/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q14E Refer to Exercise E25-13. Assume... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Refer to Exercise E25-13. Assume that Video Avenue can avoid $39,000 of direct fixed costs by dropping the DVD product line. Prepare a differential analysis to show whether Video Avenue should stop selling DVDs.

Short Answer

Expert verified

Yes, the company should drop the DVDproduct line

Step by step solution

01

Meaning of Product Line

In marketing terms, a product line refers to agroup of related products that are sold by the same company under an identicalbrand name.Companies sell various products and distinguish them from each other forprofit maximization.

02

Preparation of differential analysis

Particulars

After dropping DVD product line

Before dropping DVD product line

Difference

Net sales revenue

308,000

437,000

(129,000)

Less: Variable cost

(154,000)

(250,000)

(96,000)

Contribution margin

154,000

187,000

(33,000)

Less: Fixed cost

Manufacturing (132000-39000)

(93,000)

(132,000)

(39,000)

Selling and administrative

(65,000)

(65,000)

0

Total fixed cost

158,000

197,000

(39,000)

Operating income/(loss)

$(4,000)

$(10,000)

$6,000

The company should drop DVD Discs because it willreduce the operating loss by $6,000.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Nautical manufactures flotation vests in Tampa, Florida. Nautical’s contribution margin income statement for the month ended December 31, 2018, contains the following data:

NAUTICAL

Income Statement

For the Month Ended December 31, 2018

Sales in Units 29,000

Net Sales Revenue \(551,000

Variable Costs:

Manufacturing 116,000

Selling and Administrative 111,000

Total Variable Costs 227,000

Contribution Margin 324,000

Fixed Costs:

Manufacturing 123,000

Selling and Administrative 92,000

Total Fixed Expenses 215,000

Operating Income \)109,000

Suppose Water Works wishes to buy 4,800 vests from Nautical. Nautical will not incur any variable selling and administrative expenses on the special order. The Nautical plant has enough unused capacity to manufacture the additional vests. Water Works has offered \(15 per vest, which is below the normal sales price of \)19.

Requirements

1. Identify each cost in the income statement as either relevant or irrelevant to Nautical’s decision.

2. Prepare a differential analysis to determine whether Nautical should accept this special sales order.

3. Identify long-term factors Nautical should consider in deciding whether to accept the special sales order.

What is the most common constraint faced by merchandisers?

You are trying to decide whether to trade in your inkjet printer for a more recent model. Your usage pattern will remain unchanged, but the old and new printers use different ink cartridges.

Indicate if the following items are relevant or irrelevant to your decision:

a. The price of the new printer

b. The price paid for the old printer

c. The trade-in value of the old printer

d. Paper cost

e. The difference between ink cartridges’ costs

Thomas Company makes a product that regularly sells for \(12.50 per unit. The product has variable manufacturing costs of \)8.50 per unit and fixed manufacturing costs of \(2.00 per unit (based on \)200,000 total fixed costs at current production of 100,000 units). Therefore, the total production cost is \(10.50 per unit. Thomas Company receives an offer from Wesley Company to purchase 5,000 units for \)9.00 each. Selling and administrative costs and future sales will not be affected by the sale, and Thomas does not expect any additional fixed costs.

1. If Thomas Company has excess capacity, should it accept the offer from Wesley? Show your calculations.

2. Does your answer change if Thomas Company is operating at capacity? Why or why not?

Skiable Acres operates a Rocky Mountain ski resort. The company is planning its lift ticket pricing for the coming ski season. Investors would like to earn a 10% return on investment on the company’s \(270,000,000 of assets. The company primarily incurs fixed costs to groom the runs and operate the lifts. Skiable Acres projects fixed costs to be \)31,000,000 for the ski season. The resort serves about 725,000 skiers and snowboarders each season. Variable costs are about \(8 per guest. Currently, the resort has such a favorable reputation among skiers and snowboarders that it has some control over the lift ticket prices.

Requirements

1. Would Skiable Acres emphasize target pricing or cost-plus pricing? Why?

2. If other resorts in the area charge \)85 per day, what price should Skiable Acres charge?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.