/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 27PGB Nautical manufactures flotation ... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91影视

91影视

Nautical manufactures flotation vests in Tampa, Florida. Nautical鈥檚 contribution margin income statement for the month ended December 31, 2018, contains the following data:

NAUTICAL

Income Statement

For the Month Ended December 31, 2018

Sales in Units 29,000

Net Sales Revenue \(551,000

Variable Costs:

Manufacturing 116,000

Selling and Administrative 111,000

Total Variable Costs 227,000

Contribution Margin 324,000

Fixed Costs:

Manufacturing 123,000

Selling and Administrative 92,000

Total Fixed Expenses 215,000

Operating Income \)109,000

Suppose Water Works wishes to buy 4,800 vests from Nautical. Nautical will not incur any variable selling and administrative expenses on the special order. The Nautical plant has enough unused capacity to manufacture the additional vests. Water Works has offered \(15 per vest, which is below the normal sales price of \)19.

Requirements

1. Identify each cost in the income statement as either relevant or irrelevant to Nautical鈥檚 decision.

2. Prepare a differential analysis to determine whether Nautical should accept this special sales order.

3. Identify long-term factors Nautical should consider in deciding whether to accept the special sales order.

Short Answer

Expert verified

The variablemanufacturing cost per unit is$4.

Step by step solution

01

Meaning of Special Order

The term special order in business activities defines the situation where a company receives a non-regular order from a customer todeliver a unique product or provide a different kind of service. It helps the business toearn more profit from this position or special order.

02

Identification of costs

According to the above-given data, the variable manufacturing cost is relevant in the decision-making process. In addition, the variableselling and administrative expenses would be irrelevant indecision making.

Also, the fixed cost would remain the same irrespective of whether the company chooses to produce additional 4800 units or not; hence it isirrelevant in decision making.

03

Preparation of differential analysis

Particulars

Details

Amounts ($)

Expected increase in revenue

4800*15

72,000

Less: Expected increase in variable manufacturing cost (Working Notes)

4800*4

(19,200)

Expected increase in operating income

$52,800

Working Notes:

Computation of variable manufacturing cost per unit:

Variablemanupacturingcostperunit=TotalvariablemanupacturingcostNumberofunits=$116,00029,000=$4

04

Additional factors to be considered

The following factors should be considered by the company when deciding on long-term decisions associated with the special orders:

  • The company should ensure the on-time deliveries, quality, and efficiency factors linked withspecial orders.
  • In addition, the company should determine theadditional costs required for such special orders and the impact of the same on the profits.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91影视!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

What is target pricing? Who uses it?

McCollum Company manufactures two products. Both products have the same sales price, and the volume of sales is equivalent. However, due to the difference in production processes, Product A has higher variable costs and Product B has higher fixed costs. Management is considering dropping Product B because that product line has an operating loss.

MCCOLLUM COMPANY

Income Statement

Month Ended June 30, 2018

Total Product A Product B

Net Sales Revenue \(150,000 \)75,000 \(75,000

Variable Costs 90,000 55,000 35,000

Contribution Margin 60,000 20,000 40,000

Fixed Costs 50,000 5,000 45,000

Operating Income/(Loss) \)10,000 \(15,000 \)(5,000)

  1. If fixed costs cannot be avoided, should McCollum drop Product B? Why or why not?
  2. If 50% of Product B鈥檚 fixed costs are avoidable, should McCollum drop Product B? Why or why not?

Elm Petroleum has spent \(204,000 to refine 61,000 gallons of petroleum distillate, which can be sold for \)6.30 per gallon. Alternatively, Elm can process the distillate further and produce 58,000 gallons of cleaner fluid. The additional processing will cost \(1.80 per gallon of distillate. The cleaner fluid can be sold for \)9.10 per gallon. To sell the cleaner fluid, Elm must pay a sales commission of \(0.10 per gallon and a transportation charge of \)0.16 per gallon.

Requirements

1. Diagram Elm鈥檚 decision alternatives, using Exhibit 25-18 as a guide.

2. Identify the sunk cost. Is the sunk cost relevant to Elm鈥檚 decision?

3. Should Elm sell the petroleum distillate or process it into cleaner fluid? Show the expected net revenue difference between the two alternatives.

Members of the board of directors of Security Team have received the following operating income data for the year ended March 31, 2018:

SECURITY CHECK

Income Statement

For the Year Ended May 31, 2018

Product Line

Industrial Systems

Household Systems

Total

Net Sales Revenue

\( 300,000

\) 330,000

\( 630,000

Cost of Goods Sold:

Variable

35,000

42,000

77,000

Fixed

210,000

63,000

273,000

Total Cost of Goods Sold

245,000

105,000

350,000

Gross Pro铿乼

55,000

225,000

280,000

Selling and Administrative Expenses:

Variable

66,000

77,000

143,000

Fixed

39,000

28,000

67,000

Total Selling and Administrative Expenses

105,000

105,000

210,000

Operating Income (Loss)

\) (50,000)

\( 120,000

\) 70,000

Members of the board are surprised that the industrial systems product line is losing money. They commission a study to determine whether the company should drop the line. Company accountants estimate that dropping industrial systems will decrease fixed cost of goods sold by \(81,000 and decrease fixed selling and administrative expenses by \)15,000.

Requirements

1. Prepare a differential analysis to show whether Security Team should drop the industrial systems product line.

2. Prepare contribution margin income statements to show Security Team鈥檚 total operating income under the two alternatives: (a) with the industrial systems line and (b) without the line. Compare the difference between the two alternatives鈥 income numbers to your answer to Requirement 1.

3. What have you learned from this comparison in Requirement 2?

What questions should managers answer when setting regular prices?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.