/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q5. The following table shows the de... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

The following table shows the demand curve facing a

monopolist who produces at a constant marginal cost of $10:

Price

Quantity

18

0

16

4

14

8

12

12

10

16

8

20

6

24

4

28

2

32

0

36

a. Calculate the firm’s marginal revenue curve.

b. What are the firm’s profit-maximizing output and price? What is its profit?

c. What would the equilibrium price and quantity be in a competitive industry?

d. What would the social gain be if this monopolist were forced to produce and price at the competitive equilibrium? Who would gain and lose as a result?

Short Answer

Expert verified
  1. The marginal revenue curve of the firm is.

  2. The profit-maximizing output, price, and profit are 8 units, $4, and $32, respectively.

  3. The equilibrium price and quantity in a competitive industry will be $10 and 16 units, respectively.

  4. The social gain at the competitive equilibrium is $16. The producers would lose, and the consumers would gain at this equilibrium.

Step by step solution

01

Step 1. Deriving the marginal revenue curve of the firm

When the quantity demanded is 0, the price is $18, and when the price is 0, consumers demand 36 units of the commodity. If you plot the demand curve with quantity on the x-axis and price on the y-axis, the y-intercept will be $18.

When the price changes from $0 to $18, the quantity demanded changes from 36 to 0 units.

You can compute the slope of the inverse demand curve as follows:

m=y2-y1x2-x1=18-00-36=18-36=-0.5

The slope is -0.5.

Thus, the equation of the inverse demand curve is P = 18 - 0.5Q.

You can compute the total revenue as follows:

TR=P×R=18-0.5Q×QTR=18Q-0.5Q2

By differentiating the total revenue function with respect to Q, you can compute the marginal revenue as follows:

MR=dTRdQ=ddQ18Q-0.5Q2MR=18-Q

The marginal revenue function is MR = 18 – Q.

02

Step 2. Calculating the profit-maximizing price, output, and the profit

The marginal cost of the firm is constant at $10.You can derive the profit-maximizing output in the following manner:

MR=MC18-Q=10Q=18-10Q=8

The profit-maximizing output is 8 units.

You can determine the profit-maximizing price by substituting the value of Q in the inverse demand function as follows:

P=18-0.58=18-4=14

The profit-maximizing price is $14.

Using the price and quantity at the profit-maximizing level, you can compute the total revenue as follows:

TR=P×Q=$14×8=$112

Because the marginal cost is constant at $10, it equals the average variable cost. Thus, the total cost is :

TC=10Q=10×8=$80

Finding the excess of the total revenue over the total cost will give the profit as follows:

Ï€=TR-TC=$112-$80=$32

The profit is $32.

03

Step 3. Equilibrium price and quantity in a competitive market

If the market is a competitive one, you can find the equilibrium at the intersection of the demand curve and the marginal cost as follows:

18-0.5Q=100.5Q=18-10Q=80.5Q=16

The equilibrium quantity is 16 units.

The equilibrium price is calculated as follows:

P=18-0.516=18-8=$10

The equilibrium price is $10.

04

Step 4. Social gain if monopolist produces at the competitive equilibrium

The social cost of monopoly is the deadweight loss in the market. Thus, you can measure the social gain by the reduction in the deadweight loss.

The following diagram shows the changes in the consumer and producer surplus when the monopolist functions at the competitive equilibrium:

When the monopolist operates at the competitive equilibrium price of $10, the consumer surplus increases and the producer surplus decreases compared to the monopoly equilibrium.

You can measure the increase in consumer surplus by the area covered by A, B, and C as follows:

A+B+C=814-10+0.516-814-10=32+16=$48

You can measure the decrease in producer surplus by the area covered by A and B as follows:

A+B=814-10=8×4=$32

You can compute the social gain as $48 - $32 = $16.

The value of the social gain is $16. The producers lose producer surplus worth $32, and the consumers gain consumer surplus worth $48.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

A monopolist faces the following demand curve: Q = 144/P2 where Q is the quantity demanded and P is price. Its average variable cost is AVC = Q1/2 and its fixed cost is 5.

a. What are its profit-maximizing price and quantity? What is the resulting profit?

b. Suppose the government regulates the price to be no greater than $4 per unit. How much will the monopolist produce? What will its profit be?

c. Suppose the government wants to set a ceiling price that induces the monopolist to produce the largest possible output. What price will accomplish this goal?

A firm faces the following average revenue (demand)curve:

P = 120 - 0.02Q

where Q is weekly production and P is price, measured in cents per unit. The firm’s cost function is given by C = 60Q + 25,000. Assume that the firm maximizes profits.

a. What is the level of production, price, and total profit per week?

b. If the government decides to levy a tax of 14 cents per unit on this product, what will be the new level of production, price, and profit?

How does a change in the demand for a product affect the demand for labor?

A drug company has a monopoly on a new patented medicine. The product can be made in either of two plants. The costs of production for the two plants are MC1 = 20 + 2Q1 and MC2 = 10 + 5Q2. The firm's estimate of demand for the product is P = 20 - 3(Q1 + Q2). How much should the firm plan to produce in each plant? At what price should it plan to sell the product?

A certain town in the Midwest obtains all of its electricity from one company, Northstar Electric. Although the company is a monopoly, it is owned by the citizens of the town, all of whom split the profits equally at the end of each year. The CEO of the company claims that because all of the profits will be given back to the citizens,it makes economic sense to charge a monopoly price for electricity. True or false? Explain.

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Economics Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.