/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q20-21RQ What effect does an increase in... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

What effect does an increase in sales price have on contribution margin? An increase in fixed costs? An increase in variable costs?

Short Answer

Expert verified

Answer

There is an inverse relationship between variable cost and contribution margin.

Step by step solution

01

What effect does an increase in sales price have on contribution margin?

If sales price increase the contribution margin will also increase, that means there is a direct relationship between sales price and contribution margin.

02

What effect does an increase in fixed costs have on contribution margin?

Increase in fixed cost does not impact contribution margin in any manner because contribution is the difference of sales price and variable cost.

03

What effect does an increase in variable costs have on contribution margin?

There is an inverse relationship between variable cost and contribution margin. If variable costs increase contribution margin will decrease.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Owner Shan Mu is considering franchising her Noodles by Murestaurant concept. She believes people will pay \(10.00 for a large bowl ofnoodles. Variable costs are \)5.00 per bowl. Mu estimates monthly fixed costsfor a franchise at \(9,000.

Requirements

1. Use the contribution margin ratio approach to find a franchise’s breakevensales in dollars.

2. Mu believes most locations could generate \)61,500 in monthly sales. Isfranchising a good idea for Mu if franchisees want a minimum monthlyoperating income of $21,000? Explain your answer.

What is sensitivity analysis? How do managers use this tool

What is the breakeven point?

Calculating breakeven point in units, contribution margin ratio given

Ocean Company sells a product with a contribution margin ratio of 80%. Fixed costs are \(2,800 per month. What amount of sales (in dollars) must Ocean Company have to break even? If each unit sells for \)30, how many units must be sold to break even?

The Jacksonville Shirt Company makes two types of T-shirts: basic and custom. Basic shirts are plain shirts without any screen printing on them. Custom shirts are created using the basic shirts and then adding a custom screen printing design.

The company buys cloth in various colors and then makes the basic shirts in two departments, Cutting and Sewing. The company uses a process costing system (weighted-average method) to determine the production cost of the basic shirts. In the Cutting Department, direct materials (cloth) are added at the beginning of the process and conversion costs are added evenly through the process. In the Sewing Department, no direct materials are added. The only additional material, thread, is considered an indirect material because it cannot be easily traced to the finished product. Conversion costs are added evenly throughout the process in the Sewing Department. The finished basic shirts are sold to retail stores or are sent to the Custom Design Department for custom screen printing.

The Custom Design Department creates custom shirts by adding screen printing to the basic shirt. The department creates a design based on the customer’s request and then prints the design using up to four colors. Because these shirts have the custom printing added, which is unique for each order, the additional cost incurred is determined using job order costing, with each custom order considered a separate job.

For March 2018, the Jacksonville Shirt Company compiled the following data for the Cutting and Sewing Departments:

Department Item Amount Units

Cutting Beginning balance \( 0 0 shirts

Started in March 1,200 shirts

Direct materials added in March 1,920

Conversion costs 1,320

Completed and transferred to Sewing ??? 1,200 shirts

Ending balance 0 0 shirts

Sewing Beginning balance, transferred in, \)1,350;

conversion costs, \(650 \) 2,000 500 shirts

Transferred in from Cutting ??? ???

Conversion costs added in March 1,196

Completed and transferred to Finished Goods ??? 1,000 shirts

Ending balance, 60% complete ??? ???

For the same time period, the Jacksonville Shirt Company compiled the following data for the Custom Design Department:

Job Quantity Design Fee Printing Status

367 400 Yes 3 colors Complete

368 150 No 2 colors Complete

369 100 Yes 5 colors Complete

370 500 Yes 4 colors Complete

The Jacksonville Shirt Company has previously determined that creating and programming the design cost \(80 per design. This is a one-time charge. If a customer places another order with the same design, the customer is not charged a second time. Additionally, the cost to print is \)0.20 per color per shirt.

Requirements

1. Complete a production cost report for the Cutting Department and the Sewing Department. What is the cost of one basic shirt?

2. Determine the total cost and the average cost per shirt for jobs 367, 368, 369, and 370. If the company set the sales price at 200% of the total cost, determine the total sales price of each job.

3. In addition to the custom jobs, the Jacksonville Shirt Company sold 1,000 basic shirts (assume the beginning balance in Finished Goods Inventory is sufficient to make these sales, and the unit cost of the basic shirts in Finished Goods Inventory is the same as the unit cost incurred this month). If the company set the sales price at 125% of the cost, determine the sales price per unit, total sales revenue, total cost of goods sold, and total gross profit for the basic shirts.

4. Calculate the total revenue, total cost of goods sold, and total gross profit for all sales, basic and custom.

5. Assume the company sold only basic shirts (no custom designs) and incurred fixed costs of \(700 per month.

a. Calculate the contribution margin per unit, contribution margin ratio, required sales in units to break even, and required sales in dollars to break even.

b. Determine the margin of safety in units and dollars.

c. Graph Jacksonville Shirt Company’s CVP relationships. Show the breakeven point, the sales revenue line, the fixed cost line, the total cost line, the operating loss area, and the operating income area.

d. Suppose the Jacksonville Shirt Company wants to earn an operating income of \)1,000 per month. Compute the required sales in units and dollars to achieve this profit goal.

6. The Jacksonville Shirt Company is considering adding a new product line, a cloth shopping bag with custom screen printing that will be sold to grocery stores. If the current market price of cloth shopping bags is \(2.25 and the company desires a net profit of 60%, what is the target cost? The company estimates the full product cost of the cloth bags will be \)0.80. Should the company manufacture the cloth bags? Why or why not?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.