/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q-21-11RQ Why is it appropriate to use va... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Why is it appropriate to use variable costing when planning production in the short term?

Short Answer

Expert verified

Answer

Because fixed cost is irrelevant in short run.

Step by step solution

01

Variable costing

Variable costing is based on variable costs and does consider fixed costs in decision-making.

02

Use of variable cost in production planning

It is appropriate to use variable costing when planning production in the short term because the fixed cost is an irrelevant cost as it has been already incurred and not get affected by future decisions.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Computing unit product cost, absorption costing Calculate the unit product cost using absorption costing. Round your answer to the nearest cent.

Use the following information for Short Exercises S21-2 and S21-3.

Martin Company had the following costs:

Units produced 320 units Direct materials $ 71 per unit Direct labor 40 per unit Variable manufacturing overhead 13 per unit Fixed manufacturing overhead 7,360 per year Variable selling and administrative costs 22 per unit

Fixed selling and administrative costs 1,920 per year

Question: Computing variable costing operating income Refer to the information for Concord, Inc.

Requirements:

  1. Using variable costing, calculate the unit product cost.
  2. Prepare an income statement using the contribution margin format.

Use the following information for Exercises E21-14 and E21-15.

Concord, Inc. has collected the following data for November (there are no beginning inventories):

Units produced and sold 500 units Sales price $ 450 per unit Direct materials 64 per unit Direct labor 68 per unit Variable manufacturing overhead 26 per unit Fixed manufacturing overhead 7,500 per month Variable selling and administrative costs 15 per unit Fixed selling and administrative costs 4,400 per month

Using variable costing, service company Refer to Exercise E21-25. The commercial business segment provided services to 200 customers. The residential business segment provided services to 400 customers. Determine the average amount Sherman Company charged each type of customer for services, the average variable cost per customer, and the average contribution margin per customer, rounded to two decimal places. What caused the difference in contribution margin in the two segments?

Analyzing profitability

Camden Company has divided its business into segments based on sales territories: East Coast, Midland, and West Coast. Following are financial data for 2018:

East Coast

Midland

West Coast

Units sold

71

69

53

Sales price per unit

\(10,300

\)13,600

\(12,000

Variable cost per unit

6,283

7,072

7,080

Prepare an income statement for Camden Company for 2018 using the contribution margin format assuming total fixed costs for the company were \)435,000. Include columns for each business segment and a column for the total company.

Using variable costing, service company Henry’s Helpers provides locksmith services. One type of service call is to evaluate private residences for security concerns and make recommendations for a safety plan. Use the data below to determine the company’s total contribution margin, contribution margin per service call, and contribution margin ratio when 220 service calls are made in the month of June.

Service Revenue $ 170 per service call

Variable Costs 68 per service call

Fixed Costs 21,040 per month

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.