/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 21PGA Sea Blue manufactures flotation ... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91影视

91影视

Sea Blue manufactures flotation vests in Charleston, South Carolina. Sea Blue鈥檚 contribution margin income statement for the month ended December 31, 2018, contains the following data:

SEA BLUE

Income Statement

For the Month Ended December 31, 2018

Sales in units 32,000

Net Sales Revenue \(608,000

Variable Costs:

Manufacturing 96,000

Selling and Administrative 108,000

Total Variable Costs 204,000

Contribution Margin 404,000

Fixed Costs:

Manufacturing 124,000

Selling and Administrative 94,000

Total Fixed Costs 218,000

Operating Income \)186,000

Suppose Overboard wishes to buy 4,600 vests from Sea Blue. Sea Blue will not incur any variable selling and administrative expenses on the special order. The Sea Blue plant has enough unused capacity to manufacture the additional vests. Overboard has offered \(15 per vest, which is below the normal sales price of \)19.

Requirements

1. Identify each cost in the income statement as either relevant or irrelevant to Sea Blue鈥檚 decision.

2. Prepare a differential analysis to determine whether Sea Blue should accept this special sales order.

3. Identify long-term factors Sea Blue should consider in deciding whether to accept the special sales order.

Short Answer

Expert verified

The company should accept the special sales order because it will increase therevenues.

Step by step solution

01

Meaning of Income Statement

An income statement refers to a report prepared by business entities to ascertain the net profits generated or net losses incurred during an accounting period from theoperating and non-operating events of the business concerns.

02

Identification of costs

Costs are generally bifurcated into two categories鈥攏amely, relevant costs and irrelevant costs in the decision-making process. According to the given information, the bifurcation of costs is as follows:

Particulars

Amount ($)

Category

Variable costs:

Manufacturing

96,000

Relevant

Selling and administrative

108,000

Irrelevant

Fixed costs:

Manufacturing

124,000

Irrelevant

Selling and administrative

94,000

Irrelevant

03

Preparation of differential analysis

Particulars

Amount ($)

Expected increase in revenue (4600*15)

69,000

Less: Expected increase in variable cost (3*4600) (Working Notes)

(13,800)

Net increase in revenue

$55,200

Working Notes:

Computation of variable manufacturing cost per unit:

Variablemanupacturingcostperunit=TotalvariablemanufacturingcostNumberofunits=$96,000$32,000=$3perunit

Comment:

According to differential analysis, the company鈥檚 revenues will be increased by $55,200. Hence,the special order should be accepted.

04

Final decision

The long-term factors that should be considered by the company while making decisions on the acceptance of the special orders are as follows:

  • The company must consider whether the price of a special order will start aprice war in the market amongcompetitors.
  • Another important consideration is the chances of demanding lower prices fromregular customers.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91影视!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

What does the target full product cost include?

Members of the board of directors of Security Team have received the following operating income data for the year ended March 31, 2018:

SECURITY CHECK

Income Statement

For the Year Ended May 31, 2018

Product Line

Industrial Systems

Household Systems

Total

Net Sales Revenue

\( 300,000

\) 330,000

\( 630,000

Cost of Goods Sold:

Variable

35,000

42,000

77,000

Fixed

210,000

63,000

273,000

Total Cost of Goods Sold

245,000

105,000

350,000

Gross Pro铿乼

55,000

225,000

280,000

Selling and Administrative Expenses:

Variable

66,000

77,000

143,000

Fixed

39,000

28,000

67,000

Total Selling and Administrative Expenses

105,000

105,000

210,000

Operating Income (Loss)

\) (50,000)

\( 120,000

\) 70,000

Members of the board are surprised that the industrial systems product line is losing money. They commission a study to determine whether the company should drop the line. Company accountants estimate that dropping industrial systems will decrease fixed cost of goods sold by \(81,000 and decrease fixed selling and administrative expenses by \)15,000.

Requirements

1. Prepare a differential analysis to show whether Security Team should drop the industrial systems product line.

2. Prepare contribution margin income statements to show Security Team鈥檚 total operating income under the two alternatives: (a) with the industrial systems line and (b) without the line. Compare the difference between the two alternatives鈥 income numbers to your answer to Requirement 1.

3. What have you learned from this comparison in Requirement 2?

What are the two keys in short-term decision making?

Dan Jacobs, production manager for GreenLife, invested in computer-controlled production machinery last year. He purchased the machinery from Superior Design at a cost of \(3,000,000. A representative from Superior Design has recently contacted Dan because the company has designed an even more efficient piece of machinery. The new design would double the production output of the year-old machinery but would cost GreenLife another \)4,500,000. Jacobs is afraid to bring this new equipment to the company president鈥檚 attention because he convinced the president to invest $3,000,000 in the machinery last year.

Explain what is relevant and irrelevant to Jacobs鈥檚 dilemma. What should he do?

Tread Light produces two types of exercise treadmills: regular and deluxe. The exercise craze is such that Tread Light could use all its available machine hours to produce either model. The two models are processed through the same production departments. Data for both models are as follows:

Per Unit

Deluxe Regular

Sales price \(1,030 \)610

Costs:

Direct materials 320 130

Direct labor 88 180

Variable manufacturing overhead 270 90

Fixed manufacturing overhead* 102 34

Variable operating expenses 121 63

Total costs 901 497

Operating income \(129 \)113

*allocated on the basis of machine hours

Requirements

1. What is the constraint?

2. Which model should Tread Light produce? (Hint: Use the allocation of fixed manufacturing overhead to determine the proportion of machine hours used by each product.)

3. If Tread Light should produce both models, compute the mix that will maximize operating income.

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.