/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 22PGA Snappy Plants operates a commerc... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91影视

91影视

Snappy Plants operates a commercial plant nursery where it propagates plants for garden centers throughout the region. Snappy Plants has \(5,100,000 in assets. Its yearly fixed costs are \)650,000, and the variable costs for the potting soil, container, label, seedling, and labor for each gallon-size plant total \(1.90. Snappy Plants鈥檚 volume is currently 500,000 units. Competitors offer the same plants, at the same quality, to garden centers for \)4.25 each. Garden centers then mark them up to sell to the public for \(9 to \)12, depending on the type of plant.

Requirements

1. Snappy Plants鈥檚 owners want to earn a 11% return on investment on the company鈥檚 assets. What is Snappy Plants鈥檚 target full product cost?

2. Given Snappy Plants鈥檚 current costs, will its owners be able to achieve their target profit?

3. Assume Snappy Plants has identified ways to cut its variable costs to \(1.75 per unit. What is its new target fixed cost? Will this decrease in variable costs allow the company to achieve its target profit?

4. Snappy Plants started an aggressive advertising campaign strategy to differentiate its plants from those grown by other nurseries. Snappy Plants does not expect volume to be affected, but it hopes to gain more control over pricing. If Snappy Plants has to spend \)105,000 this year to advertise and its variable costs continue to be $1.75 per unit, what will its cost-plus price be? Do you think Snappy Plants will be able to sell its plants to garden centers at the cost-plus price? Why or why not?

Short Answer

Expert verified

The target full product cost for the company is$1,564,000.

Step by step solution

01

Meaning of Desired Profit

In a managerial accounting branch, business entities use the term 鈥渄esired profit鈥 to demonstrate the target profits they require to achieve by the end of aspecified period.

02

Computation of target full cost  

Particulars

Amount ($)

Revenue at current market price (4.25*500000)

2,125,000

Less: Desired profit (11%*5,100,000)

(561,000)

Target full cost

1,564,000

03

Analysis of the achievement of target profit

Particulars

Amount ($)

Fixed costs

650,000

Add: Variable costs (500000*1.9)

950,000

Total cost

1,600,000

Comment:

Based on the analysis above, owners will not be able to achieve theirtarget profit because the current cost of the company is more than its target cost.

04

Computation of cost cutting and achievement of profit 

Particulars

Amount ($)

Fixed costs

650,000

Variable costs (500000*1.75)

875,000

Total cost

1,525,000

Comment:

As the new cost of 1,525,000 is lower than the target cost of 1,564,000,it will allow the company to achieve its target profit.

05

Computation of cost-plus price

Particulars

Amount ($)

Fixed costs

650,000

Advertising costs

105,000

Variable costs (500000*1.75)

875,000

Total costs

1,630,000

Add: Desired profit (5100000*11%)

561,000

Sales value

2,191,000

Divide: Number of units

500,000

Cost-plus price

4.382

Comment:

Based on the analysis above, the company may sell its plants at higher prices than usual market rates, because by adding advertising costs, the company has control over the pricing.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91影视!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Thomas Company makes a product that regularly sells for \(12.50 per unit. The product has variable manufacturing costs of \)8.50 per unit and fixed manufacturing costs of \(2.00 per unit (based on \)200,000 total fixed costs at current production of 100,000 units). Therefore, the total production cost is \(10.50 per unit. Thomas Company receives an offer from Wesley Company to purchase 5,000 units for \)9.00 each. Selling and administrative costs and future sales will not be affected by the sale, and Thomas does not expect any additional fixed costs.

1. If Thomas Company has excess capacity, should it accept the offer from Wesley? Show your calculations.

2. Does your answer change if Thomas Company is operating at capacity? Why or why not?

Sea Blue manufactures flotation vests in Charleston, South Carolina. Sea Blue鈥檚 contribution margin income statement for the month ended December 31, 2018, contains the following data:

SEA BLUE

Income Statement

For the Month Ended December 31, 2018

Sales in units 32,000

Net Sales Revenue \(608,000

Variable Costs:

Manufacturing 96,000

Selling and Administrative 108,000

Total Variable Costs 204,000

Contribution Margin 404,000

Fixed Costs:

Manufacturing 124,000

Selling and Administrative 94,000

Total Fixed Costs 218,000

Operating Income \)186,000

Suppose Overboard wishes to buy 4,600 vests from Sea Blue. Sea Blue will not incur any variable selling and administrative expenses on the special order. The Sea Blue plant has enough unused capacity to manufacture the additional vests. Overboard has offered \(15 per vest, which is below the normal sales price of \)19.

Requirements

1. Identify each cost in the income statement as either relevant or irrelevant to Sea Blue鈥檚 decision.

2. Prepare a differential analysis to determine whether Sea Blue should accept this special sales order.

3. Identify long-term factors Sea Blue should consider in deciding whether to accept the special sales order.

What questions should managers answer when facing constraints?

What is differential analysis?

What are sunk costs? Give an example.

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.