/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q39PGA Crandall Company sells flags wit... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Crandall Company sells flags with team logos. Crandall has fixed costs of \(583,200 per year plus variable costs of \)4.80 per flag. Each flag sells for \(12.00.

Requirements

1. Use the equation approach to compute the number of flags Crandall must sell each year to break even.

2. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to compute the dollar sales Crandall needs to earn \)33,000 in operating income for 2018. (Round the contribution margin ratio to two decimal places.)

3. Prepare Crandall’s contribution margin income statement for the year ended December 31, 2018, for sales of 70,000 flags. (Round your final answers up to the next whole number.)

4. The company is considering an expansion that will increase fixed costs by 21% and variable costs by $0.60 per flag. Compute the new breakeven point in units and in dollars. Should Crandall undertake the expansion? Give your reasoning. (Round your final answers up to the next whole number.)

Short Answer

Expert verified
  1. Breakeven units equals 81,000 Units
  2. Dollar sales equals $1,027,000
  3. Operating loss equals $79,200.
  4. If estimated sales increases to 106,920units, then expansion can be undertaken.

Step by step solution

01

Computation of number of flags for breakeven 

Netsalesrevenue-Variablecosts-Fixedcosts=Targetprofit$12×Unitssold-$4.80×Unitssold-$583,200=$0$7.2×Unitssold=$583200Unitssold=81,000

02

Computation of dollar sales required to earn operating income of $33,000.

Contributionmarginratio=ContributionmarginSalesperunit=$12-$4.80$12=60%

Breakevensales=Fixedcost+TargetprofitContributionmarginratio=$583,200+$33,00060%=$1,027,000

03

Contribution margin income statement

Net sales revenue (70,000 x $12)

$840,000

Variable costs (70,000 x $4.80)

$336,000

Contribution margin(70,000 x $7.20)

$504,000

Fixed costs

$583,200

Operating income

($79,200)

04

Calculation of new breakeven in units and sales

Expansion decision is fully dependent on the expected sales. In case business is able to sell more than 106,920 units, then only expansion can be undertaken, so as to have positive operating income.

Contributionmarginratio=ContributionmarginSalesperunit=$12-$4.80+$0.60$12=55%

Breakevensalesin dollars=FixedcostContributionmarginratio=$583,200×1+21%55%=$1,283,040

Breakevensalesin units=FixedcostContributionmarginperunit=$583,200×1+21%$12-$4.80+$0.60=106,920Units


Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

What are the three ways contribution margin can be ex

Calculating breakeven sales and sales to earn a target profit;preparing a contribution margin income statement

Famous Productions performs London shows. The average show sells 1,000 ticketsat \(60 per ticket. There are 175 shows a year. No additional shows can be held as thetheater is also used by other production companies. The average show has a cast of60, each earning a net average of \)320 per show. The cast is paid after each show. Theother variable cost is a program-printing cost of \(8 per guest. Annual fixed costs total\)459,200.

Requirements

1. Compute revenue and variable costs for each show.

2. Use the equation approach to compute the number of shows Famous Productionsmust perform each year to break even.

3. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to compute the number of showsneeded each year to earn a profit of $4,264,000. Is this profit goal realistic? Giveyour reasoning.

4. Prepare Famous Productions’s contribution margin income statement for 175shows performed in 2018. Report only two categories of costs: variable andfixed.

A furniture manufacturer specializes in wood tables. The tables sell for \(100 per unit and incur \)40 per unit in variable costs. The company has \(6,000 in fixed costs per month. Calculate the breakeven point in units under each independent scenario.

14. Variable costs increase by \)10 per unit.

15. Fixed costs decrease by $600.

16. Sales price increases by 10%.

Calculating breakeven point in units, contribution margin ratio given

Ocean Company sells a product with a contribution margin ratio of 80%. Fixed costs are \(2,800 per month. What amount of sales (in dollars) must Ocean Company have to break even? If each unit sells for \)30, how many units must be sold to break even?

Preparing a contribution margin income statement

Gabelman Company sells a product for \(95 per unit. Variable costs are \)40 per unit, and fixed costs are $2,200 per month. The company expects to sell 570 units in September. Prepare an income statement for September using the contribution margin format

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.