/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 4TI Grimm Company makes decorative w... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Grimm Company makes decorative wedding cakes. The company is considering buying the cakes rather than baking them, which will allow it to concentrate on decorating. The company averages 100 wedding cakes per year and incurs the following costs from baking wedding cakes:

Direct materials \(500

Direct labor 1,000

Variable manufacturing overhead 200

Fixed manufacturing overhead 1,200

Total manufacturing cost \)2,900

Number of cakes ÷ 100

Cost per cake \(29

Fixed costs are primarily the depreciation on kitchen equipment such as ovens and mixers. Grimm expects to retain the equipment. Grimm can buy the cakes for \)25.

  1. Should Grimm make the cakes or buy them? Why?
  2. If Grimm decides to buy the cakes, what are some qualitative factors that Grimm should also consider?

Short Answer

Expert verified

The company shouldcontinue making cakesrather than purchasing them from the outside.

Step by step solution

01

Meaning of Cost

The term cost refers to the amount of money spent by a business entity to acquire goods or services. In the accounting records, variable, semi-variable, and fixed costs are reported separately to understand them better and present the data.

02

Decision on buying or making the cakes

Costs

Making

Outsourcing

Difference (Making-Outsourcing)

Variable costs:

Direct materials

$500

$500

Direct labor

$,1000

$,1000

Variable manufacturing overhead

$200

$200

Purchase cost ($25*100)

$2,500

$(2,500)

Total differential cost of cakes

$1,700

$2,500

$(800)

Comment:The Grimm Company should continue to make the cakes because outsourcing will decrease the company’s profit by $800.

03

Other considerable factors

  1. Outsourcingof the cakes may lead to the loss of customers if the cakes are not delivered on time.
  2. The vendormay not be able to provide the same quality as Grimm Company to the customers.
  3. The reliability of the vendor is the most important factor because he may take theclientsof the Grimm Company.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

What is the decision rule concerning products to emphasize when facing a constraint?

Each morning, Max Smith stocks the drink case at Max’s Beach Hut in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. The drink case has 120 linear feet of refrigerated drink space. Each linear foot can hold either six 12-ounce cans or three 20-ounce bottles.

Max’s Beach Hut sells three types of cold drinks:

1. Licious-Ade in 12-oz. cans for \(1.40 per can

2. Licious-Ade in 20-oz. bottles for \)1.90 per bottle

3. Pep-Cola in 20-oz. bottles for \(2.20 per bottle

Max’s Beach Hut pays its suppliers:

1. \)0.20 per 12-oz. can of Licious-Ade

2. \(0.35 per 20-oz. bottle of Licious-Ade

3. \)0.55 per 20-oz. bottle of Pep-Cola

Max’s Beach Hut’s monthly fixed costs include:

Hut rental \(355

Refrigerator rental 65

Max’s salary 1,700

Total fixed costs \)2,120

Max’s Beach Hut can sell all the drinks stocked in the display case each morning.

Requirements

1. What is Max’s Beach Hut’s constraining factor? What should Max stock to maximize profits?

2. Suppose Max’s Beach Hut refuses to devote more than 80 linear feet to any individual product. Under this condition, how many linear feet of each drink should Max’s stock? How many units of each product will be available for sale each day?

Nautical manufactures flotation vests in Tampa, Florida. Nautical’s contribution margin income statement for the month ended December 31, 2018, contains the following data:

NAUTICAL

Income Statement

For the Month Ended December 31, 2018

Sales in Units 29,000

Net Sales Revenue \(551,000

Variable Costs:

Manufacturing 116,000

Selling and Administrative 111,000

Total Variable Costs 227,000

Contribution Margin 324,000

Fixed Costs:

Manufacturing 123,000

Selling and Administrative 92,000

Total Fixed Expenses 215,000

Operating Income \)109,000

Suppose Water Works wishes to buy 4,800 vests from Nautical. Nautical will not incur any variable selling and administrative expenses on the special order. The Nautical plant has enough unused capacity to manufacture the additional vests. Water Works has offered \(15 per vest, which is below the normal sales price of \)19.

Requirements

1. Identify each cost in the income statement as either relevant or irrelevant to Nautical’s decision.

2. Prepare a differential analysis to determine whether Nautical should accept this special sales order.

3. Identify long-term factors Nautical should consider in deciding whether to accept the special sales order.

What are sunk costs? Give an example.

Explain the difference between price-takers and price-setters.

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.