/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q41PGB_2 Martin, Inc. manufactures bookca... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Martin, Inc. manufactures bookcases and uses an activity-based costing system. Martin’s activity areas and related data follow:

Activity

Budgeted Cost of Activity

Allocation Base

Predetermined Overhead Allocation Rate

Materials handling

\( 230,000

Number of parts

\)1.50

Assembly

3,200,000

Number of assembling direct labor hours

16.00

Finishing

150,000

Number of finished units*

3.00

*Refers to the number of units receiving the finishing activity, not the number of units transferred to Finished Goods Inventory

Martin produced two styles of bookcases in April: the standard bookcase and an unfinished bookcase, which has fewer parts and requires no finishing. The totals for quantities, direct materials costs, and other data follow:

Product

Total Units Produced

Total Direct materials Costs

Total Direct Labor Costs

Total Number of Parts

Total Assembling Direct Labor Hours

Standard bookcase

3,000

\(54,000

\)67,500

9,000

4,500

Unfinished bookcase

3,500

56,000

52,500

7,000

3,500

Requirements

2. Suppose that pre-manufacturing activities, such as product design, were assigned to the standard bookcases at \(5 each and to the unfinished bookcases at \)3 each. Similar analyses were conducted of post-manufacturing activities such as distribution, marketing, and customer service. The post-manufacturing costs were \(24 per standard bookcase and \)18 per unfinished bookcase. Compute the full product costs per unit.

Short Answer

Expert verified

Full product cost per unit

For standard bookcase: $101

For unfinished bookcase: $71

Step by step solution

01

Step-by-Step-SolutionStep 1: Computation of full product cost for standard bookcase

Manufacturing cost for standard bookcase computed in earlier part: $216,000

Productdesigncost=Costperunit×No.ofunitsproduced=$5×3,000=$15,000

Analysiscost=Costperunit×No.ofunitsproduced=$24×3,000=$72,000

Totalfullproductcost=Manufacturingcost+Productdesigncost+Analysiscost=$216,000+$15,000+$72,000=$303,000

Fullproductcostperunit=TotalfullproductcostNo.ofunitsproduced=$303,0003,000=$101

02

Computation of full product cost for unfinished bookcase

Manufacturing cost for unfinished bookcase computed in earlier part: $175,000

Productdesigncost=Costperunit×No.ofunitsproduced=$3×3,500=$10,500

Analysiscost=Costperunit×No.ofunitsproduced=$18×3,500=$63,000

Totalfullproductcost=Manufacturingcost+Productdesigncost+Analysiscost=$175,000+$10,500+$63,000=$248,500

Fullproductcostperunit=TotalfullproductcostNo.ofunitsproduced=$248,5003,500=$71

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Refer to Exercise E19-20. For 2019, Eason’s managers have decided to use the same indirect manufacturing costs per wheel rim that they computed in 2018 using activitybasedn costing. In addition to the unit indirect manufacturing costs, the following data are expected for the company’s standard and deluxe models for 2019:

Standard Deluxe

Sales price \( 800.00 \) 940.00

Direct materials 31.00 48.00

Direct labor 45.00 52.00

Because of limited machine hour capacity, Eason can produce either2,000 standard rims or2,000 deluxe rims.

Requirements

3. Which course of action will yield more income for Eason?

Refer to Exercise E19-20. For 2019, Eason’s managers have decided to use the same indirect manufacturing costs per wheel rim that they computed in 2018 using activity based n costing. In addition to the unit indirect manufacturing costs, the following data are expected for the company’s standard and deluxe models for 2019:

Standard Deluxe

Sales price \( 800.00 \) 940.00

Direct materials 31.00 48.00

Direct labor 45.00 52.00

Because of limited machine hour capacity, Eason can produce either2,000 standard rims or2,000 deluxe rims.

Requirements

2. If the managers rely on the single plantwide overhead allocation rate cost data, which model will they produce?

Goodwin, Inc. manufactures children’s sandals. Similar sandals manufactured by competitors sell for $12.50 per pair. Goodwin desires a 20% net profit margin. What is Goodwin’s target cost?

Rennie Plant Service completed a special landscaping job for Brenton Company. rennie uses ABC and has the following predetermined overhead allocation rates:

Activity Predetermined

Allocation Base Overhead Allocation Rate

Designing Number of designs \( 290 per design

Planting Number of plants \) 20 per plant

The Rennie job included \(1,500 in plants; \)800 in direct labor; one design; and 30 plants.

Requirements

2. If Brenton paid $3,690 for the job, what is the operating income or loss?

What are the inventory accounts used in JIT costing?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.