/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q1DC Party-Time T-Shirts sells T-shir... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Party-Time T-Shirts sells T-shirts for parties at the local college. The company completed the first year of operations, and the shareholders are generally pleased with operating results as shown by the following income statement:

PARTY-TIME T-SHIRTS

Income Statement

Year Ended December 31, 2017

Net Sales Revenue \(350,000

Cost of Goods Sold 210,000

Gross Profit 140,000

Operating Expenses:

Selling Expense 40,000

Administrative Expense 25,000

Net Income \)75,000

Bill Hildebrand, the controller, is considering how to expand the business. He proposes two ways to increase profits to \(100,000 during 2018.

a. Hildebrand believes he should advertise more heavily. He believes additional advertising costing \)20,000 will increase net sales by 30% and leave administrative expense unchanged. Assume that Cost of Goods Sold will remain at the same percentage of net sales as in 2017, so if net sales increase in 2018, Cost of Goods Sold will increase proportionately.

b. Hildebrand proposes selling higher-margin merchandise, such as party dresses, in addition to the existing product line. An importer can supply a minimum of 1,000 dresses for \(40 each; Party-Time can mark these dresses up 100% and sell them for \)80. Hildebrand realizes he will have to advertise the new merchandise, and this advertising will cost $5,000. Party-Time can expect to sell only 80% of these dresses during the coming year.

Help Hildebrand determine which plan to pursue. Prepare a multi-step income statement for 2018 to show the expected net income under each plan.

Short Answer

Expert verified

The net income under plan a is$97,000.

The net income under plan b is$102,000.

Step by step solution

01

Types of Income Statement

The major purpose of drafting an income statement is to determine the profits generated or losses incurred by a business.Single-step and multi-step are two main forms of income statements; though both reflect the samenet income, the presentation of events differs in both formats.

02

Preparation of multi-step income statement under plan a

PARTY-TIME T-SHIRTS

Multi-step Income Statement

For the year ended 2018

Particulars

Amounts ($)

Net sales revenue (WN-1)

455,000

Less: Cost of goods sold (WN-2)

(273,000)

Gross profit

182,000

Less: Operating expenses

Selling expenses 40,000

Add: Advertising expense 20,000

(60,000)

Administrative expense

(25,000)

Net income

$97,000

Working Notes:

  1. Computation of net sales revenue:

Net sales increased by 30%, hence net sales for the year 2018 is:

Net sales revenue=Sales for 2017+30%of 2017's sale=$350,000+30100×$350,000=$455,000


2. Computation of cost of goods sold:

The cost of goods sold is computed as follows:

Cost of goods sold=Cost of goods sold for 2017Net sales revenue for 2017×100=$210,000$350,000×100=60%Hence, the cost of goods sold for 2018 is as follows:Cost of goods sold=Net sales of 2018×60%=$455,000×60100=$273,000

03

Preparation of multi-step income statement under plan b

PARTY-TIME T-SHIRTS

Multi-step Income Statement

For the year ended 2018

Particulars

Amounts ($)

Net sales revenue (WN-1)

414,000

Less: Cost of goods sold (WN-2)

(242,000)

Gross profit

172,000

Less: Operating expenses

Selling expenses 40,000

Add: Advertising expense 5,000

(45,000)

Administrative expenses

(25,000)

Net income

$102,000

Working Notes:

  1. Computation of net sales revenue:
New Sales revenue=Number of dresses×expected sales percentage×Selling price=1,000×80%×$80=$64,000

Total net sales revenue for 2018= Sales revenue for 2017 + New sales revenue=$350,000+$64,000=$414,000

2. Computation of cost of goods sold:

Cost of new sales revenue=Number of dresses×Expected sales percentage×Cost per dress=1,000×80%×$40=$32,000


Total increase in cost of goods sold=Cost of goods sold for 2017 + New cost of goods sold=$210,000+$32,000=$242,000


Comment:The net income under plan b is more than plan a. Hence, the company should pursue with plan b.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

The records of Farm Quality Steak Company list the following selected accounts for the quarter ended April 30, 2018:

Interest Revenue \( 400 Accounts Payable \) 17,700

Merchandise Inventory 45,000 Accounts Receivable 38,200

Notes Payable, long-term 54,000 Accumulated Depreciation—Equipment 37,700

Salaries Payable 2,800 Common Stock 30,000

Net Sales Revenue 298,000 Retained Earnings 5,380

Rent Expense (Selling) 15,100 Dividends 25,000

Salaries Expense (Administrative) 2,000 Cash 7,100

Office Supplies 6,500 Cost of Goods Sold 154,960

Unearned Revenue 13,100 Equipment 132,000

Interest Expense 2,100 Interest Payable 1,700

Depreciation Expense—Equipment (Administrative) 1,320

Rent Expense (Administrative) 7,100

Utilities Expense (Administrative) 4,600 Salaries Expense (Selling) 6,000

Delivery Expense (Selling) 3,800 Utilities Expense (Selling) 10,000

Requirements

1. Prepare a single-step income statement.

2. Prepare a multi-step income statement.

3. M. Doherty, manager of the company, strives to earn a gross profit percentage of at least 50%. Did Farm Quality achieve this goal? Show your calculations

Journalize the following transactions that occurred in September 2018 for Cardinal. Assume Cardinal uses the gross method to record sales revenue. No explanations are needed. Identify each accounts payable and accounts receivable with the vendor or customer name.

Sep. 3 Purchased merchandise inventory on account from Sherry Wholesalers, \(4,000. Terms 1/15, n/EOM, FOB shipping point.

4 Paid freight bill of \)75 on September 3 purchase.

4 Purchased merchandise inventory for cash of \(1,900.

6 Returned \)1,100 of inventory from September 3 purchase.

8 Sold merchandise inventory to Houston Company, \(5,500, on account. Terms 3/15, n/35. Cost of goods, \)2,365.

9 Purchased merchandise inventory on account from Tarin Wholesalers, \(12,000. Terms 3/10, n/30, FOB destination.

10 Made payment to Sherry Wholesalers for goods purchased on September 3, less return and discount.

13 After negotiations, received a \)200 allowance from Tarin Wholesalers.

15 Sold merchandise inventory to Java Company, \(3,300, on account. Terms 2/10, n/EOM. Cost of goods, \)1,320.

22 Made payment, less allowance, to Tarin Wholesalers for goods purchased on September 9.

25 Sold merchandise inventory to Smecker for \(1,900 on account that cost \)722. Terms of 1/10, n/30 were offered, FOB shipping point. As a courtesy to Smecker, $85 of freight was added to the invoice for which cash was paid by Cardinal.

28 Received payment from Houston Company.

29 Received payment from Smecker, less discount.

30 Received payment from Java Company.

Describe the calculation of cost of goods sold when using the periodic inventory system.

The unadjusted trial balance for Trudel Electronics Company at March 31, 2018, follows:

TRUDEL ELECTRONICS COMPANY

Unadjusted Trial Balance

March 31, 2018

Balance

Account Title Debit Credit

Cash \(4,000

Accounts Receivable 38,800

Merchandise Inventory 45,500

Office Supplies 6,500

Equipment 130,000

Accumulated Depreciation-Equipment \)36,800

Accounts Payable 17,400

Unearned revenue 13,200

Notes Payable, long-term 48,000

Common Stock 60,000

Retained Earnings 100

Dividends 20,000

Sales Revenue 282,500

Cost of Goods Sold 160,600

Salaries Expense (Selling) 20,000

Rent Expense (Selling) 15,800

Salaries Expenses (Administrative) 5,700

Utilities Expenses (Administrative) 11,100

Total \(458,000 \)458,000

Requirements

1. Journalize the adjusting entries using the following data:

a. Interest revenue accrued, \(200.

b. Salaries (Selling) accrued, \)2,300.

c. Depreciation Expense—Equipment (Administrative), \(1,300.

d. Interest expense accrued, \)1,500.

e. A physical count of inventory was completed. The ending Merchandise Inventory should have a balance of \(45,200.

f. Trudel estimates that approximately \)6,000 of merchandise sold will be returned with a cost of $1,200.

2. Prepare Trudel Electronics’s adjusted trial balance as of March 31, 2018.

3. Prepare Trudel Electronics’s multi-step income statement for year ended March 31, 2018.

Clink Electric uses the periodic inventory system. Clink reported the following selected amounts at May 31, 2018:

Merchandise Inventory, June 1, 2017 \( 16,000 Freight In \) 6,000

Merchandise Inventory, May 31, 2018 21,500 Net Sales Revenue 138,000

Purchases 81,000 Common Stock 32,000

Purchase Discounts 3,000 Retained Earnings 17,000

Purchase Returns and Allowances 6,600

Compute the following for Clink:

a. Cost of goods sold.

b. Gross profit.

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.