/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q21E_1 Refer to Exercise E19-20. For 20... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Refer to Exercise E19-20. For 2019, Eason’s managers have decided to use the same indirect manufacturing costs per wheel rim that they computed in 2018 using activity based costing. In addition to the unit indirect manufacturing costs, the following data are expected for the company’s standard and deluxe models for 2019:

Standard Deluxe

Sales price \( 800.00 \) 940.00

Direct materials 31.00 48.00

Direct labor 45.00 52.00

Because of limited machine hour capacity, Eason can produce either2,000 standard rims or2,000 deluxe rims.

Requirements

1. If Eason’s managers rely on the ABC unit cost data computed in Exercise E19-20, which model will they produce? Carry each cost to the nearest cent. (Ignore selling and administrative expenses for this calculation.)

Short Answer

Expert verified

The standard model would be preferred to produce as it gives 63% of gross profit.

Step by step solution

01

Step-by-Step-SolutionStep 1: Computation of profit percent for Standard Model

Per unit indirect cost (computed earlier): $224.4

TotalPerUnitCost=DirectMaterial+Directlabor+IndirectCost=$31+$45+$224.4=$300.4Or$300

Profitperunit=SalesPrice-Perunitcost=$800-$300=$500

ProfitPercent=ProfitPerUnitSellingPricePerUnit×100=$500$800×100=62.5%

02

Computation of profit percent for Deluxe Model

Per unit indirect cost (computed earlier): $719.4

TotalPerUnitCost=DirectMaterial+Directlabor+IndirectCost=$48+$52+$719.4=$819.4Or$819

Profitperunit=SalesPrice-Perunitcost=$940-$819=$121

role="math" localid="1653278496311" ProfitPercent=ProfitPerUnitSellingPricePerUnit×100=$121$940×100=12.87%

03

The preferred model to produce

As computed above, the standard model yields 63% gross profit but the deluxe model only produces 13% of gross profit. So the preferred model for production would be the standard model.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Willitte Pharmaceuticals manufactures an over-the-counter allergy medication. The company sells both large commercial containers of 1,000 capsules to health care facilities and travel packs of 20 capsules to shops in airports, train stations, and hotels. The following information has been developed to determine if an activity-based costing system would be beneficial:

Activity Estimated Estimated Quantity

Indirect Cost Allocation Base of Allocation Base

Materials handling \( 95,000 Number of kilos 19,000 kilos

Packaging 200,000 Number of machine hours 5,000 hours

Quality assurance 112,500 Number of samples 1,875 samples

Total indirect costs \) 407,500

Actual production information includes the following:

Commercial Containers Travel Packs

Units produced 2,400 containers 50,000 packs

Weight in kilos 9,600 5,000

Machine hours 1,680 500

Number of samples 240 750

Requirements

4. Compare the indirect activity-based costs per unit to the indirect costs per unit from the traditional system. How have the unit costs changed? Explain why the costs changed.

Goodwin, Inc. manufactures children’s sandals. Similar sandals manufactured by competitors sell for $12.50 per pair. Goodwin desires a 20% net profit margin. What is Goodwin’s target cost?

Question:Newton Company has analyzed its production process and identified two primary activities. These activities, their allocation bases, and their estimated costs are listed below.

Activity

Allocation Base

Estimated Activity

Estimated Costs

Purchasing

Number of purchase orders

200 purchase orders

\( 10,000

Materials Handling

Number of parts

15,000 parts

\) 7,500

The company manufactures two products: Regular and Super. The products use the following resources in March:

Regular Super

Number of purchase orders 5 purchase orders 7 purchase orders

Number of parts 600 parts 750 parts

5. Compute the predetermined overhead allocation rates using activity-based costing.

6. Determine the amount of overhead allocated to Regular products in March.

7. Determine the amount of overhead allocated to Super products in March.

The Oakman Company manufactures products in two departments: Mixing and Packaging. The company allocates manufacturing overhead using a single plantwide rate with direct labor hours as the allocation base. Estimated overhead costs for the year are $810,000, and estimated direct labor hours are 360,000. In October, the company incurred 20,000 direct labor hours.

Requirements

1. Compute the predetermined overhead allocation rate. Round to two decimal places.

Question:Treat Dog Collars uses activity-based costing. Treat’s system has the following features:

___________________________________________________________________

Activity Allocation BasePredetermined

Overhead Allocation Rate

Purchasing Number of purchase orders \( 60.00 per purchase order

Assembling Number of parts 0.36 per part

Packaging Number of finished collars 0.19 per collar

___________________________________________________________________

Each collar has three parts, direct materials cost is \)5.00 per collar, and direct laborcost is \(4.00 per collar. Suppose Animal Hut has asked for a bid on 30,000 dog collars.Treat will issue a total of 175 purchase orders if Animal Hut accepts Treat’s bid.

Requirements

1. Compute the total estimated cost Treat will incur to purchase the needed materialsand then assemble and package 30,000 dog collars. Also compute the cost percollar.

2. For bidding, Treat adds a 40% markup to total cost. What total price will the companybid for the entire Animal Hut order?

3. Suppose that instead of an ABC system, Treat has a traditional product costingsystem that allocates indirect costs at the rate of \)9.50 per direct labor hour. Thedog collar order will require 9,000 direct labor hours. What total price will Treat bidusing this system’s total cost?

4. Use your answers to Requirements 2 and 3 to explain how ABC can help Treatmake a better decision about the bid price it will offer Animal Hut.

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.