/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q25-5SE StoreAll produces plastic storag... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

StoreAll produces plastic storage bins for household storage needs. The company makes two sizes of bins: large (50 gallon) and regular (35 gallon). Demand for the products is so high that StoreAll can sell as many of each size as it can produce. The company uses the same machinery to produce both sizes. The machinery can be run for only 3,300 hours per period. StoreAll can produce 10 large bins every hour, whereas it can produce 17 regular bins in the same amount of time. Fixed costs amount to \(115,000 per period. Sales prices and variable costs are as follows:

Regular Large

Sales price per unit \)8.00 $10.40

Variable cost per unit 3.50 4.40

Requirements

1. Which product should StoreAll emphasize? Why?

2. To maximize profits, how many of each size bin should StoreAll produce?

3. Given this product mix, what will the company’s operating income be?

Short Answer

Expert verified

Answer

The company should emphasize the regular bins because of their highcontribution margin than large bins.

Step by step solution

01

Step-by-Step SolutionStep 1: Meaning of Production

The process of converting or transforming theraw materials into finished goods is termed production. This process includes direct material, labor, machinery, and otheroverheads.

02

Determination of product should be emphasized

Particulars

Regular

Large

Selling price per unit

$8

$10.40

Less: Variable cost per unit

$3.50

$4.40

Contribution margin per unit

$4.50

$6

Unit per machine hours

17

10

Contribution per machine hour

76.50

60

Comment: The company should emphasize regular bins because the per hour contribution of regular bins is more than the per hour contribution of large bins.

03

Bins production for profit maximization

  • Contribution if regular bins are produced:

Contribution(Regular bins)=Total machine hours×Contribution per machine hour=3,300×76.50=$252,450

  • Contribution if large bins are produced:

Contribution(Large bins)=Total machine hours×Contribution per machine hour=3,300×60=$198,000

As the demand for the bins is high in the market, the company can produce any number of bins, but theproduction of regular bins is preferable due to its high contribution margin.

04

Computation of operating income

Based on production mix, i.e. 100%, the operating income would be:

Particulars

Amounts ($)

Contribution (3300*76.50)

252,450

Less: Fixed cost

(115,000)

Operating Income

$137,450

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

What is the most common constraint faced by merchandisers?

Dan Jacobs, production manager for GreenLife, invested in computer-controlled production machinery last year. He purchased the machinery from Superior Design at a cost of \(3,000,000. A representative from Superior Design has recently contacted Dan because the company has designed an even more efficient piece of machinery. The new design would double the production output of the year-old machinery but would cost GreenLife another \)4,500,000. Jacobs is afraid to bring this new equipment to the company president’s attention because he convinced the president to invest $3,000,000 in the machinery last year.

Explain what is relevant and irrelevant to Jacobs’s dilemma. What should he do?

When should special pricing orders be accepted?

NaturalMaid processes organic milk into plain yogurt. NaturalMaid sells plain yogurt to hospitals, nursing homes, and restaurants in bulk, one-gallon containers. Each batch, processed at a cost of \(840, yields 300 gallons of plain yogurt. NaturalMaid sells the one-gallon tubs for \)5 each and spends \(0.14 for each plastic tub. NaturalMaid has recently begun to reconsider its strategy. NaturalMaid wonders if it would be more profitable to sell individual-size portions of fruited organic yogurt at local food stores. NaturalMaid could further process each batch of plain yogurt into 6,400 individual portions (3/4 cup each) of fruited yogurt. A recent market analysis indicates that demand for the product exists. NaturalMaid would sell each individual portion for \)0.58. Packaging would cost \(0.10 per portion, and fruit would cost \)0.11 per portion. Fixed costs would not change.

Should NaturalMaid continue to sell only the gallon-size plain yogurt (sell as is) or convert the plain yogurt into individual-size portions of fruited yogurt (process further)? Why?

What questions should managers answer when facing constraints?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.