/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none}

91Ó°ÊÓ

Dr. Zhivàgo Diagnostics Corp.’s income statement for 20X1 is as follows

Sales\( 2790000
Cost of goods sold1790000
Gross profits\) 1000000
Selling and administrative expenses302000
Operating profits\( 698000
Interest Expense54800
Income before tax\) 643200
Taxes 30%192960
Income after tax$ 450240

b. Assume that in 20X2, sales increase by 10 percent and cost of goods sold increases by 20 percent. The firm is able to keep all other expenses the same. Assume a tax rate of 30 percent on income before taxes. What is income after taxes and the profit margin for 20X2?

Short Answer

Expert verified

The income after tax of the company is $394,940, and the profit margin is 12.87%.

Step by step solution

01

Income after tax for the year 20X2:

Sales ( $ 2790000x 110% )
$3,069,000
Cost of goods sold($ 1790000x 120%)
2148000
Gross profits
921000
Selling and administrative expenses
302000
Operating profits
619000
Interest Expense
54800
Income before tax
564200
Taxes 30%
169260
Income after tax
$ 394940
02

Return Profit margin for the year 20X2

Profit Margin = Net income after tax / sales

= $ 394940 / $ 3069000

= 12.87%

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Perez Corporation has the following financial data for the years 20X1 and 20X2:

20X1

20X2

Sales

\(8,000,000

\)10,000,000

Cost of goods sold

6,000,000

9,000,000

Inventory

800,000

1,000,000

a. Compute inventory turnover based on Ratio 6, Sales/Inventory, for each year.

Given the following information, prepare an income statement for the Dental Drilling Company.

Selling and administrative expenses

$112,000

Depreciation expenses

73,000

Sales

489,000

Interest expenses

45,000

Cost of goods sold

156,000

Taxes

47,000

Prepare an income statement for Franklin Kite Co. Take your calculations all the way to computing earnings per share.

Sales

$900,000

Shares outstanding

50,000

Cost of goods sold

400,000

Interest expenses

40,000

Selling and administration expenses

60,000

Depreciation expenses

20,000

Preferred stock dividend

80,000

Taxes

50,000

What are the three primary sections of the statement of cash flows? In what section would the payment of a cash dividend be shown?

Using the income statement for Times Mirror and Glass Co., compute the following ratios:

The total assets for this company equal \(80,000. Set up the equation for the Du Pont system of ratio analysis, and compute c, d, and e.

e. Return on assets (investment).

Times mirror and glass company

Sales

\)126,000

Less: Cost of goods sold

93,000

Gross profit

\(33,000

Less: selling and administrative expenses

11,000

Lease Expenses

4,000

Operating profit*

\)18,000

Less: Interest expenses

3,000

Earning before taxes

\(15,000

Less: Taxes (30%)

4,500

Earning after taxes

\)10,500

*equal income before interest and taxes

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.