/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q21E Setting sales prices The Sweet T... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91影视

91影视

Setting sales prices The Sweet Treats Company manufactures candy that is sold to food distributors. The company produces at full capacity for six months each year to meet peak demand during the 鈥渃andy season鈥 from Halloween through Valentine鈥檚 Day. During the other six months of the year, the manufacturing facility operates at 75% of capacity. The Sweet Treats Company provides the following data for the year:

Cases of candy produced and sold 1,800,000 cases Sales price $ 37.00 per case Variable manufacturing costs 20.00 per case Fixed manufacturing costs 6,400,000 per year Variable selling and administrative costs 2.00 per case Fixed selling and administrative costs 3,500,000 per year The Sweet Treats Company receives an offer to produce 13,000 cases of candy for a special event. This is a one-time opportunity during a period when the company has excess capacity. What is the minimum sales price The Sweet Treats Company should accept for the order? Explain why

Short Answer

Expert verified

The minimum sales price per case should be $22.

Step by step solution

01

 Step 1: Minimum sales price when the company has excess capacity and has a one-time opportunity to accept the order

When the company has excess capacity and has a one-time opportunity to accept customer orders, the company should accept the order at variable cost

02

Calculation of minimum sales price

Minimum sales price = Variable manufacturing cost per case + Variable selling and administrative cost

=$20 + $2

=$22

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91影视!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Why is it appropriate to use variable costing when planning production in the short term?

Calculating contribution margin and operating income, variable costing

Calculate the contribution margin and operating income for June using variable costing.

Use the following information for Short Exercises S21-4 and S21-5.

Dracut Company reports the following information for June:

Net Sales Revenue $ 755,000 Variable Cost of Goods Sold 240,000 Fixed Cost of Goods Sold 198,000 Variable Selling and Administrative Costs 168,000 Fixed Selling and Administrative Costs 79,000

Hayden Company has 50 units in Finished Goods Inventory at the beginning of the accounting period. During the accounting period, Hayden produced 150 units and sold 200 units for \(150 each. All units incurred \)80 in variable manufacturing costs and \(20 in fixed manufacturing costs. Hayden also incurred \)7,500 in Selling and Administrative Costs, all fixed. Calculate the operating income for the year using absorption costing and variable costing.

: Analyzing profitability Refer to Exercise E21-22. Assume the sales mix shifted to 50% for each product. Calculate the total amount each product contributed to the coverage of fixed costs and the total contribution margin for the company.

Question: Analyzing profitability Sampler Company sells two products, Sigma and Zeta, with a sales mix of 70% and 30%, respectively. Sigma has a contribution margin per unit of \(26, and Zeta has a contribution margin per unit of \)21. The company sold 700 total units in September. Calculate the total amount each product contributed to the coverage of fixed costs and the total contribution margin for the company.

Analyzing profitability

Camden Company has divided its business into segments based on sales territories: East Coast, Midland, and West Coast. Following are financial data for 2018:

East Coast

Midland

West Coast

Units sold

71

69

53

Sales price per unit

\(10,300

\)13,600

\(12,000

Variable cost per unit

6,283

7,072

7,080

Prepare an income statement for Camden Company for 2018 using the contribution margin format assuming total fixed costs for the company were \)435,000. Include columns for each business segment and a column for the total company.

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.