/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q-21-16 How can variable costing be use... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

How can variable costing be used in service companies?

Short Answer

Expert verified

Answer

Variable costing can be used for profitability analysis and contribution margin analysis.

Step by step solution

01

Definition of Service Company

Service companies are those companies that do not produce any product but render services to their customers.

02

How can variable costing be used in service companies

Service companies have both variable and fixed cost. Variable costing can be used for making short-term decisions in the service companies by analyzing profitability and contribution margin analysis.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Question: The Hurley Hat Company manufactures baseball hats. Hurley’s primary customers are sporting goods stores that supply uniforms to youth baseball teams. Following is Hurley’s income statement for 2018:

In 2018, Hurley produced and sold 200,000 baseball hats. Of the Cost of Goods Sold, \(150,000 is fixed; 80% of the Selling and Administrative Expenses are fixed. There were no beginning inventories on January 1, 2018. The company is considering two options to increase sales.

Option 1: The company is operating at 100,000 hats below full production capacity and is considering increasing advertising to increase sales to the production capacity level in 2019. The marketing director predicts that an additional \)100,000 expenditure for advertising would increase sales to 300,000 hats per year.

Option 2: The sales manager has been negotiating with buyers for several national sporting goods retailers and recommends the company expand production capacity to 400,000 hats in order to secure long-term contracts beginning in 2019. The expansion is expected to increase fixed manufacturing costs by \(200,000 per year. Additionally, the retailers are requesting a higher-quality hat, and the changes to the hat materials and manufacturing process would increase variable manufacturing costs by \)1 per hat for the additional 200,000 hats. (The original 200,000 hats manufactured and sold would not be affected by this change.)

Requirements

1. Use the data from the 2018 income statement to prepare an income statement using variable costing. Assume no beginning or ending inventories. Calculate the contribution margin ratio. Round to two decimal places.

2. Prepare an absorption costing income statement assuming the company pursues Option 1 and increases advertising and production and sales increase to 300,000 hats.

3. Refer to the original data. Prepare an absorption costing income statement assuming the company pursues Option 2 and increases capacity and sales and production increases to 400,000 total hats.

4. Which option should the company pursue? Explain your reasoning.

Pierce Company had the following costs:

Units produced

500 units Manufacturing costs:

Direct materials

$ 25 per unit Direct labor

45 per unit Variable manufacturing overhead

15 per unit Fixed manufacturing overhead

5,000 per year Selling and administrative costs:

Variable selling and administrative costs

30 per unit Fixed selling and administrative costs

3,200 per year

Calculate the unit product cost using absorption costing and variable costing

Analyzing profitabilityFather Furniture Company manufactures and sells oak tables and chairs. Price and cost data for the furniture follow:

Tables Chairs Sales Price \( 800 \) 70 Variable manufacturing costs 60025Sales commission (10%) 807Relative Furniture has three sales representatives: Adam, Ben, and Caleb. Adam sold 100 tables with 6 chairs each. Ben sold 110 tables with 4 chairs each. Caleb sold 80 tables with 8 chairs each.

Requirements

1. Calculate the total contribution margin and the contribution margin ratio for each sales representative (round to two decimal places).

2. Which sales representative has the highest contribution margin ratio? Explain why.

Computing unit product cost, variable costing Calculate the unit product cost using variable costing. Round your answer to the nearest cent.

Use the following information for Short Exercises S21-2 and S21-3.

Martin Company had the following costs:

Units produced 320 units Direct materials $ 71 per unit Direct labor 40 per unit Variable manufacturing overhead 13 per unit Fixed manufacturing overhead 7,360 per year Variable selling and administrative costs 22 per unit Fixed selling and administrative costs 1,920 per year

When units produced are less than units sold, how does operating income differ between variable costing and absorption costing? Why

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.