/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q1. Joe quits his computer programmi... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91影视

91影视

Joe quits his computer programming job, where he was earning a salary of \(50,000 per year, to start his own computer software business in a building that he owns and was previously renting out for \)24,000 per year. In his first year of business he has the following expenses: salary paid to himself, \(40,000; rent, \)0; other expenses, $25,000. Find the accounting cost and the economic cost associated with Joe鈥檚 computer software business.

Short Answer

Expert verified

The accounting cost in the first year of Joe鈥檚 computer software business is $65,000.

The economic cost in the first year of Joe鈥檚 software business is $99,000.

Step by step solution

01

Calculating accounting cost in the first year of Joe’s business

Step 2: Calculating economic cost in first year of Joe鈥檚 business The nominal amount deducted from the revenue is the accounting cost.

Since Joe provides himself a salary of $40,000 per year and other expenses on production for $25000 per year, the accounting cost is:

Accounting Cost = Salary + Other Expenses

Accounting Cost = $40,000 + $25,000

Accounting cost = $65,000

Thus, the accounting cost for Joe鈥檚 software business is $65,000 per year.

02

Calculating economic cost in the first year of Joe’s business

Economic cost includes all the explicit and implicit costs. The costs included in the economic cost other than the accounting cost are fixed and variable costs, marginal cost, average cost, short-run cost, long-run cost, and opportunity cost.

Economic Cost = Salary + Other Expenses + Opportunity Cost (Rent + Forgone Salary)

Economic Cost = $40,000 + $25,000 + $24,000 + $10,000

Economic Cost = $99,000

Thus, the economic cost involved with Joe鈥檚 business is $99,000.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91影视!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

The short-run cost function of a company is given by the equation TC = 200 + 55q, where TC is the total cost and q is the total quantity of output, both measured in thousands.

  1. What is the company's fixed cost?

  2. If the company produced 100,000 units of goods, what would be its average variable cost?

  3. What would be its marginal cost of production?

  4. What would be its average fixed cost?

  5. Suppose the company borrows money and expands its factory. Its fixed cost rises by \(50,000, but its variable cost falls to \)45,000 per 1000 units. The cost of interest (i) also enters into the equation. Each 1-point increase in the interest rate raises costs by $3000. Write the new cost equation.

A recent issue of Business Week reported the following: During the recent auto sales slump, GM, Ford, and Chrysler decided it was cheaper to sell cars to rental companies at a loss than to lay off workers. That鈥檚 because closing and reopening plants is expensive, partly because the auto makers鈥 current union contracts obligate them to pay many workers even if they鈥檙e not working. When the article discusses selling cars 鈥渁t a loss,鈥 is it referring to accounting profit or economic profit? How will the two differ in this case? Explain briefly.

You manage a plant that mass-produces engines by teams of workers using assembly machines. The technology is summarized by the production function q = 5KL where q is the number of engines per week, K is the number of assembly machines, and L is the number of labor teams. Each assembly machine rents for r = \(10,000 per week, and each team costs w = \)5000 per week. Engine costs are given by the cost of labor teams and machines, plus $2000 per engine for raw materials. Your plant has a fixed installation of 5 assembly machines as part of its design.

  1. What is the cost function for your plant鈥攏amely, how much would it cost to produce q engines? What are average and marginal costs for producing q engines? How do average costs vary with output?

  2. How many teams are required to produce 250 engines? What is the average cost per engine?

  3. You are asked to make recommendations for the design of a new production facility. What capital/ labor (K/L) ratio should the new plant accommodate if it wants to minimize the total cost of producing at any level of output q?

What are some examples of the factors of production?

Suppose that a paving company produces paved parking spaces (q) using a fixed quantity of land (T) and variable quantities of cement (C) and labor (L). The firm is currently paving 1000 parking spaces. The firm鈥檚 cost of cement is \(4,000 per acre covered, and its cost of labor is \)12/hour. For the quantities of C and L that the firm has chosen, MPC = 50 and MPL = 4.

  1. Is this firm minimizing its cost of producing parking spaces? How do you know?

  2. If the firm is not cost-minimizing, how must it alter its choices of C and L in order to decrease cost?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Economics Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.