/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q37PGB_2 Right Now Electronic Center bega... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Right Now Electronic Center began October with 100 units of merchandise inventory that cost \(70 each. During October, the store made the following purchases:

Oct. 3 35 units @ \) 82 each

12 45 units @ \( 84 each

18 75 units @ \) 90 each

Right Now uses the periodic inventory system, and the physical count at October 31indicates that 130 units of merchandise inventory are on hand.

Requirements

2. Net sales revenue for October totaled $26,000. Compute Right Now’s gross profitfor October using each method.

Short Answer

Expert verified

Gross profit under –

FIFO:$16,950

LIFO:$15,060

Weighted Average:$16,000

Step by step solution

01

Gross margin under FIFO

Grossmargin=TotalRevenue-COGS=$26,000-$9,050=$16,950

02

Gross margin under LIFO

Grossmargin=TotalRevenue-COGS=$26,000-$10,940=$15,060

03

Gross margin under the weighted average

Grossmargin=TotalRevenue-COGS=$26,000-$10,000=$16,000

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Question:Antique Carpets’s books show the following data. In early 2020, auditors found that the ending merchandise inventory for 2017 was understated by \(8,000 and that theending merchandise inventory for 2019 was overstated by \)9,000. The ending merchandiseinventory at December 31, 2018, was correct.

2019

2018

2017

Net Sales Revenue

\( 212,000

\) 161,000

\( 170,000

Cost of Goods Sold:

Beginning Merchandise Inventory

\)22,000

\(28,000

\)41,000

Net cost of purchase

131,000

100,000

86,000

Cost of goods available for sale

153,000

128,000

127,000

Less: Ending Merchandise Inventory

34,000

22,000

28,000

Cost of goods sold

119,000

106,000

99,000

Gross Profit

93,000

55,000

71,000

Operating Expenses

63,000

28,000

39,000

Net Income

\( 30,000

\) 27,000

$ 32,000

Requirements

1. Prepare corrected income statements for the three years.
2. State whether each year’s net income—before your corrections—is understated oroverstated, and indicate the amount of the understatement or overstatement.

3. Compute the inventory turnover and days’ sales in inventory using the correctedincome statements for the three years. (Round all numbers to two decimals.)

Question:Assume that Toys Galore store bought and sold a line of dolls during December as follows:

Dec. 1 Beginning merchandise inventory 13 units @ \( 9 each

8 Sale 8 units @ \) 22 each

14 Purchase 16 units @ \( 14 each

21 Sale 14 units @ \) 22 each

Requirements

1. Compute the cost of goods sold, cost of ending merchandise inventory, and grossprofit using the FIFO inventory costing method.

Question:Assume that Toys Galore store bought and sold a line of dolls during December as follows:

Dec. 1 Beginning merchandise inventory 13 units @ \( 9 each

8 Sale 8 units @ \) 22 each

14 Purchase 16 units @ \( 14 each

21 Sale 14 units @ \) 22 each

Requirements

3. Which method results in a higher cost of goods sold?

Fit Gym began January with merchandise inventory of 78 crates of vitamins that cost a total of \(4,290. During the month, Fit Gym purchased and sold merchandise on account as follows:

Jan. 5 Purchase 156 crates @ \) 64 each

13 Sale 180 crates @ \( 100 each

18 Purchase 114 crates @ \) 75 each

26 Sale 150 crates @ $ 116 each

Requirements

2. Prepare a perpetual inventory record, using the LIFO inventory costing method, and determine the company’s cost of goods sold, ending merchandise inventory, and gross profit.

When does an inventory error cancel out, and why?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.