differ from manufacturing companies?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.