/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q6. Elizabeth Airlines (EA) flies on... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91影视

91影视

Elizabeth Airlines (EA) flies only one route: Chicago鈥揌onolulu. The demand for each flight is Q = 500 - P. EA鈥檚 cost of running each flight is \(30,000 plus \)100 per passenger.

  1. What is the profit-maximizing price that EA will charge? How many people will be on each flight? What is EA鈥檚 profit for each flight?
  2. EA learns that the fixed costs per flight are in fact \(41,000 instead of \)30,000. Will the airline stay in business for long? Illustrate your answer using a graph of the demand curve that EA faces, EA鈥檚 average cost curve when fixed costs are \(30,000, and EA鈥檚 average cost curve when fixed costs are \)41,000.
  3. Wait! EA finds out that two different types of people fly to Honolulu. Type A consists of business people with a demand of QA = 260 - 0.4P. Type B consists of students whose total demand is QB = 240 - 0.6P. Because the students are easy to spot, EA decides to charge them different prices. Graph each of these demand curves and their horizontal sum. What price does EA charge the students? What price does it charge other customers? How many of each type are on each flight?
  4. What would EA鈥檚 profit be for each flight? Would the airline stay in business? Calculate the consumer surplus of each consumer group. What is the total consumer surplus?
  5. Before EA started price discriminating, how much consumer surplus was the Type A demand getting from air travel to Honolulu? Type B? Why did total consumer surplus decline with price discrimination, even though total quantity sold remained unchanged?

Short Answer

Expert verified

a. EA will charge $300 per ticket.

There will be 200 people per flight.

The profit from each flight will be $10,000.

b. No, EA will not shut down. The below graph shows EA鈥檚 average cost curve when fixed costs are $30,000 and EA鈥檚 average cost curve when fixed costs are $41,000.

c. Each demand curve and the horizontal sum is shown below:

EA charges the students $250, other customer groups $375. There are 90 students and 110 other customers on each flight.

d. EA鈥檚 profit will be $2750 for each flight, and the airline will stay in business. The consumer surplus for the student group will be $6750, and for other customer, groups will be $15,125. The total consumer surplus will be $21,875.

e. Before price discrimination, the consumer surplus for Type A will be $24,500, and for Type B will be $3000. The difference in consumer surplus is that the business consumers have to pay more during the price discrimination, and their demand is inelastic.

Step by step solution

01

Explanation for part (a)

The profit-maximizing price and quantity are calculated below:

P = 500 - QMR = 500 - 2QMC = $ 100MR = MC500 - 2Q = 1002Q = 400Q = 200P = 500 - 200= $ 300

The price will be $300 per ticket and 200 people on each flight.

The total profit is calculated below:

=300200-30,000-100200=60,000-30,000-20,000=$10,000

The total profit will be $10,000.

02

Explanation for part (b)

As the fixed cost increases, it will not alter the output level and the price, as the fixed cost does not enter into the marginal cost. With the increase in fixed cost, only the profit reduces. EA cannot shut down immediately as the fixed cost will be more. The shutdown will happen only when the earnings cannot pay the fixed cost.

The graph below shows the change in average cost:

AC1 represents when the average cost when FC is $30,000, and AC2 represents when the average cost when FC is $41,000. Here, the average cost is $250 when the FC is $30,000, and the average cost is $305 when the FC is $41,000; $300 represents the price per ticket.

03

Explanation for part (c)

The price and quantity of Type A customers are calculated below:

QA= 260 - 0.4PAPA= 650 - 2.5QAMRA= 650 - 5QAMC = 100650 - 5QA= 1005QA= 550QA= 110PA= 650 - 2.5110= 650 - 275= $ 375

There will be 110 business passengers at a ticket price of $375.

The price and quantity of Type B customers are calculated below:

QB= 240 - 0.6PBPB= 400 - 1.667QBMRB= 400 - 3.33QBMC = 100400 - 3.33QB= 1003.33QB= 300QB= 90PB= 400 - 1.66790= 400 - 150= $ 250

There will be 90 student passengers at a ticket price of $250.

The demand curve is shown below:

The price charged to passenger A is higher than that changed for passenger B. Passenger A will have a steep demand curve due to inelastic demand, and passenger B will have a flat demand curve; hence, the demand curve is flat from $400 onwards but steep till $400.

04

Explanation for part (d)

The profit is calculated below:

=25090375110-41,000-10090+110=22,500+41,250-41,000-20,000=$2750

Yes, the airline will stay in business as the profit is positive.

The consumer surplus for both types of the consumer is calculated below:

CSA=0.5110650-375=0.5110275=$15,125CSB=0.590400-250=0.590150=$6,750

The total consumer surplus will be $21,875 (=15,125 + 6750).

05

Explanation for part (e)

When the price is $300, then the consumer surplus for Type A customers will be,

QA=260-0.4300=260-120=140CS=0.5140650-300=0.5140-350=$24,500

When the price is $300, then the consumer surplus for Type B customers will be,

QB=240-0.6300=240-180=60CS=0.560400-300=0.560-100=$3,000

The total consumer surplus will be $27500, which is greater than the consumer surplus with the price discrimination. The difference in consumer surplus is that the business consumer has to pay more during the price discrimination, and their demand is inelastic.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91影视!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Some years ago, an article appeared in the New York Times about IBM鈥檚 pricing policy. The previous day,IBM had announced major price cuts on most of itssmall and medium-sized computers. The article said:

IBM probably has no choice but to cut prices periodicallyto get its customers to purchase moreand lease less. If they succeed, this could makelife more difficult for IBM鈥檚 major competitors.Outright purchases of computers are needed for ever larger IBM revenues and profits, says Morgan Stanley鈥檚 Ulric Weil in his new book, InformationSystems in the 80鈥檚. Mr. Weil declares that IBM cannot revert to an emphasis on leasing.

a. Provide a brief but clear argument in support of the claim that IBM should try 鈥渢o get its customers to purchase more and lease less.鈥

b. Provide a brief but clear argument against this claim.

c. What factors determine whether leasing or selling is preferable for a company like IBM? Explain briefly.

If the demand for drive-in movies is more elastic for couples than for single individuals, it will be optimal for theaters to charge one admission fee for the driver of the car and an extra fee for passengers. True or false? Explain.

Your firm produces two products, the demands for which are independent. Both products are produced at zero marginal cost. You face four consumers (or groups of consumers) with the following reservation prices:

CONSUMER GOOD 1(\() GOOD 2(\))

A 25 100

B 40 80

C 80 40

D 100 25

a. Consider three alternative pricing strategies: (i) selling the goods separately; (ii) pure bundling; (iii) mixed bundling. For each strategy, determine the optimal prices to be charged and the resulting profits. Which strategy would be best?

b. Now suppose that the production of each good entails a marginal cost of $30. How does this information change your answers to (a)? Why is the optimal strategy now different?

Suppose that two competing firms, A and B, produce a homogeneous good. Both firms have a marginal cost of MC = \(50. Describe what would happen to output and price in each of the following situations if the firms are at (i) Cournot equilibrium, (ii) collusive equilibrium, and (iii) Bertrand equilibrium.

(a) Because Firm A must increase wages, its MC increases to \)80.

(b) The marginal cost of both firms increases.

(c) The demand curve shifts to the right.

Sal鈥檚 satellite company broadcasts TV to subscribers in Los Angeles and New York. The demand functions for each of these two groups are

QNY = 60 - 0.25PNY

QLA = 100 - 0.50PLA

where Q is in thousands of subscriptions per year and P is the subscription price per year. The cost of providing Q units of service is given by

C = 1000 + 40Q

where Q = QNY + QLA.

  1. What are the profit-maximizing prices and quantities for the New York and Los Angeles markets?
  2. As a consequence of a new satellite that the Pentagon recently deployed, people in Los Angeles receive Sal鈥檚 New York broadcasts and people in New York receive Sal鈥檚 Los Angeles broadcasts. As a result, anyone in New York or Los Angeles can receive Sal鈥檚 broadcasts by subscribing in either city. Thus Sal can charge only a single price. What price should he charge, and what quantities will he sell in New York and Los Angeles?
  3. In which of the above situations, (a) or (b), is Sal better off? In terms of consumer surplus, which situation do people in New York prefer and which do people in Los Angeles prefer? Why?
See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Economics Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.