/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q22E Analyzing profitability Sampler ... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Analyzing profitability Sampler Company sells two products, Sigma and Zeta, with a sales mix of 70% and 30%, respectively. Sigma has a contribution margin per unit of \(26, and Zeta has a contribution margin per unit of \)21. The company sold 700 total units in September. Calculate the total amount each product contributed to the coverage of fixed costs and the total contribution margin for the company.

Short Answer

Expert verified
  • The contribution margin by Sigma is $12,740 and Zeta is $4,410.
  • Total contribution margin for the company is $17,150.

Step by step solution

01

Calculation of number of units of each product sold:

Particulars

Sigma

Zeta

Total number of units

700

700

Sales mix

70%

30%

Number of units

490

210

02

Calculation of the total amount each product contributed to the coverage of fixed costs

Particulars

Sigma

Zeta

Number of units

490

210

Contribution margin per unit

$26

$21

Contribution Margin

$12,740

$4,410

03

Calculation of total contribution margin for the company

Total contribution =Contribution margin by Sigma + Contribution margin by Zeta

=$12,740+$4,410

=$17,150

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Question: Preparing variable and absorption costing income statements

Game Store manufactures video games that it sells for \(38 each. The company uses a fixed manufacturing overhead allocation rate of \)3 per game. Assume all costs and production levels are exactly as planned. The following data are from Game Store’s first two months in business during 2018:

October November

Sales 1,500 units 2,900 units

Production 2,800 units 2,800 units

Variable manufacturing cost per game \( 16 \) 16

Sales commission cost per game 8 8

Total fixed manufacturing overhead 8,400 8,400

Total fixed selling and administrative costs 8,000 8,000 Requirements

1. Compute the product cost per game produced under absorption costing and under variable costing.

2. Prepare monthly income statements for October and November, including columns for each month and a total column, using these costing methods:

a. absorption costing.

b. variable costing.

3. Is operating income higher under absorption costing or variable costing in October? In November? Explain the pattern of differences in operating income based on absorption costing versus variable costing.

4. Determine the balance in Finished Goods Inventory on October 31 and November 30 under absorption costing and variable costing. Compare the differences in inventory balances and the differences in operating income. Explain the differences in inventory balances based on absorption costing versus variable costing.

Using variable costing, service company Sherman Company provides carpet cleaning services to commercial and residential customers. Using the data below, determine the contribution margin ratio for each business segment, rounded to two decimal places:

Question: Preparing variable costing income statements, production less than sales

Refer to your answers to Exercise E21-16. In May 2018, ReVitalAde produced 22,000 cases of powdered drink mix and sold 23,000 cases, of which 1,000 were produced in April. The sales price was \(29, variable costs were \)12 per case (\(9 manufacturing and \)3 selling and administrative), and total fixed costs were \(100,000 (\)91,000 manufacturing and $9,000 selling and administrative).

Requirements

  1. Prepare the May income statement using variable costing.
  2. Determine the balance in the Finished Goods Inventory as of May 31.

Hayden Company has 50 units in Finished Goods Inventory at the beginning of the accounting period. During the accounting period, Hayden produced 150 units and sold 200 units for \(150 each. All units incurred \)80 in variable manufacturing costs and \(20 in fixed manufacturing costs. Hayden also incurred \)7,500 in Selling and Administrative Costs, all fixed. Calculate the operating income for the year using absorption costing and variable costing.

Using variable costing, service company

Professional Pool Cleaning Service provides pool cleaning services to residential customers. The company has three employees, each assigned to specific customers. The company considers each employee’s territory as a business segment. The company incurs variable costs that include the employees’ wages, pool chemicals, and gas for the service vans. Fixed costs include depreciation on the service vans. Following is the income statement for the month of July:

Requirements

  1. Calculate the contribution margin ratio for each business segment.
  2. The business segments had the following numbers of customers: Birman, 60; Meech, 70; and Frond, 40. Compute the service revenue per customer, variable cost per customer, and contribution margin per customer for each business segment.
  3. Which business segment was most profitable? List some possible reasons why this segment was most profitable. How might the various reasons affect the company in the long term?
See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.