/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 19-3TI Goodwin, Inc. manufactures child... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Goodwin, Inc. manufactures children’s sandals. Similar sandals manufactured by competitors sell for $12.50 per pair. Goodwin desires a 20% net profit margin. What is Goodwin’s target cost?

Short Answer

Expert verified

Target Cost: $10

Step by step solution

01

Target cost

Target cost is the maximum production cost that a business needs to incur so that the targeted sales price can be charged.

Target cost can also be defined as the difference between the target sales price and desired profit.

02

Computation of target cost

Target Sales Price: $12.50

Desired Net profit margin: 20%

Desirednetprofit=Tragetsalesprice×Desirednetprofitpercent=$12.50×20100=$2.5TargetCost=TargetSalesprice-Desirednetprofitpercent=$12.50-$2.5=$10

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Harris Systems specializes in servers for workgroup, e-commerce, and ERP applications. The company’s original job costing system has two direct cost categories: direct materials and direct labor. Overhead is allocated to jobs at the single rate of \(22 per direct labor hour.

A task force headed by Harris’s CFO recently designed an ABC system with four activities. The ABC system retains the current system’s two direct cost categories. Overhead costs are reflected in the four activities. Pertinent data follow:

___________________________________________________________________

Activity Allocation Base Predetermined Overhead

Allocation Rate____

Materials handling Number of parts \) 0.85

Machine setup Number of setups 500.00

Assembling Number of assembling hours 80.00

Shipping Number of shipments 1,500.00_______

Harris Systems has been awarded two new contracts, which will be produced as Job A and Job B. Budget data relating to the contracts follow:

____________________________________________________________

Job A Job B__

Number of parts 15,000 2,000

Number of setups 6 4

Number of assembling hours 1,500 200

Number of shipments 1 1

Total direct labor hours 8,000 600

Number of units produced 100 10

Direct materials cost \( 220,000 \) 30,000

Direct labor cost \( 160,000 \) 12,000__

Requirements

2. Suppose Harris Systems adopts the ABC system. Compute the budgeted product cost per unit for each job using ABC.

Question:Stella, Inc. is using a costs-of-quality approach to evaluate design engineering efforts for a new skateboard. Stella’s senior managers expect the engineering work to reduce appraisal, internal failure, and external failure activities. The predicted reductions in activities over the two-year life of the skateboards follow. Also shown are the predetermined overhead allocation rates for each activity.

Activity Predicted Predetermined

Reduction in Overhead Allocation

Activity Units Rate per Unit

Inspection of incoming raw materials 390 $ 44

Inspection of finished goods 390 19

Number of defective units discovered in-house 1,200 50

Number of defective units discovered by customers 325 72

Lost profits due to dissatisfied customers 75 102

Requirements

3. What major difficulty would Stella’s managers have in implementing this costs-of-quality approach? What alternative approach could they use to measure quality improvement?

The following information is provided for Orbit Antenna Corp., which manufactures two products: Lo-Gain antennas and Hi-Gain antennas for use in remote areas.

Activity Cost Allocation Base

Setup \( 58,000 Number of setups

Machine maintenance 30,000 Number of machine hours

Total indirect manufacturing costs \) 88,000

Lo-Gain Hi-Gain Total

Direct labor hours 1,200 3,800 5,000

Number of setups 40 40 80

Number of machine hours 3,000 2,000 5,000

Orbit Antenna plans to produce 125 Lo-Gain antennas and 225 Hi-Gain antennas.

Requirements

2. Compute the ABC indirect manufacturing cost per unit for each product.

The Alright Manufacturing Company in Rochester, Minnesota, assembles and tests electronic components used in smartphones. Consider the following data regarding component T24 (amounts are per unit):

Direct materials cost \( 80.00

Direct labor cost 20.00

Activity-based costs allocated ?

Total manufacturing product cost ?

The activities required to build the component follow:

Activity Allocation Base Cost Allocated to Each Unit

Start station Number of raw component chassis 4 * \) 1.50 = \( 6.00

Dip insertion Number of dip insertions ? * 0.30 = 9.60

Manual insertion Number of manual insertions 10 * 0.50 = ?

Wave solder Number of components soldered 4 * 1.90 = 7.60

Backload Number of backload insertions 7 * ? = 4.20

Test Number of testing hours 0.43 * 90.00 = ?

Defect analysis Number of defect analysis hours 0.15 * ? = 12.00

Total activity-based costs \) ?

Requirements

2. Why might managers favor this ABC system instead of Alright’s older system, which allocated all manufacturing overhead costs on the basis of direct labor hours?

How can ABM be used by service companies?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.