/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} Q. 5 A monopolist's maximized rate of... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

A monopolist's maximized rate of economic profits is \(5,000per week. Its weekly output is 500units, and at this output rate, the firm's marginal cost is \)15 per unit. The price at which it sells each unit is $40 per unit. At these profit and output rates, what are the firm's average total cost and marginal revenue?

Short Answer

Expert verified

The firm's average total cost is$30 and marginal revenue is$15

Step by step solution

01

Introduction

A dominance will be when one organization has a dominant position in an industry or sector with both the purpose of banning all those other potential competitors. Monopolies are often discouraged in free-market nations. Because users do have choice, they are considered as lead to market manipulation and declining product.

02

Given Information

The economic profit is maximized at $5,000per week. The output (Q) is 500 per week. The cost of the firm is $15 per unit. the value charged by seller is$40 per unit.

03

Explanation

The average total cost is that the cost of the assembly of the per unit good. The marginal revenue is that the addition in total revenue by selling yet another unit ofthe great.
The totalfixed charge (FC) of the firm is calculated below:
Profit=Total revenue−Total cost

$5,000=$40×500−$15×500−Fixed cost

Fixed cost=$7,500

The total price (ATC) is calculated below.

ATC=TCQ

=$15,000500

=$30

The total cost (ATC) is $30.


The marginal revenue which is addition in revenue by selling yet another unit is $15, that is, adequate to the price. As in monopolist the profit is maximized where, marginal revenue is adequate the incremental cost.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Currently, a monopolist's profit-maximizing output is 200units per week. It sells its output at a price of \(60per unit and collects \)30 per unit in revenues from the sale of the last unit produced each week. The firm's total costs each week are $9,000. Given this information, what are the firm's maximized weekly economic profits and its marginal cost?

Use the following graph to answer the questions that follow,

a. What is the monopolist's profit-maximizing output?

b. At the profit-maximizing output rate, what are average total cost and total revenue ?

c. At the profit-maximizing output rate, what are the monopolist's total cost and total revenue?

d. What is the maximum profit?

e. Suppose that the marginal coot and average total cost curves in the diagram also illustrate the horizontal summation of the firms in a perfectly competitive industry in the long run. What would the equilibrium price and output be if the market were perfectly competitive? Explain the economic cost to society of allowing a monopoly to exist.

A manager of a monopoly firm notices that the firm is producing output at a rate at which average total cost is falling but is not at its minimum feasible point. The manager argues that surely the firm must not be maximizing its economic profits. Is this argument correct?

The marginal revenue curve of a monopoly crosses its marginal cost curve at \(30per unit and an output of 2million units. The price that consumers are willing to pay for this output is \)40per unit. If it produces this output, the firm's average total cost is $43per unit. What is the profit-maximizing (loss-minimizing) output? What are the firm's economic profits (or economic losses)?

Is there any economic difference between a customer loyalty-card program offered by a legitimate drugstore and the program established by the Marseilles drug dealer?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Economics Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.