/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q24RQ What is a company’s cost struc... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

What is a company’s cost structure? How can cost structure affect a company’s profits?

Short Answer

Expert verified

The proportion of fixed costs to variable costs is known as the company’s cost structure.

Step by step solution

01

Company’s cost structure

The proportion of fixed costs to variable costs is known as the company’s cost structure. It is important to design a cost structure because small changes in costs could have a substantial impact on profits.

02

How can cost structure affect a company’s profit? 

Companies having higher fixed costs are at greater risk, but at the same time they have the opportunity for greater profits.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

National Investor Group is opening an office in Portland, Oregon. Fixed monthly costs are office rent (\(8,100), depreciation on office furniture (\)1,700), utilities (\(2,000), special telephone lines (\)1,500), a connection with an online brokerage service (\(2,500), and the salary of a financial planner (\)5,200). Variable costs include payments to the financial planner (9% of revenue), advertising (11% of revenue), supplies and postage (4% of revenue), and usage fees for the telephone lines and computerized brokerage service (6% of revenue).

Requirements

  1. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to compute National’s breakeven revenue in dollars. If the average trade leads to \(1,000 in revenue for National, how many trades must be made to break even?
  2. Use the equation approach to compute the dollar revenues needed to earn a monthly target profit of \)12,600.
  3. Graph National’s CVP relationships. Assume that an average trade leads to \(1,000 in revenue for National. Show the breakeven point, the sales revenue line, the fixed cost line, the total cost line, the operating loss area, the operating income area, and the sales in units (trades) and dollars when monthly operating income of \)12,600 is earned.
  4. Suppose that the average revenue National earns increases to $1,500 per trade. Compute the new breakeven point in trades. How does this affect the breakeven point?

Question: Use the following information to complete Short Exercises S20-10 through S20-15.

Funday Park competes with Cool World by providing a variety of rides. Funday Park sells tickets at \(70 per person as a one-day entrance fee. Variable costs are \)42 per person, and fixed costs are $170,800 per month.

Compute Funday Park’s contribution margin ratio. Carry your computation to two decimal places. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to determine the sales revenue Funday Park needs to break even

How does a contribution margin income statement differ from a traditional income statement?

Question: Determining total mixed cost

John Street Barber Shop pays \(25 per month for water for the first 8,000 gallons and \)3.50 per thousand gallons above 8,000 gallons. Calculate the total water cost when the barber shop uses 7,000 gallons, 10,000 gallons, and 13,000 gallons.

Question: Use the following information to complete Short Exercises S20-10 through S20-15.

Funday Park competes with Cool World by providing a variety of rides. Funday Park sells tickets at \(70 per person as a one-day entrance fee. Variable costs are \)42 per person, and fixed costs are $170,800 per month.

S20-10 Computing contribution margin per unit, breakeven point in sales units

Compute the contribution margin per unit and the number of tickets Funday Park must sell to break even. Perform a numerical proof to show that your answer is correct.

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.