/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 15E Tim Legler requires an estimate ... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Tim Legler requires an estimate of the cost of goods lost by fire on March 9. Merchandise on hand on January 1 was \(38,000. Purchases since January 1 were \)72,000; freight-in, \(3,400; purchase returns and allowances, \)2,400. Sales are made at 331 /3% above cost and totaled \(100,000 to March 9. Goods costing \)10,900 were left undamaged by the fire; remaining goods were destroyed. Instructions (a) Compute the cost of goods destroyed. (b) Compute the cost of goods destroyed, assuming that the gross profit is 331 /3% of sales.

Short Answer

Expert verified

(a) Cost of goods destroyed equals $25,100.

(b) Cost of goods destroyed equals $33,433.33.

Step by step solution

01

Calculation of gross profit on sales

Gross profit on sales is calculated as follows:

Grossprofitpercentageonsales=Percentagemarkuponcosts100%+Percentagemarkuponcosts=3313%100%+3313%=25%

02

Calculation of cost of goods sold

Cost of goods sold is calculated as follows:

Costofgoodssold=Salesrevenue×1-Grossprofit=$100,000×1-25%=$75,000

03

Calculation of goods destroyed

(a) Calculation of cost of goods destroyed is calculated as follows:

Costofgoodsdestroyed=Beginninginventory+Purchases-Purchasereturn+Freightin-Costofgoodssold-Undamagedgoods=$38,000+$72,000-$2,400+$3,400-$75,000-$10,900=$25,100

04

Calculation of cost of goods sold

Cost of goods sold is calculated as follows:

Costofgoodssold=Salesrevenue×1-Grossprofitpercentage=$100,000×1-3313%=$66,666.67

05

Calculation of goods destroyed

(a) Calculation of cost of goods destroyed is calculated as follows:

Costofgoodsdestroyed=Beginninginventory+Purchases-Purchasereturn+Freightin-Costofgoodssold-Undamagedgoods=$38,000+$72,000-$2,400+$3,400-$66,666.67-$10,900=$33,433.33

Thus, cost of goods destroyed in case (a) equals $25,100, and in case (b) equals $33,433.33.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

What conditions must exist for the retail inventory method to provide valid results?

Question:Why are inventories valued at the lower-of-cost-or-net realizable value (LCNRV)? What are the arguments against the use of the LCNRV method of valuing inventories?

All of the following are key differences between GAAP and IFRS with respect to accounting for inventories except the: (a) definition of the lower-of-cost-or-market test for inventory valuation differs between GAAP and IFRS. (b) average-cost method is prohibited under IFRS. (c) inventory basis determination for write-downs differs between GAAP and IFRS. (d) guidelines are more principles-based under IFRS than they are under GAAP.

During 2017, Pretenders Furniture Company purchases a carload of wicker chairs. The manufacturer sells the chairs to Pretenders for a lump sum of \(59,850 because it is discontinuing manufacturing operations and wishes to dispose of its entire stock. Three types of chairs are included in the carload. The three types and the estimated selling price for each are listed below. Type No. of Chairs Estimated Selling Price Each Lounge chairs 400 \)90 Armchairs 300 80 Straight chairs 700 50 During 2017, Pretenders sells 200 lounge chairs, 100 armchairs, and 120 straight chairs. Instructions What is the amount of gross profit realized during 2017? What is the amount of inventory of unsold straight chairs on December 31, 2017?

Presented below is information related to Rembrandt Inc.’s inventory, assuming Rembrandt uses lower-of-LIFO cost-or-market. (per unit) Skis Boots Parkas Historical cost \(190.00 \)106.00 $53.00 Selling price 212.00 145.00 73.75 Cost to distribute 19.00 8.00 2.50 Current replacement cost 203.00 105.00 51.00 Normal profit margin 32.00 29.00 21.25 Determine the following: (a) the two limits to market value (i.e., the ceiling and the floor) that should be used in the lower-of cost-or-market computation for skis, (b) the cost amount that should be used in the lower-of-cost-or-market comparison of boots, and (c) the market amount that should be used to value parkas on the basis of the lower-of-cost-or-market.

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.